♥ Wild-Grape Jelly! An experiment gone RIGHT! ♥

in #food6 years ago

I don't have a lot of foraging opportunities on my property. We don't have a ton of acreage, and our animals free-range frequently, so they pretty much forage the crap out of it.


My neighbors, however, do not have free-range anything, so when they told me that had wild-grapes growing willy-nilly, and that they were not going to use them, I jumped at the opportunity!


P1060989.jpg

I have never made jelly before. At all. Much less with wild-grapes. My kids and I picked an ice-cream bucket full of tiny grapes, and I came home and looked up jelly recipes.

They almost all called for store-bought fruit pectin! I did not want to put store bought pectin into my lovely wild-grapes!

Surely they would have enough natural pectin just within the fruits, and the skins especially, right?!

I did lots of reading, and finally decided to just experiment. What I came up with is the result of a lot of website browsing and researching. I can't really credit any one person, so I'll just say, thanks people of the internet! You have given me a jumping-off point in my jelly-journey!

First of all, of course, we removed all stems and leaves, and cleaned those grapes up! Lots of rinsing until the water came off clean. Then we dumped about 3/4 cup of unrefined sugar into them, mixed them up, and put them in the fridge overnight. This may or may not make any difference, but some random internet people were recommending doing this to release more juices.
 
P1070001.jpg
 
The next day, we put our saucepan of grapes on the stove and brought them to a simmer. I added about a quarter cup of water, just to make sure there was enough liquid, and squished and stirred occasionally, to prevent sticking and to help release juices.
 
P1070006.jpg
 
I cooked them for about 30 minutes, then dipped a cold spoon into the sauce to test the mixture's consistency and flavor. I found it thinner than I wanted, and too sour, so I added another half-cup of sugar and simmered for another 15min.
 
P1070011.jpg
 
I tried the cold spoon trick again and found the taste to be much better, and the mixture thicker. I knew it would thicken as it cooled, so I decided to move on to the next step: straining!
 
P1070012.jpg
 
I used my old-and-breaking-but-tried-and-true metal strainer. The key is to make sure the holes are smaller than grape seeds. In my case, they were. I put the strainer over my pyrex measuring cup and then slowly dumped the hot sauce into the strainer.
 

I used my rubber spatula to squish and smear the grape pulp around, to make sure all the goodness went into the cup.


 
P1070017.jpg
 

After lots of squishing, I ended up with a blob of skins and seeds. I try not to waste anything, so this was fed to the chickens!


 
P1070028.jpg
 

After all that, I had about a cup of jelly!


 
P1070020.jpg
 

Time to put it into a jar and pop it in the fridge to cool and thicken. Would it gel without additional pectin?


 
P1070031.jpg
 

Well, we let it sit in the fridge all day, and in the evening, we had to taste it!!


Sorry for the low-light pics, it was evening, lighting was poor, and everyone was EXCITED!
 
 
P1070039.jpg
 
P1070042.jpg
 

The great jelly experiment was declared a success! They LOVED it and proceeded to eat up half of what we had made...


And to anyone wondering if the natural pectin in the wild-grapes was enough to gel the mixture, well, here you go:
 
 
P1070043.jpg
 

The jelly gelled wonderfully! It was still more sour than the jelly we are used to, but we enjoyed it that way.


 

Sort of reminiscent of grape Jolly Ranchers... It also reminded me a little of homemade cranberry sauce. Next time I will probably add a little more sugar, but not too much.


 
Just as a side note, I would not recommend using this guideline to make jelly to store outside of the refrigerator. This is simply because I am not very familiar with the techniques required to make shelf-stable canned product, and I do not know whether or not this would last safely or not. At any rate, this will be gone very quickly and that is a moot point for us.


page-break-1024x256.png

Thanks for reading! I hope you all enjoyed our little experiment and perhaps found it helpful. ♥ Have a lovely week!!


page-break-1024x256.png


Badge comp.png


Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

What a great family activity! And what a blessing that your neighbor let you forage.

I have one question. Why did you use a cold spoon to taste test?

Thanks!! It WAS fun! ♥

The cold spoon is good because the jelly thickens as it cools, so to get an idea as to how thick your jelly will be when cold, you can dip in the cold spoon and see how the jelly sticks to the spoon. :)

That makes a lot of sense. Thanks for answering my question.

This looks so delicious @squishysquid, very well done on a successful experiment!

Hi squishysquid,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much!! I truely appreciate it! ♥

Back 6 - 7 years ago, we had a tremendous wild Concord grape crop in the neighborhood. I collected as many of them as I could and ended up making 28 quarts of grape jam for my husband's lunches. (He's a pb and grape jam addict...) It was a LOT of work, but he really enjoyed that jam! It lasted him almost a year...told you he was an addict... :))

Oh wow!! What a lot of jam!! :D

Lot of work but worth it when it turns out good.

It was a lot of work for how little jelly we ended up with, BUT it was made from wild grapes and Im sure much healthier and tastier than store-bought jelly for sure!
Makes me wish I had picked more. I thought I had enough grapes for at least a couple jars, haha. Amazing how far they boil down...

So glad your experiment was a huge (and tasty!) success! I only recall making grape jelly once, many years ago, and I don't remember how I went about it.

Thanks!! It sure is yummy! ♥

Looks wonderful. I've been thinking about doing this myself - it's wild grape season here. It is very nice for your kids to have the experience of eating it and seeing the process.

I hope you try it!!
The result is tastier than store-bought, and much, much healthier! Plus the kids learn a new skill, haha!

That looks so yummy! Over here in the UK it's blackberry picking season, so I'm going to be making blackberry jam (jelly) for the first time too. I usually just eat them, or freeze them to eat later. I hope my turns out as well as yours though. Over here we can get 'jam sugar' which has pectin in it, but as you said, you don't always need it. Natural is best.

Oooo! We recently had our blackberry season here too! There is a HUGE patch just down the road from us, free for anyone to come pick, and we MISSED OUT! We were just so darn busy we never did end up picking any, although the neighbors ended up with LOTS. I was glad to get grapes at least. Next year I fully intend on making some jam with blackberries too. I dont know how much natural pectin is in blackberries though, I wonder if I would need to buy some for those, haha!

That’s a shame. We have loads of brambles near us. We’ve got lots of woodland and they thrive there. Though it has been super hot here this summer so some are turning out small. Free food though!

That is awesome! Great job with your first time making jelly. It is exciting thing to learn :)

Thanks!! It was super fun and interesting!

What a fun and encouraging post!! I’ve always wanted to make our own jelly too but we don’t have access to wild grapes. I’m so glad everything turned out okay. Your title tricked me because I just knew it would read ‘gone wrong’ Lol! Thanks for sharing this success with us!!

Bah ha ha! My experiments frequently DO go wrong! I honestly sort of expected it to come out bad, or at least, weird. I was just hoping for 'edible' and was pleasantly surprised, haha!
Thanks for the kind comment. ♥

Haaa!! 😂😂😂

hoping for ‘edible’

That’s so hilarious!! The story of a moms life lol!!

Congrats on your curie vote!! Way to go!

Thanks! ♥♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56691.97
ETH 2499.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23