Vanilla Chickpea Waffles from Brittany of Sharing Every Bite

in #food8 years ago

Crispy on the outside, soft and delectable on the inside.

But wait...Chickpeas in waffles?! If you're wrinkling your nose right now, you wouldn't be the first to have reasonable doubts about mixing whole chickpeas (garbanzo beans) into waffle batter.

That's pretty much my lot in life, though. Get weird with ingredients to figure out how to hack recipes so they're healthier and more crave-worthy.

This recipe was no exception. Waffles are just freaking amaze-balls, but the sad, sad truth is that they're not the most healthy breakfast food in existence. I just find that ironic, though, don't you? I mean, waffles are basically pancakes with abs.... clearly they're healthier. But in any case, I made it my mission to add more protein and fiber to a carb-heavy breakfast staple.

Sidebar - Breakfast food is literally my favorite thing on the planet. I love it. For breakfast. For brunch. For lunch. For dinner. You'll probably hear me refer to "breakfast for dinner" as brinner, which some might argue is actually the hybrid of "Brittany's dinner." And I'd have to agree with them. ;)


Seconds, pretty please?

These magical waffles have been the most requested recipe I've ever created. And I know on Sunday I promised you a different recipe, but I couldn't resist sharing these. Waffly sorry about that! I'm hoping you'll forgive me after you give these a whirl.

Oh, and speaking of last week...


A BIG thank you to you, Steemers.♥

Man, I must say. Earlier this week I was humbled and awed by the generous welcome and support I received from the Steemit community. My introduction post was met with wild encouragement and appreciation. I am so grateful to be given the opportunity to post here. SUCH WARM FUZZIES YOU GUYS!! ♥ ☺

How could that not be rewarded with waffles??

Vanilla Chickpea Waffles Recipe

Ingredients

1 can chickpeas (no salt added; drained and rinsed)
1 1/2 c. sweetened vanilla almond milk (+1/4 c. extra if needed to thin down batter)
1/4 c. coconut flour
1/2 c. GF Pancake & Waffle Mix (I love Bob's Red Mill mix)
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. Himalayan sea salt
1 tsp. Baking Truvia (can substitute 2 tsp. regular sugar)
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 Ener-G egg replacers

Directions

  1. Mix dry ingredients in large mixing bowl then set aside.
  2. Rinse and drain chickpeas. In a blender, mix them to a smooth consistency with the almond milk & vanilla.
  3. Make Ener-G egg replacers: Warm 2 Tbs. water in the microwave for no more than 10 seconds. You should be able to hold your finger in the water without being burned. If it gets hotter than that, the "egg" will react instantly instead of bonding the ingredients when it's baked. Add 1.5 tsp. Ener-G powder to the water and whisk together with a fork. Once all the lumps are beaten out, add to the blender of wet ingredients. Pulse a few times to incorporate.
  4. Combine wet and dry ingredients in the large mixing bowl. Beat for 2-3 minutes with a hand mixer until there are no clumps. If you don't have a mixer, make sure you achieve the same smooth consistency by hand.
  5. You should have the same batter consistency as regular pancake/waffle mix. If it seems too thick, add 2 Tbs. almond milk at a time until the right texture is reached.
  6. If you have control over the heat of your waffle iron, set to medium-high. (On mine, it's a 5 out of 6.)
  7. Measure 1/3-1/2 c. of batter into waffle iron.
  8. You'll want to leave them in there longer than when your waffle iron says they're done to cook all the way through. It should be ever so slightly moist in the middle, but not soggy. If they are mushy in the middle, they need more time.
  9. Top with your favorite goodies, and they're ready to eat!

    And I leave you with these two naked waffles (gasp!) They are ready to be dressed up with all of your favorite goodies! Bananas, strawberries, pecans, maple syrup, blueberries, cinnamon, honey, apples, almond butter... So many possibilities!

I hope you find these as enjoyable and tasty as I do! And in the spirit of my usual weirdness, please enjoy a picture of me wearing laundry for no particular reason. I don't think I captured quite the usual amount of shenanigans in this post.


All the best,
-Britt

Please note that this is my own original recipe. My Steemit account was verified in my introduction post via social media posts on these accounts:

Sort:  

These look gorgeous, shocked by the ingredients but well worth a try for a healthier breakfast

Those are my sentiments exactly... whatever it takes to enjoy these beloved breakfast foods in healthier versions.

You keep experimenting hun

Looks amaaazing!! Can't wait to make them!

I gotta try making these we have a huge Waffle-maker!
Just an fyi I just created a Plant-Based Steemit chat channel, everyone should get on that :) https://steemit.chat/channel/plant-based

Plant-based, all about it!! Thanks for sharing.

These look AMAZING!

These look yummy @sharingeverybite. I don't have a waffle iron, so I'm wondering if you could use this batter for pancakes? Thanks.

Thanks @pinkyh60! I've actually never tried these as pancakes, but in general, I haven't had as much luck with gluten-free and vegan pancakes. Without the egg to bind the ingredients, it's tricky to get them to stay together. I have found the waffle iron to be helpful since it cooks on both sides.

If you do try it out, I'd love to hear how it goes though! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57372.40
ETH 2456.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41