Let's go to TEA RESTAURANT in Hong Kong together!!! 👅 Shirlam the Foodie || 吃貨 Shirlam 👅【一起去吃正宗港式茶餐廳吧!!!】 by @shirlam

in #food7 years ago (edited)

This article was written by @shirlam / 本文由 @shirlam 撰写提交

About the authour / 关于作者:

Follow the author @shirlam to find the other great articles from him/her.
请关注/追随作者查看他/她的其它优质文章。

Original text/原文如下:


Hello my Steemit friends, this is @Shirlam the Foodie. First of all, THANK YOU @someone for posting this blog so that I have the chance to meet all of you!! 😉

親愛的Steemit 好友,這是 吃貨 @Shirlam,首先要謝謝 @someone 願意發表我的文章,我才有機會跟您們交流!!! 😉

As a local Hong Kong-er, I really hope to let you all know more about this place, especially the yummy food here! With its second name as the “Food Paradise” , Hong Kong will never disappoint you. Today I’d like to bring all my Steemit friends to this local Tea Restaurant – “Gala Café” located in Tsuen Wan.

作為一個土生土長的香港人,我真的很希望讓大家更認識香港,尤其是這𥚃的美食 喔!!!! 香港有「美食天堂」之稱,一定不會讓大家失望!! 今天要帶大家去的地方就是很地道的港式茶餐廳 ── 嘉樂冰廳 (荃灣) 😋

About Gala Café 關於嘉樂冰廳


Gala Café is a famous Tea Restaurant in Hong Kong. Every day, it attracts a lot of “foodies” (just like me) to have a taste of the Hong Kong Tea Restaurant culture.

嘉樂冰廳在香港是一家很有名的傳統「茶記」(茶餐廳的俗稱),每天都吸引很多 像我一樣的 吃貨慕名而來,品嚐一下香港的茶餐廳文化!


When I arrived there at noon, there were already 6 – 7 people queuing up outside.
週末中午到達時,已經有六七個人在茶餐廳門口排隊。


Gala Cafe can only serve around 30 people at one time and the seats were never spacious. Yet, it preserves a very genuine setup of a Tea Restaurant in the 90s.
嘉樂冰廳裡面不大,只能同時容納大約30個客人,裡面都是卡位,但兩個人並排坐會有點擠。但是,它完整地保留了九十年代茶餐廳的格局和風味。




What have I ordered? 我點了甚麼?



  • Beef sandwich with eggs 鹹牛肉蛋三明治


    The sandwich contains soft scrambled eggs and salty minced beef, which is a perfect match!! The bread is toasted on both sides, giving it a crispy texture. Each and every bite of it tastes like heaven (no exaggerating!).
    三明治裡面夾著半熟炒蛋和鹹牛肉碎,簡直是完美組合!! 麵包兩面都有烘底 (點餐時可以先點烘底),入口脆脆的,每一口都是天堂的味道 (真的沒有誇張)!!!


  • Chicken wing rice noodles 雞翼湯河粉


    Apart from having tea here, you can always have a quick lunch here!! The chicken wings are marinaded with soya sauce and tastes really fresh. The portion is quite enough for me as lunch also.
    除了在茶餐廳吃下午茶,你還可以在這裡吃一個簡單快捷的午餐呢 😜 雞翼先以醬汁醃製,而且十分新鮮,光看買相已經令我口水直流。它的份量也挺大,也可以作我的午餐。


  • Red bean cooler 紅豆冰


    This drink consists of the upper milk layer and the lower red bean layer.
    紅豆冰的上層是淡奶,下層是煮好的紅豆沙。
    It also gives you the satisfying feeling when you try to mix the milk on top with the red bean!!
    把紅豆沙和淡奶攪拌在一起也是一種滿足喔!!

“Tea Restaurant” Culture in Hong Kong
香港的「茶餐廳」文化


Tea Restaurant is a by-product of the Western restaurant in Hong Kong during the colonial period. People developed this kind of cuisine which was way cheaper than a formal Western restaurant; yet preserving the way of cooking with cheaper food, such as toast and omelet.

茶餐廳是香港殖民時代西餐廳的一項副產物,當時西餐廳價格高昂,於是人們發展了較平民的茶餐廳,以同樣的煮法配合便宜的食材,像是西多士、奄列等。

In order to suit with the needs of the society, people brought in more variation to a Tea Restaurant. New food and drinks emerged, such as “coffee with milk tea”, instant noodles and red bean cooler. This best shows localization in the Hong Kong society.

後來為配合社會需要,茶餐廳的食物款式有了更多變化。鴛鴦、公仔麵和紅豆冰便展現了香港人的獨特口味。

From a Tea restaurant, we can observe a lot of characteristics of Hong Kong-ers:
茶餐廳也體現了很多香港人的特質︰
Sort:  

Greatttt

Really great post !!

Great foodie tour. Can you kindly explain why it is called "Tea" Restaurant? What I understand Coffee Shop (such as Starbucks chain) which sells pastries and snacks along with coffee. But in this restaurant, I can common foods for launch or dinner are served.

Hello @theia7 thank you so much for your question! It is really thought-provoking :)
I searched online but I can't find the official reason why it is called a "Tea" Restaurant. Below is my guess and I hope I can explain it in more details :)

I guess it is because a Tea Restaurant is previously known as an "ice house"(冰室) - same meaning as a cafe, which mostly served western drinks (like milk tea or coffee) but not any formal meals.

As time went by, people started offering meals in ice house and so there was a change in its name into a "restaurant". To distinguish a Tea Restaurant from ordinary restaurant, they put "Tea" in front, showing this type of restaurant also offered western drinks.

Steem on!!

Wow nice post

That looks delicious. That sandwhich looks much better then the breakfast sandwhich I got at the local gas station today on my way to work.


http://www.FlippyCoin.com is the #1 Cryptocurrency Exchange!

nice post @someone,,, very evocative of a hungry stomach, the more I see the storybanda the more it amazes me how can you make it in such a way. congratulations for you. always success
best regards from me @muhammadrazikon

Thank you so much!!

Congratulations @someone! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Is hong Kong better then European countries about life??

I have never been to Europe before so I cannot tell haha
But I can assure you that Hong Kong is definitely a food paradise! Apart from the busy lifestyle, we can choose to go on hiking or watch movie for leisure :)

Hello Shirlam, Trust for food stay in HongKong =D....I go often to HongKong for my family and ofcourse FOOD. It's so cheap and delicious. Especially small cafes. I live in the Netherlands and just eating cheese, patato's and waffles =(

Thank you for loving food in Hong Kong!!!! Still I wish I have the chance to visit Europe and experience life there ;)

Ìt's not... hong kong is crowded and expensive life style...
thanks

@kennyroy

True that Hong Kong have a hectic lifestyle ;) in terms of food and enjoyment, I think Hong Kong is very convenient!! :)

Nice. I love to give upvote and I hope you will too ;) Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64