You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ♥ Wild-Grape Jelly! An experiment gone RIGHT! ♥

in #food6 years ago

That looks so yummy! Over here in the UK it's blackberry picking season, so I'm going to be making blackberry jam (jelly) for the first time too. I usually just eat them, or freeze them to eat later. I hope my turns out as well as yours though. Over here we can get 'jam sugar' which has pectin in it, but as you said, you don't always need it. Natural is best.

Sort:  

Oooo! We recently had our blackberry season here too! There is a HUGE patch just down the road from us, free for anyone to come pick, and we MISSED OUT! We were just so darn busy we never did end up picking any, although the neighbors ended up with LOTS. I was glad to get grapes at least. Next year I fully intend on making some jam with blackberries too. I dont know how much natural pectin is in blackberries though, I wonder if I would need to buy some for those, haha!

That’s a shame. We have loads of brambles near us. We’ve got lots of woodland and they thrive there. Though it has been super hot here this summer so some are turning out small. Free food though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24