Hempalicious: Experimenting with Hemp Bread

in #food6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Looking for a high protein alternative to the sourdough I usually make, I turned to hemp flour. Hemp flour is awesome - it still blows me away that something we used to nurture in the forests to grow enough for smoking is now an option for my breakfast. They're rich is omega fatty acids, are high in protein, a source of Vitamin E and minerals such as zinc, magnesium and calcium, and they taste good too - a kind of nutty flavour which I really like in my bread, having being raised on full on wholemeals and seedy breads and pumpernickel. White bread only does it for me when it's fresh and slathered in butter and vegemite - other times I'd rather something dense and tasty. Hence this little experiment.

Both of the recipes below have been squirrelled from the internet and adapted in my own way - I'm not very good at following recipes, but tend to experiment - adding and removing ingredients according to what's in my cupboard and depending on what I'm feeling. I really liked the seedy one the best, especially with the addition of nigella seeds.


image.png

Loaf 1: Seedy Hemp Bread

image.png

1.25 cups almond meal
1/3 cup sunflower seeds
1/3 cup pepitas
1/2 flaxseeds
3 tbsps nigella seeds or black sesame seeds
1/4 cup coconut flour
5 g apple cider vinegar
65 g coconut oil
3 teaspoons bicarb soda
1/2 tsp salt
6 free range eggs

Mix all ingredients and pour batter into a lined loaf tin. Cook for 40 - 60 minutes or until knife comes out clean.

Loaf 2: Simple Hemp Bread

image.png

½ cup hemp flour
½ cup linseed meal
1 cup almond meal
1 teaspoon bicarb soda
½ teaspoon salt
4 eggs (large)
3 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
2 tablespoons olive oil

Mix all ingredients, pour into a lined loaf tin, bake for 40 minutes or so at 160C or until knife comes out clean.


Would I Make Them Again?

Yes. I'd like to make an eggless one though, and perhaps one with yeast. I found these delicious straight out of the oven, but they seemed to dry out quickly and whilst I've been enjoying them as toast (I sliced them and put them in the freezer) I have to be in the mood for a really 'healthy' tasting loaf such as these. They're good with boiled eggs or avocado and fetta! If you weren't able to eat gluten, I would certainly give these a try!

Have you ever experimented with hemp flour?

Would you try these?

Have you got a good 'alternative flour' recipe to share?



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif


NaturalMedicineBanner.jpg
Join us on Natural Medicine Discord here

Sort:  

Ooo love this, i have the same issues with my sourdough breads drying out fast due to the lower fat content of the recipes etc. Have you tried covering with a tea towel once its out while it cools. When i read up on it its meant to help keep them soft etc. Seemed to work well then stored in a sealed container to help avoid drying out.

One id love to try when i get a chance, not looking like anytime soon 😕thanks for sharing

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, I just put them in a sealed container, and the extra one in plastic bag in the freezer. We mainly eat it as toast so it's not too bad.

Yum! Yum! We've been trying different gluten free recipes for breads and these look like winners to add to our repertoire. Thanks for sharing!

You are welcome! What's your favourite recipe?

Posted using Partiko Android

My husband is the bread maker. His latest is with almond flour, coconut milk, baking powder, salt, and cheese. I think that's the main ingredients. I put ghee on it to eat it. It stays real moist and perfect for our Keto diet.

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh yum! I love a good dense bread. Need to get Melissa on the baking path...

This bread is browny green though... 😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice that looks delicious. I like that you, at least in the pictures, measured it out in grams. I have to get a real good digital food scale that measures in those denominations, it’s how so many other countries have consistent recipes! Americans and their cups and teaspoon measurements are off, especially in baking.

The breads look delicious but I would agree that they are an eat now or freeze bread, I bet they might make excellent French toast though!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love eating hemp hearts and use hemp seed oil but I've never had hemp flour - I've never even seen it for sale. I'll have to search online. The recipes you shared sound delicious and I've re-steemed because this post is awesome and so I can find the ingredients and make some of that gorgeous hemp bread for myself. I wonder if some banana or squash mashed up in the mixture would help make a moister loaf?

My husband was telling me that hemp is amazing! They used to grow hemp for textiles, and rope during the Revolutionary War the land was covered in crops. Compared to cotton, hemp requires half the amount of water, it produces 200%+ more fiber, it grows faster, needs less space and you don't need to use pesticides-herbicides-any-icides to grow it.

Maybe I should become a hemp farmer! :)

looks so dense and delicious! would like to try it myself... cant wait to see how to eggless one comes out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34