Steemit Culinary Challenge #22 : Mediterranean Hors d'Oeuvres.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I started this post by taking a trip to a Water Buffalo farm to buy fresh ingredients that are Italian- inspired.

The name of the operation is the Ontario Water Buffalo company. They are located just outside of Stirling, Ontario Canada and are situated on 450 acres. This company sells products that are derived directly from their herd of 350+ Water Buffaloes.

If you missed that post, you can check it out here:

https://steemit.com/animals/@rebeccaryan/buffing-it-up-a-trip-to-visit-a-herd-of-working-girls-1-stud

So, I gathered the ingredients and here they are:

As I am preparing a selection of appetizers inspired from France, Spain, Italy and Greece, there are a lot of ingredients. The good thing is that you will only need a small amount of each thing. However if you are planning to serve these at a party and it's the only thing you will be serving, plan on making at least 3 pieces of each item for each guest attending. You will have more ingredients prepared, then you see in my pictures. The idea is that you can make more appetizers up in advance or on the fly, to keep replenishing your serving platters as your guests enjoy them.

The tools needed are:

  1. a high power blender;
  2. a vegetable peeler;
  3. a sharp butcher's knife;
  4. and  a paring knife.

Start by pouring yourself a glass of your favourite red wine, because we will be doing a lot of cutting, chopping and dicing.

Here's the ingredients list:

  1. a cantaloupe;
  2. 7 Campari tomatoes
  3. 6 strawberries;
  4. 1 cup of 14% sour cream (or the highest fat you can find);
  5. 6 pieces of prosciutto (cured ham);
  6. 3 slices of Water Buffalo summer sausage;
  7. 2 slices of Water Buffalo pepperettes;
  8. 1 tbsp of feta cheese, crumbled;
  9. 1 tbsp of shredded smoked caciocavallo (smoked mozzarella cheese made with Water Buffalo milk);
  10. 6 green olives from Italy;
  11. 8 green olives from Spain;
  12. 8 Kalamata olives from Greece;
  13. 1 cup freshly chopped dill;
  14. 1/8th of a cup of freshly chopped oregano;
  15. 1/8th of a cup of freshly chopped basil; 
  16. 1/8th of a cup of red onion diced;  
  17. 1 cucumber, peeled and sliced;
  18. 1/4 of an orange pepper;
  19. 1/4 of a yellow pepper;
  20. 1 tsp of lemon juice;
  21. and Balsamic vinegar and pink Himalayan salt to taste. 

Directions:

  • Roughly chop the dill and add it, along with 250 ml of sour cream, and 1 tsp of lemon juice to the jar of your blender. Blend to combine into a thick dip/sauce.

This is what the blended dill dip/sauce will look like:

(Refrigerate this dip/sauce for 30 minutes. This will firm back up and give the dill flavour time to intensify.)

  • Peel the cucumber and slice it into rounds.
  • Dice the peppers and onions.
  • Then, slice the strawberries and finely chop the fresh oregano and the basil.

  • Cut the cantaloupe into cubes and tear the prosciutto into small bands that will wrap around the cubes of cantaloupe.

  • Wrap the prosciutto around the cantaloupe and display on serving platter.

  •  Cut the tomatoes in half and scoop all the seeds and liquid jelly out of them. This will leave tomato shells, and we will be using them as little bowls. Turn them upside down on a paper towel, to let any extra juice drain out.  

  • Place the tomato shells on their serving platters and start filling them.

In the first 7 shells, put 2 small diced pieces of cucumber, 1 small piece of orange and yellow pepper, 1 small piece of olive and onion and 3 small pieces of shredded oregano. Top with a small amount of crumbled feta cheese.

  • In the 2nd set of 7 tomato shells, add 1 small piece of Water Buffalo pepperette, some finely grated caciocavallo cheese and 2-3 tiny pieces of chopped fresh basil.

  • Sprinkle a pinch of pink Himalayan salt over all the filled tomato shells.

  • Spread each cucumber round with the sour cream dill sauce/dip.
  • Place a small square of Water Buffalo summer sausage on top of the dill sauce.
  • Place a small slice of strawberry on top of the summer sausage and finish by adding a drop of Balsamic vinegar on top of the strawberry.

  • Place a selections of olives on a serving platter. In this photo, the Italian olives are the larger green ones at the top, the Kalamata olives are from Greece and they are the black ones. Lastly, the smaller green olives are from Spain.

Salute! Ole! Opa! Bon Appetit!

A big thank you is extended to Lori Smith and Martin Littkemann who were kind enough to take me on a tour of their Water Buffalo farm and for helping me to select just the right Water Buffalo cheeses and meats for these Italian inspired hor d'oeuvres.

I also want to thank our guest judge: @surfermarly and our host @woman-onthe-wing.

As well as: @oaldamster, @vegascomic, @smooth and @sirwinchester.

I welcome your comments and invite you to join me at my table...there is always room for one more. ;)

~ Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

When you post your food preparations and recipes, you really post them! What an amazing tasty bite, an excellent recipe/how-to, and a great entry for this round!

Well Done @rebeccaryan!

Thanks @papa-pepper! I love good food, knowing where my food comes from and by whose hand it was grown, (if not my own).
Thanks for commenting!

You're welcome! Way to steemit!

Wow, that looks really good and very professional! ⭐Great entry!⭐
Learning for today: don´t read food posts after dinner. I just got hungry again. Damn! :D
Thank you, that was a really nice interpretation of the theme!

Thank you @surfermarly! I just visited Cadiz, in Spain not too long ago. I became a tapas and olive aficionado and ate my way across 3 cities in the process. (No joke, I think I personally ate 200 olives.)
I happen to love Mediterranean food, so I enthusiastically road the top of the wave with the theme you chose. Thanks for taking a minute to comment. ;)

Yeah, there was no doubt about the fact that you really enjoyed this theme! Haha, I can totally relate. Olives are put on the table wherever a table is :D Glad you enjoyed your trip to Spain.

You and your wine hehe! But totally necessary, of course ;-)

Well Rebecca, I am truly impressed! What a fab selection of ingredients and resulting assortment of fine looking hor d'oeuvres. I would indeed join your table for this feast! And I think it's wonderful the lengths you went to to gather these ingredients :-) Good luck to you!

Thank you @woman-onthe-wing! You really are welcome at my table anytime...
It was a fun adventure for this challenge. So cool to be able to buy right from local farmers in my area!
We call that "farm-gate" shopping, in my neck of the woods. :)

Wish we had that here! Even the local fruit & veg market is mainly imported produce, which is crazy for the Irish countryside right?!!!

Yes, that is crazy! Do you put in your own garden?

My husband is putting up a polytunnel so we can grow veg... We have so much stormy weather a tunnel is needed! So hopefully we'll be growing our own stuff very soon :-)

That sounds really neat! You definitely need to write a blog about that.
Are you going to dig it down? Some people dig 3-4 feet down into the earth and then put their hoop house over top. Like a kale house, it's suppose to extend your growing season, past the time of first frost.

I'm not entirely sure what my husband has planned... He did recently buy a new spade so surely that means it's for some digging! hehe. He is the one with the green fingers, though I intend to learn as I'm going to teach my son as he grows up, so we can both learn together!

What great skills to teach your son! I think that's a fabulous plan.

They all look delightfully delish! The Wine too! ;-)

Thanks so much for commenting @sunscape!
I figured, it wasn't complete without some fermented grapes to accompany the food. ;)

Congratulations @rebeccaryan! Always making something spectacular for us!

Hi Rebecca, I have just become aware you haven't received your prize steem. Apologies for that... I am waiting to hear back from @sirwinchester. @patelincho didn't receive the last prize from him either, so I'm not sure what's going on. Perhaps he doesn't want to sponsor anymore, but I'd like to know either way, so when I find out then I'll get back to you about it!

Thank you @woman-onthe-wing! I have had issues receiving prize payments in the past and usually have to email. I haven't emailed yet, on SCC#21 and will wait to hear back from you. I just figured that everyone gets so busy, that it becomes super easy to forget.

I'm not sure... I haven't had a response to any of my messages since I took over hosting, which seems odd as I always had replies when I used to thank him for my prizes. Perhaps he no longer wishes to sponsor, which is fine, if only I knew one way or the other! At least Smooth is keeping in touch and paying everyone :-)

That is weird....I'll give it until Wednesday and send an email too.

Still no reply, sorry about this

No worries @woman-onthe-wing. Thanks for keeping me in the loop. Maybe he's away or traveling. Is there someone else still waiting too? (I'm ok with what ever happens. ) ;)

Congrats on 4th place, just an amazing food post, simply awesome!

Thanks so much @gringalicious! That means a lot to me. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48