You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The MadGoat Cooks: German Food

in #food6 years ago

Do you use butter, olive oil or margarin for the cabbage?
What would you have done if your mandolin was not in Colorado?
Can I use shitty white wine instead of vinegar?
That slice of lemon is just out of decoration or do you actually put it on the schnithzel? Does it not cover the taste?
Will I ever stop to ask questions?

Sort:  

I sauteed the onions and apples for the cabbage in grapeseed oil, mostly just because that's what happened to be next to the stove at the time. Not that I think about it, I should have just used butter. Everything is better with butter. Nothing is better with margarine. Although 90% of the time I cook with olive oil.

I'm talking about one of these mandolins, not the musical instrument. The answer to what I would have done with it is, "Probably cut the tips of my fingers off."

You can absolutley use white wine instead of vinegar, just add a squeeze of lemon juice since wine doesn't have that vinegary bite you want. I actually used apple cider vinegar but I said white vinegar in the recipe because that's how it's normally made.

Lemon is a must for schnitzel. It makes the whole dish. I squeezed half a lemon on my schnitzel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59020.94
ETH 2603.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44