Take One Down And Pass It AroundsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

“Drink one beer and sometimes two, but never more than two.” - Mark M. Ford (from Living Rich: How To Live As Well As A Billionaire On A Middle-Class Budget)



Real Ale Beer Tap
Image Source


Ahhh beer!

The drink that has caused so much pleasure and so much pain.

Or according to some, it is the drink that saved the world.

However you feel about it, there is no denying the impact it has had on humankind.



Beer Festival
Image Source


I love to try different beers.

But the thing is, I don’t know what kind I like.

The varieties themselves have so much variance between them.

One IPA is not equal to another.

My test to know if a beer is good or not is that after cracking it open, have I finished drinking it quickly without even realizing it.

Or to put it another way, I didn’t make a weird face as I slowly sipped it until I couldn’t take another swig.



Beer Varieties
Image Source


In the age we live in, we now have more information to help make our beer drinking better!

More and more brewers are sharing the stats to help beer drinkers enjoy their experience more.

We all know ABV is the alcohol by volume, which is important to know how strong it is and how it may affect you.

Now many beers list IBU, which is:

“IBU is an abbreviation for the International Bitterness Units scale, a gauge of beer's bitterness. What IBUs measure are the parts per million of isohumulone found in a beer.

Isohumulone is the acid found in hops that gives beer its bitter bite. Though the IBU scale can be used as a general guideline for taste, with lower IBUs corresponding to less bitterness and vice versa, it's important to note that malt and other flavors can mask the taste of bitterness in beer.” Source

I am still figuring out what level IBU that I prefer.

Another beer stat I see more is OG.

OG “stands for "Original Gravity." This is the specific gravity of the unfermented wort. The primary contribution to specific gravity is sugar, some of which is fermented into alcohol, and some of which remains in the finished beer to give sweetness and body. A specific gravity of 1.040 corresponds to a 10% (by weight) sugar solution, and will produce, on average, about 4% alcohol (measured by volume).”

And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.



Head Spinning Meme
Image Source


Lately I have found one beer that I really like.

It is called Lost Gold and is an IPA made by Real Ale Brewing Company.



Lost Gold IPA
Image Source


Here is the description from their website:

Texas has more buried treasure than any other state. (Seriously, Google it.) That fact was the inspiration for Lost Gold. English Crystal malts give this IPA a rich golden-orange hue and a subtle, yet firm, malt background. Bright and citrusy with grapefruit notes, Lost Gold features an abundance of American hops that always mark the spot. Don’t worry, however, you won’t have to hunt for this treasured favorite. It’s available year round all over Texas.

ABV 6.60%

IBU 62.00

OG (PLATO) 15.50°

What is your favorite beer that I should try?


Stay interesting. Stay Strange.


Michael


Created by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray and donate because beer!


See the latest adventures and creations from my wife Sarah on steemit!

Also Check Out Some of My Previous Post:


Do you want to take out a loan to consolidate debt?

If you use my Credible Referral link, you can get a cash bonus if you take out a loan.


As a reader of this blog you assume all risk related to the use of any information on this site. I am providing this information "as is," and disclaim any and all warranties, whether expressed or implied, including (and without limitation to) any implied warranties of merchantability or fitness for any particular purpose. In no event will I, or anyone associated with this site be liable to you or to any third party for any direct, indirect, accidental, incidental, consequential, special or exemplary damages, or financial loss, injury or death resulting from any use or misuse of this data. You should NEVER use any information on this, or any other site to make decisions that can result in damage to property, financial loss, injury or loss of life.


Sort:  

Amazing post! Thanks for covering those terms concisely. I love me some beer.

Thanks, I am glad to see that my post was helpful.

Do you have a kind you enjoy?

Great post - Think about to do one for the #BeerSaturday Challenge and win some steem for a beer.....

Sounds great!

I will look into it, thanks!

Do you have a beer you recommend?

San Miguel beer they say is nice..the apple version makes it taste nicer, and not too strong.

Great, thanks!

I will have to look for it!

Hmmm you might need to get it in the Philippines, not the Spain's version. Apparently, it doesn't taste as good ;)

Thanks, do you have a kind you enjoy?

Agreed!

Do you have a kind you enjoy?

well.. I don't drink too much only occassionally

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42