From Wheat Grain To Table

in #food7 years ago (edited)

How to Manually Mill Wheat and Make Bread

You can use your favorite bread recipe or use the link I provided for you at the bottom of this article. Fresh ground sifted wheat flour is the same weight as whole grain wheat flour you buy at the grocery store.

I can eat organic wheat without experiencing an allergic reaction.

I line my bread and bun pans with parchment paper. Organic fresh ground bread products are delicate and will break easily when you try and lift them out of their baking container.

Organic Soft White and Red Wheat

I use a combination of grains when hand milling and baking my own bread. Hard red wheat grain has a lovely nutty taste and more protein than soft white wheat. Soft white wheat is the easiest to hand mill and sift. That's the reason why it's called soft.

Sifting After First Milling

I found out the hard way I had to sift the hull we call bran out after the second milling. With hand mills I found out I had to grind twice. I would sift out the fine flour and regrind what was left and sift out the bran. This was the best way I found not to make hockey puck buns. OMG, they were hard as brick. I got online and did some research on how to make yeasty bread from freshly milled flour. I had no clue! I thought you just ground up the grain and make bread. Boy oh boy, was I wrong.

Second Sifting

If you don't sift out the outer hull of your grain you will get bread that is hard as a rock and only good for football or hockey.

Sifted Flour

Sifted fresh whole grain flour is soft but it is very different from store bought whole grain flour. This fresh flour will only last 24 hours before it starts to go rancid. Real flour fresh from the mill is full of healthy oil and nutrients. However, the healthy part of milled wheat does not store well. To extend shelf life corporate milling companies processed all the fragile oil and nutrients out of their flour for shelf life. Even if they add nutrients back in the chemical structure isn't the same and the body doesn't know what to do with the man made vitamins and oils. Besides the chemicals added back into the flour you also have herbicides sprayed on almost all grains to kill the plant before harvest so the grain will be drying out and also products like glyphosate in Roundup will cause accelerated growth before death. The flours not marked organic all have glyphosate residue and that may be why most people like me can't eat wheat products because the wheat products causes inflammation and infections.

Wheat Bran

I save the bran and freeze it for later use in my cereals or I give the bran to my chickens. You want to see chickens go crazy? Feed them fresh wheat bran.

How To Start Your Yeast

You can use egg, milk, or water, any kind of liquid will do, even left over water from steaming vegetables. I heat the water up to just below body temperature. Don't heat up the liquid above 110 degrees or you will kill the yeast. I buy bulk yeast and freeze it in 1lb packages. I pull a package out and dump it into a quart jar and put it in the refrigerator. When you are making fresh milled wheat dough you need to double up on your yeast. I add 1 tablespoon for 2 loves of bread.

Once the liquid is warmed up add 2 tablespoons of sugar and a 1/4 cup of fat that you like, I use butter or coconut oil to the mix. Mix the ingredients up until thoroughly dissolved. Add your yeast and let sit for at least 15 minutes to give the little yeasty beings a chance to start growing.

Adding Yeast to Flour

I take two cups of my eight cups of flour and stir the flour into my liquid. I stick the mix in my warmed oven. I heat the oven to 200 degrees and turn off the heat. I let the mix sit for 15 minutes before adding remaining flour.

Incorporating Remaining Flour

I add flour cup by cup. I mill 10 cups of flour, which you need about 12 cups of wheat berries. You lose some of the bulk from the bran and you need extra flour just in case you need to add extra flour to you dough and you need extra flour when shaping your bread. Freshly milled wheat dough is sticky!

Dough Is Ready For Hand Work

I keep adding flour until the liquid completely disappears and I can start using my hands. Remember freshly milled wheat flour is very sticky so get ready to get your hands messy!

Adding Flour Until Flour Is Easy To Handle

Even though the dough is sticky there will come a time where it isn't that sticky and ready for 10 minutes of kneading. Only experience and several failures can teach you exactly when you need to stop adding flour and start the steady kneading.

Many first timers making bread suffer from lack of confidence either over work their bread or don't work it enough to activate the protein called gluten which gives bread that nice stretchy fluffy consistency. Find a good bread recipe that other people have tried and had success and stick with the process. Keep trying until you get it right. I've ate most of my mistakes except for the hard as rock breads I first made when I didn't sift out the wheat berry hulls.

How To Tell When It's Time To Stop Kneading

The bread dough will stretch without breaking and look kinda like a brain. Freshly milled grains don't stretch the same as store bought processed wheat flours but freshly milled flour still has a little stretch.

First Rise

Place kneaded dough in a well oiled bowl and rub some oil over the dough ball. Place a damp towel over the bowl and set bowl in a warm oven for 1 hour. Punch the raised dough ball down and knead out any bubbles. Shape as you wish or per your bread recipes advice.

Formed Bread Dough

I found out from several mistakes you can't let the formed fresh milled flour dough rise for an hour the second time. The dough is delicate and 30 minutes will suffice. I found if you give the dough an hour for second rise it will collapse and you will get flat bread loaves and buns.

Products Are Ready For Baking

With all this product I needed two ovens. I usually make bread for the week which includes pizza crust, buns, and bread loaves.

Freshly milled wheat berry bread taste intense and I hope you get a chance to eat some or even try to make some for yourself. Can you imagine planting, harvesting, storing, milling, baking your own grain products? We just don't have the time to do that with full time jobs. But if you want to learn the ancient art of making bread from scratch you have to spend a little money or have someone mill your grain for you. My mill coast $130.00 and I bought it off of eBay. I can't remember who made the mill, sorry.

If you want to buy your own grain, you can buy fresh grain berries from cooperatives. I stored 20lb bags in steel food barrels. If you don't store your grain properly weevil beetles will find a way in and start breeding like crazy. It's happened to me, that's why I bought huge storage barrels.

Glyphosate and Wheat Intolerance

Find A Cooperative Near You

Whole Wheat Bread Recipe

10 ancient grains to watch: from kamut to quinoa

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

I will make it and post the result!
Followed and Upvoted :)

I am looking forward to your results @paps!

mill 'em manually?
that's amazing!

Really good red you can make many things paint,write and cook woow :)

I have not forgotten my peoples traditions. I will try and share with my grandkids and people here on steemit so they will not be lost.

Yes red i think you are a good person with lots of things to share. here in my city is difficult find a good bread so the idea to do it in home with a recipe like this is a perfect option

Wow ! That's great I think we will see the result in second part.

Back in the days before grocery stores the women and children of the house really had to work hard to make food!

that was fabulous! I have to admit, tho, I don't think i'll ever be making my own flour, but you...very impressive!

I felt impressed too, I had at least 6 failures before I was able to produce fluffy bread. That's hours of work fed to my chickens :-/ hahaha! Happy chickens

Milling Organic Soft White and Red Wheat with @reddust ~ looks so healthy! I was a Pizza Dough Maker and Cook at an Italian Restaurant long time ago and I know Your Fresh Dough would add that needed Yummy Appeal to the Pizza lovers... OK now pass the Butter

The feeling I got from making bread from total scratch made the fresh bread taste xtra yummy! I think I burned at least 200 calories grinding the grain. It's real hard work. I made my own butter from that day fresh milk bought from a farm a mile away from my home. Homemade butter from grass fed happy dairy cows taste nothing like store bought butter.

You Just Can't Beat Homemade ~ It's always Better with Butter ;)

I like to make my own home bread too, time to time. It's smelling fantastic and reminds me about my childhood.

@aci7, the smell of fresh baked bread is heavenly and adding butter and jam to freshly baked bread is heaven! lololol

Awesome receipe @reddust, i never saw someone before manually making bread, i save your process of making bread and i should ask my family to try it and make bread at home instead of going daily towards bakery to buy. thanks for sharing.

@abnanrabbani, only full time homemakers have the time to mill wheat berries and make bread. Hand milling takes a lot of work. At least an hour to process 14 cups of berries. You have to be in shape to hand crank a manual mill. An electric mill will cut the time of milling down to next to nothing.

Lol why you stoped using your "sir" word on your accounts?

WoW i learnt something new today thanks @reddust. really healthy recipe.

You forgott your "sir" word lol

@winvideos, I am curious, please explain your post in more detail.

well done madam at least i don't expect the word curious from you, you are curious to find explanation of the post from someone who log in to steemit once in a week, you are curious to find explanation from someone post who never ever reads your post neither he or her have the time to even uncover their face to tell the world who they are and what are they doing in steemit, i am your follower i reads your post everyday and try to find out the good things from it which you are sharing with us, these peoples are hate spreader they just don't want that peoples connect with each other and helps each other bcoz they have no time for steemit, these peoples just spread hate and then lie back and eat pop corns and enjoy the breakups. i am your true follower i like your posts because it has so much value to me and i gain something new everyday from it.

nice post my friend, i like it and upvote

Wow...I think this is vert tasty....I'm try it this bun....with my wife...
Thank you so much @redust sharing this recipes and steps....
Happy steeming....healthy foods...and fitness shape body...
Upvoted...
Cheers~~~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57050.09
ETH 3060.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32