Food Journal Entry #1: No-Knead Crusty Artisan Bread

in #food7 years ago (edited)

The no-knead crusty artisan bread is by far my favorite bread recipe, and everyone I served it to loved it. It is inexpensive, turns out well every time, and requires very little work. If you don't have a dutch oven, a cast iron should do a similarly good job. Awesome to serve with soup, dips, and makes the best sandwiches. I bought my dutch oven specifically for this and had no regrets! I ended up using it for other recipes too, but the bread alone was worth it.

SDC12335 (1) 2.jpg

No-Knead Crusty Artisan Bread

Ingredients:
3 cups flour
3 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon active dry yeast
1 1/2 cups lukewarm water

Directions:
In a large bowl add the flour, salt, and yeast, and stir to mix well. Stir in the water until it is incorporated. Make sure the water is lukewarm, not cold, nor hot (hot will turn the loaf into sourdough bread). Do not over-mix. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap, and let sit for 6-8 hours at room temperature. The dough will be wet and shapeless at first, but will double nicely in few hours.

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F, and heat the uncovered dutch oven in the oven for 30 minutes. Meanwhile, flour a working surface (I use a wooden cutting mat) and, with well floured hands, place the dough on there. Using as much flour as needed, shape the dough loosely into a ball, and cover with plastic wrap. The dough should hold together okay, but it should be soft and spongy, and sticky still.

After the dutch oven has heated for 30 minutes remove it carefully from the oven (it will be hot!), and place the dough in the pot. Cover and bake for 30 minutes. Remove the lid, and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes until desired crispness.

SDC12330 (1) 2.jpg

1043901_317748485026843_1020077435_n (1) 2.jpg

Enjoy!!

If you make this bread I'd love to hear and see how it turns out for you!

Happy week-end! :)

Sort:  

Man, really wish I had some yeast. I'd totally try that out. It will be on my "to do" list for this week.

Awesome! I'd be curious how it turns out.

That's a nice bread. I love the low yeast-long rise approach and am jealous about your Dutch oven.

Thank you! It makes it easy, for sure, though kneading is fun too..

So much fun that I use a mixer ;)

Ah lol, that works too! I'm quite old-fashioned there. hehe

I just bake too much.

i can see that! I look forward to learning more about it from you!

Oh my goodness that looks delicious, and I bet it smells great too! I'll have to try it in our cast iron!

It does smell awesome, and feels, and tastes! Let me know how it turns out! If you don't have a lid for the cast iron, perhaps you could cover it with aluminum foil for the first 30 minutes so the top doesn't burn. Thanks for stopping by. :)

Yo!! Ok, unfortunately, I don't have a Dutch oven, but I think I want to get one just for this purpose. Great job.

I'm going to bake a bread one of these days and bring it over. :)

🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼

This post has gratitude of 0.48 % from @appreciator thanks to: @shadalene.

Oh wow that looks delicious. Might have to give it a go!

Thank you! Hope it turns out good!

That looks AMAZING!!! Totally going to give this a go one of these days! Wish me luck ;-)

Yay! Hope it turns out well! Let me know if you encounter any issues.. Would love to see a photo of it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51367.14
ETH 2266.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01