The Best Restaurant of All Time. That's a Bold Statement

in #food6 years ago (edited)

The Best Restaurant of All Time


My favorite restaurant of all time was The Nuevo Leon in Chicago in the Pilsen neighborhood. For years it was our go to spot for Birthdays and special events. It was a family owned Mexican restaurant that had been in the neighborhood forever. It was a cash only place, nothing fancy very casual. It was BYOB meaning you could bring your own beer and Tequila which beats paying $6 for a beer at a restaurant.

Even after getting shut down by the health department 2 or 3 times, I would still go back the day they would open back up. If getting sick was the price to pay for eating this food, it was worth it, it was that amazing. I never did wind up getting sick though.


leon2.png

leon3.png

leon4.png

leon5.png

Their salsa was amazing. Whenever you at there everyone always got a free dish or taco as an appetizer and the food was really cheap. My favorite thing was Tacos De Sabinas which are ribeye tacos with tons of jalapenos in the best sauce on a fresh flower tortilla made at a tortilleria across the street.

Then one morning a friend texted me an article that The Nuevo Leon had burned down the night before. I was so mad, how long would it be until I could go back for my tacos? We all awaited anxiously for months and finally they announced they weren't going to be reopening again. That was depressing.

Then a few months later they announced they would be opening a new place across the street, however it would no longer bear the same name and was going to be more of an upscale Mexican Steak House. I never really had much interest in going back because it wasn't the same place. Well finally last night my girlfriend and I headed into the neighborhood and decided to give it a try.


Upon walking in it's a nice place, very cool decor and ambiance.



Turns out they still give you a free plate when you come in...



And the food is still great



And while it's not the same place it used to be and the menu has changed, it's still pretty darn good. I'll definately be going back.

Sort:  

Dude that place looks so bomb! I mean I live in Tucson where there are some pretty good Mexican restaurants and that place looks really worth it. That is sad it burned down but it is great to hear they still have great food and are continuing the tradition!
And BYOB!!! Sweet!

It's a shame, definitely the essence, the style of the restaurant and the atmosphere were typical of the place. I think you have to give the Mexican Steak House a chance, maybe you'll find more things to like and how you say the food is tasty too!

Now that I'm in Canada, I really should go get some authentic Mexican food. You seem to really like Mexican food a lot! But to be honest, Mexican people here are a rarity. We just don't have a huge population of them like you guys do in the USA.

Next time I'm in Toronto, I'll try and find one! Good post

Yeah Mexican Food is one of my favs. How long you gonna be in Canada for?

About a month

Excelente, amigo, @rulesforrebels.

Your photos made me hungry:)

You just planted 0.06 tree(s)!


Thanks to @rulesforrebels

We have planted already 3822.01 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19225.59
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

I read your blog, Good things you are writing What place are these pays,

Posted using Partiko Android

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-07-31-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35