Steemit Culinary Challenge #6 Hot Off The Grill: You Sexy ThingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

I believe in miracles. How did you know I needed you so badly? How did you know I'd give my heart gladly?

Hot off the grill, vegetables are a sexy thing.

Still firm, but showing a softer side. Working up a little bit of a sweat. Colours get a little deeper and just a little darker as things heat up underneath them, but they are still able to hold it together with strength and consistency. They are reliable.

Yeah, that's a sexy thing.

Here are the sexy vegetables I used:

  • radishes
  • yellow pepper
  • red pepper
  • orange pepper
  • white onion
  • red onion
  • portebello mushrooms

I also used coconut oil to coat the vegetable pieces before putting them on the grill and I seasoned them with freshly ground black pepper and Himalayan pink salt to taste. As a final finish, I used a little bit of balsamic vinegar and grated goat cheddar.

The grill I used is a T-fal opti-grill. It is one of my favourite kitchen appliances because it has pre-set functions for grilling meats, fish and vegetables. Plus, you can grill from a frozen state or completely on your own without using any of the pre-set functions. It has an indicator which measures each level of how cooked an item is. For example if you want your steak to be medium rare, it will let you know with sound, once that level is reached. It completely takes the guess work out of grilling to perfection and will still let you achieve grill marks just like you spent hours attending to an outdoor barbecue. 

Did I mention that this appliance just plugs into a regular kitchen socket?

That means that any household can use one and no propane or natural gas is required. 

As it is so "fool-proof" it has ultimately replaced our propane barbecue and we have taken it with us when we have gone camping because it is that portable and easy to use.

Get off the hot seat, Mr. Frog...we know you're are sizzling hot...

Directions:

  • Clean and cut your vegetables.

Onions and peppers.

This is the size that I slice the onions for the grill. They really shrink with grilling so they need to be big enough so that you are left with a grilled ingredient that you can actually do something with, when they are finished.

Big pieces of orange, yellow and red peppers.

Portobello mushrooms.

Radishes. Radishes lose their heat when they are grilled and they resemble little white potatoes. This is great for anyone following a ketogenic or Paleo eating lifestyle. There is 15 grams of carbs in an 85 gram serving of radishes. That's  just a little bit smaller than a 1/2 of a cup. 

  • Next, grill all your vegetables. They will only take a few minutes each.

You want your vegetables to still hold their shape, be softened a little bit, and have grill marks. 

Onions should be just starting to turn translucent.

 Gorgeous colours and grill marks on the peppers. @papa-pepper this photo is just for you. ;)

 Grilled radishes finished perfectly.

  • Next, I built grilled vegetable sliders with the finished grilled vegetables. I started with the peppers as the base, then I added the radishes, mushrooms and onions. I topped this with one radish slice, drizzled the tower of vegetables with balsamic vinegar and finely shredded aged goat cheddar.

Let's take a closer look at the sliders.

I find the flavours of grilled vegetables to be sweeter than their raw form and not as sharp or pungent.

The peppers taste sweet and range from a mild pepper taste with the yellow, increase to a medium pepper taste with the orange and the red produce the most intense sweet pepper taste.

The onions taste like sweet onions and the mushrooms have a decidedly meaty flavour and texture which is why you can eat this entree and feel satisfied. The goat cheddar and balsamic vinegar add a tangy flavour and balance the sweetness.

A big thank you goes to @pappa-pepper for being this week's guest judge.

I also want to thank all those who are making these culinary challenges possible. Thank you to @smooth, @roelandp, @sirwinchester, @knozaki2015, @oaldamster, @vegascomic and @englishtchvy.

  

This was uploaded to Youtube by Heartbreaker, Aug. 4th, 2008. I hope you enjoy the classic tune.

I welcome your comments and invite you to follow me on my journey.

~Rebecca Ryan




Sort:  

@rebeccaryan, I love grilled onions and mushrooms am glad am not the judge so I could just comment on the entries.
Good luck! and thanks a lot for joining!

Thank you @englishtchrivy!
I really appreciate being able to even join challenges like this. I am learning a lot through other Steemians' creations. It is a melting pot of great culinary ideas from one week to the next.

these are some very sexy veggie photos, great job!!

Congrats on placing 4th in the competition. So, so glad I was not the judge!

Thank you @gringalicious! I thought the exact same thing. I was so glad not to have to judge.

That looks like a nice grill setup! I like sauteed radishes. I'll have to try grilling them sometime!

I use radishes anywhere I normally would have used white potato. So, the beef noodle soup had no white potato in it and 1.5 lbs of radishes instead. They boil the same way a potato does and they completely lose their heat. I think they are a highly undervalued vegetable and they are easy to grow and quick to produce. One of my favourites.

I will have to try that! They are so quick to grow. Soup would be a good way to use some of those that have gotten a little on the hot side. Hmmm. I will appreciate a radish more! :D

Exactly! A completely undervalued veg. lol
One of the first things people can plant in their gardens and fairly "fool-proof". I don't know of any insects or worms that go after radishes, so harvests can be plentiful and seeds can be re-planted for 2nd and 3rd crops...even in Canada's and some of the States' shorter growing seasons.

There are too many undervalued vegetables! : ) We have to watch out for slugs here in Oregon's Willamette Valley. But that's for most things, except the onion family and artichokes, lol.

I do like to eat the radish greens. And the flowers and young seed pods. And it's nice to save seeds from them, too. But I'm excited to grill them now, too. Yay for radishes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55