Steemit Culinary Challenge #9: Meringue in the New Year!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Meringues are exceptionally light. They make the perfect little treat after many days of "big" meals and generally all the indulgences that we engage in, as we celebrate with family and friend festively.

This is a relatively easy recipe to make. It involves whipping egg whites and combining them with a sweetener. 

Typically, refined white sugar is used to make this stand alone dessert or dessert topping for a pie, or cake.

I prefer to keep the sweetener I use to a minimum and will be using maple syrup, but you can use honey too.

Here are the tools that you will need:

  1. a medium size pot;
  2. a smaller mixing bowl that will fit into the top of the pot;
  3. a large spoon;
  4. a stand mixer or hand mixer;
  5. a spatula;
  6. a parchment paper lined baking sheet;
  7. a selection of measuring cups and spoons;
  8. and a blender or large knife to finely chop the walnuts.

The ingredients are as follows: 

  1. 5 egg whites;
  2. 2/3 cup of maple syrup;
  3. 1/2 tsp of cream of tarter;
  4. 1 tbsp of ground cinnamon;
  5. and a 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts.

Here's what to do:

  • Half fill the pot with water and bring it to a gentle bowl on your stove top.
  • Preheat the oven to 200 degrees F.
  • Separate the eggs and put the whites in the mixing bowl. Be very careful not to get any of the yolks in the whites or the recipe will not work as well as it can.

  • Add maple syrup and  the cream of tarter in the mixing bowl and blend well.

  • Place the mixing bowl in the pot of boiling water so that the bottom of the mixing bowl comes in contact with the boiling water. Gently warm the egg white and syrup until the mixture becomes hot.
  • Transfer the mixture to a stand mixer or use a hand-held mixer to whip the mixture for 7 minutes. The mixture will become white and fluffy. Whip until stiff peaks form.

  • With a spatula, gently fold in the cinnamon by hand so that your egg whites don't fall.

  • Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and drop big spoonfuls of the mixture onto the sheet. Leaving space between the dollops so that they don't touch.
  • Grind or finely chop the walnuts.

  • Sprinkle the top of each meringue with the walnut crumble.

  • Bake for 1 hour, then check the meringues, and turn the sheet in your oven to ensure that the meringues dry out equally. Bake for another hour.
  • Let cool and remove from the baking sheet.

Let's take a closer look...

Light and airy, the perfect way to ring in a new year with Maple Walnut Meringues.

A big thank you goes to:

@richman, the guest judge this week.

@oaldamster, the logo designer.

@vegascomic, the trophy designer.

@smooth, @sirwinchester, and @knozaki for sponsoring the prize purses.

and last but not least, @englishtchrivy for all the work she does to keep this challenge/contest going.

Best to you and yours in 2017. Happy New Year!

I welcome your comments and invite you to follow me on my journey.

~ Rebecca Ryan




Sort:  

Not that sweet and i can finish a plate ;)
When will you do macaroons???

Good question @immarojas! I've actually never made a stand alone macaroon, so it will require some research on my part before I can make a true grain-free, low carb, high fat version.
I will think on this and do some research.
Have you made them before?

Haha i can't cook ;) i enjoy eating more than cooking lolsss

Hahaha! Well, if we ever get to meet in person, I can guarantee that you will eat well, my friend!

Oh thank you..i dont mind cannabis in it that's for sure ;)

Very good! I did say to my husband last night that I am sure that I can medicate these meringues by using infused bee honey. I would also change the spices a little to include ground ginger and ground nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon.
This would create a gingerbread style meringue and it would easily hide the flavour of the herb, which is very distinctive.

Next time ;)

Yay!!! Woohoo!!
Thanks so much for everything you do @englishtchrivy!
I appreciate it. :)

Very nice. Good luck in the challenge

Thank you @gringalicious! There is a story that goes with these meringues.
My husband bought me a professional piping bag with fancy attachments. I tried to pipe the meringues onto my sheet so that the finished treat would look nicer. Yeah, not that easy with the new silicone piping bags. I had meringue everywhere and I almost threw the whole contraption straight out the window.
Obviously, more practice and more skill and maybe...just maybe a wee little bit more patience is required on my end. LOL

@rebeccaryan, I love meringue but they always taste freaking sweet I could only take a bite or two. So, yes, I might give this one a try.

Good luck!

Thanks for your comments @englishtchrivy!
I have always found traditionally prepared meringues to be sickly sweet too.
Over time my palette has changed and now anything with refined white sugar in it is way over the top for me. I used 3/4 of a cup of maple syrup in this particular recipe creation. Normally, I would have used a whole cup. I am confident with the flavour of the cinnamon, you could drop back even further to 1/2 cup for the entire batch, which made 30 pieces, and filled 2 baking sheets. The reason for the sugar at all is to keep the peaks of the meringues stiff so that when baked or dried out, they will be light and airy instead of dense. It's worth experimenting on getting the level of sweetness, just right. I believe it can be done. I've never liked the taste of stevia, but it might work in combination with something else like honey or coconut sugar. I realize that maple syrup isn't always readily available in every country, or even "liked" for that matter because it does add a distinct flavour to the finished end product.

@rebeccaryan, I also thought that - the key to having a meringue is really sugar
we're the same am almost 40 so I lost my sweet tooth but its okay to age hahaha we still look good anyway :)

yes, the cinnamon would help against the sugar, very good choice!

Very good recipe, I'm honored to be a judge in this challenge!
Thanks for participating :D

Thank you @richman!
I am just happy that I made the contest deadline...lol
I have participated in a few of the challenges now and there are some very talented people who like to cook and do a fantastic job. The task of judging is hard, thanks for volunteering to take this particular challenge on. :)

Not a huge fan of meringues myself, but my hubby loves them. Thanks for sharing will def try and make them for him!

Thanks for commenting @amy-goodrich!
I do find them really sweet. I normally make them with 1 cup of maple syrup but my palette has changed and I am now really sensitive to sweet flavours.
When I made this recipe, I used 2/3 of a cup, but I think you could drop it back to 1/2 cup. The other thing is that you can flavour them with any other flavours that might appeal to you. (Different spices, cocoa, coconut, lemon, key-lime, for example. ) If it's a texture dislike on your part, there is no hack for that. Lol They are unique for their crunchy outer and soft interior. I find people either like them or they don't. I have a Vegan friend who makes his meringues using the starchy water that chick peas have soaked in. He uses cane sugar when he makes them. I've never tried his recipe.

Ohh thanks, will try the chickpea version! Didn't know you could use that. Or add other flavors. Just not sure about the taste and texture.

Those are perfect! Using maple syrup is a great idea, too. Happy New Year! I hope 2017 is a wonderful year for you. Enjoy Canada's 150th birthday all year, too, lol. :D

Very nice! Good luck to you!

Oh my! Rebecca's mom here...I am munching meringues as we speak and these delicious little morsels are reminiscent of sponge toffee in texture and melt in your mouth maple syrup. They are yummy. I am usually the taste tester for Rebecca's creations (see comment re: almond joy treats) and although these are not medicated I give them an A+ for taste.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55