Cauliflower Porridge - How a Raw Veggie Becomes a Delicious Treat! (Raw+Vegan)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

(Scroll down for German)

Porridge always reminds me of cold winter days in front of a fireplace, the smell of cinnamon in the air, watching the snow fall silently outside. About a year back I enjoyed a rich oatmeal each morning with lots of fruits and plant based milk on top. Since I love my smoothies so much now, I wouldn’t change a thing. But while I was sipping my icecold smoothie a week back, covered with a big scarf and a warm winter hat to fight the uncomfortable cold in Germany, it got me thinking - there must be a great raw veggie version of the good old porridge…

IMG_8887

My recent experiments with raw cauliflower didn’t stop with the rice alternative, that I’ve posted some days ago. This porridge recipe is even better and can in my opinion easily be mistaken for the traditional version. For your own cauliflower porridge, just blend the following ingredients with your hand blender:

  • 2 cups grated cauliflower
  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup plant-based milk
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

No matter if right now a hot  summer makes you break out in sweat or if you’d like to flee from a freezing winter in your country - adapt your raw porridge accordingly with fresh fruits and some lemon juice or instead some warming spices like nutmeg, cardamom, cloves, cinnamon and apples. 

So if you have a hard time to keep up your New Year’s resolutions to definitely eat more veggies this year, you can easily trick yourself with this cauliflower porridge. It might be also a great recipe for children that surprisingly don’t favor their veggies over the deeply desired dessert. You know someone like that? Grab some cauliflower at your next food haul and create your own raw porridge creation :)

—-

Haferbrei erinnert mich immer an kalte Wintertage vor dem Kamin, der Geruch von Zimt liegt in der Luft, ich sehe zu wie draußen der Schnee lautlos zur Erde gleitet. Vor etwa einem Jahr habe ich morgens immer ein reichhaltiges Müsli gegessen, mit vielen Früchten und pflanzlicher Milch. Da ich nun aber meine Smoothies so sehr liebe, würde ich an dieser morgendlichen Mahlzeit absolut nichts ändern. Als ich jedoch vor einer Woche meinen eiskalten Smoothie vor mich hinschlürfte, eingepackt mit einem dicken Schal und einer warmen Mütze, um die unangenehme Kälte in Deutschland zu bekämpfen, bin ich ins Grübeln gekommen - es muss doch sicherlich eine tolle rohe Gemüse-Alternative zum guten alten Haferbrei geben…

Ich habe zurzeit ein wenig mit Blumenkohl experimentiert, wie der Reisalternative, die ich vor ein paar Tagen gepostet habe. Dieser Haferbrei gefällt mir sogar noch besser und kann meiner Meinung nach leicht mit der traditionellen Version verwechselt werden. Für deinen eigenen Blumenkohl-Haferbrei, püriere einfach die folgenden Zutaten mit deinem Stabmixer:

  • 2 Tassen kleingeschnittener Blumenkohl
  • 1 Banane
  • 1 Tasse pflanzliche Milch
  • 1/2 Tasse Rosinen
  • 1 EL Erdnussmus
  • 1 TL Zimt

Ganz egal ob dir gerade ein heißer Sommer den Schweiß auf die Stirn treibt oder du am liebsten vor einem eiskalten Winter fliehen würdest - passe dein rohen Haferbrei mit frischen Früchten und Zitronensaft oder aber warmen Gewürzen wie Zimt, Nelken, Muskatnuss, Kardamom und Äpfeln an. 

Falls du also damit kämpft, deinen Neujahrsvorsatz einzuhalten, dieses Jahr definitiv mehr Gemüse zu essen, kannst du deinen inneren Schweinehund mit diesem Blumenkohl-Haferbrei leicht überlisten. Es ist bestimmt auch ein tolles Rezept für Kinder, die erstaunlicherweise ihr Gemüse nicht dem zutiefst ersehnten Dessert vorziehen würden. Du kennst so jemanden? Schnapp dir bei deinem nächsten Einkauf etwas Blumenkohl und zaubere deine eigene rohe Haferbrei-Kreation :)

---

( This post is taking part in Steemit 'Fruits and Veggies Monday Competition' from @lenasveganliving .) 

Sort:  

I look at this photo and it looks incredibly delicious and I bet it also is. But at this moment my imagination puts a spoke in the wheel. Still. Though the combination with the sweet fruits still seem different to me. I love cauliflower - even raw! I guess I have to try out this combination to get convinced completely. I think I would like it slightly warmed up - that's what I love about my oats: they not only contain these warm spices but also bring this warm texture with them. Do you think this would be an option to make it more convenient for me? How warm would still count as raw? 🙈
Beautiful and inspiring entry! Tipuvote! 😘

Thank you so much for your nice words ☺️ I can imagine that cauliflower isn’t the first thing that’s comes into mind when thinking about a new porridge version 😄 But you have to try it, I myself was surprised by the delicious result 😁 If you keep it below 46 degrees Celsius it is still considered raw and you get a full load of nutrients 😉 So if you prefer it a little warm, don‘t let the raw thing stand in your way! Thank you so much for the upvote and tip 🙏🏻

Another interesting recipe. Cauliflower is such a versatile veggie. Steem on!

So true, I am eager to see what potential lies behind all the other veggies, some even still unknown to myself. Since I am recently traveling through Thailand, I seem to come across a new fruit or veggie each day, life as a raw foodie is truly an adventure here 😊

Hehe. I hear you. 3.5 years ago when we moved to SE-Asia I didn't recognize a thing in the markets. Such much yummy things to discover. How long are you staying in Thailand?

Yes, it is amazing! We will stay in Thailand approximately until end of March, probabaly staying in Chiang Mai the last weeks since we are attending a Thai wedding there ☺️ Where are you living? Must be paradise for all fruit lovers to live in such a tropical climate 😉

Next door in Cambodia... small coastal town called Kep. It sure feels like paradise ;)

Wow, Cambodia should be so beautiful. We will surely travel around the country in a few months 😁

Def let me know. If you don't make it to Kep maybe we can meet somewhere else or at least I can give you some tips. Have lived for 1.5 years in Siem Reap (where Angkor temples are) and Kampot also 1.5 years. Happy travels ;)

That would be awesome! I am always curious to meet like-minded people around the world 😉

Super delicious recipe Dear @rawadventuress and the cauliflower is a very creative idaea.
Although, there is also a raw oats or even better sprouted raw oats option. They just have to be soaked overnight. Thank you so much my Dear for another fabulous entry 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

You are so right, oats can indeed be raw and sprouted oats are a wonderful idea, I have not yet tried that one ☺️ Thanks for the great comment 🙏🏻

Oh my gosh! So mine isn't raw, but I totally mixed in some riced cauliflower with my steel cut oats for this week! I love sneaking in veggies everywhere. I'll have to try your variation, as well! :)

Oh yes, it became quite a challenge of mine to let some veggies conquer traditional recipes and by that create something healthier - such a rewarding and fun experiment! ☺️

I'm glad you share the successful experiments with us! Very neat to see such creations. 😁

My pleasure ☺️

The food looks yummy👍🍲

Thank you so much! By the way, I really like the Zig Ziglar quote in your account description - this can be applied to so many areas of life!

I just love to see a good recipe! Me, I'm the kind of person that really want to REAL taste of food! Thank you for posting it. Here is one of my own recipe: https://steemit.com/eatphotography/@meonline/full-hd-cooking-a-ravioli-with-a-nice-herbal-filling-step-by-step-picture-instructions
DQmWPp66S2FjLMtjQcbMuyacG3XFMVKMv9zCTkUVDHeXswh.png

Kindly let me know what you think of it!
I will follow you for MORE :)

Thank you so much for your nice comment! Just like you, I am also crazy about delicious food :D Over the last years I've experienced that veggies naturally have such a distinctive and great taste, my taste buds were just totally used to processed foods so that they were not sensitive enough to these different flavors. So eating more natural foods especially in their raw state made me discover a whole new world of real taste :)

Your ravioli picture looks great! I noted that your recipe includes some dairy ingredients. I am always eager to experiment with more traditional recipes and adapt them to my desire for a more compassionate nutrition that best fits our ethical principles, our environmental needs as well as our health and wellbeing. Did you know that the dairy industry is responsible for the unnecessary suffering of over 260 million cows worldwide?

This short YouTube video has gained wide popularity for showing the mostly unknown side of our milk and cheese consumption. It might give you some further inside into this issue:

This short video is very popular on YouTube for showing a rather unknown side of our milk and cheese consumption:


Furthermore there is a fantastic documentary called Cowspiracy, supported by Leonardo Di Caprio and currently streaming on Netflix, that shows the hidden truth about how our animal products are strongly linked to many environmental problems we are facing today:

wow the insides you posted are mind blowing! sadly, we're living in a world of mass production that applies also in the food industry...thus the poor animals are treated like machines or even worst... the video is very hard to watch.

I myself am trying to be as vegan as possible (but not yet 100%)

Thank for the recipes - upvoted you :)

Thx!,
Adrian
a0.png

So true, mass production makes the problems even worse. I am happy to see that so many people are becoming aware of the animals‘ suffering and change their diet accordingly. Each plant-based meal goes into the right direction - it‘s great to hear that you are on such a journey yourself 😉

I love Erin Janus and this video is amazing! Unfortunately she seems not to video blog anymore! Or do you know more?

Yes, her videos can reach such a broad audience - fantastic support for all the suffering animals out there! That would be unfortunate, I don‘t have any information about that...

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 09:55:24
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 155.30/200.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.37 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow, wow, wow! I can not believe what a cauliflower can do! I have to try your recipe ;)

I myself was positively surprised by the delicious outcome! 😄 I am excited to hear how your version turned out 😉

I eat porridge every day, but never have I thought about adding some cauliflower to it. I have to give it a try! :)

Great, if you eat it daily I can imagine you like to mix it up a little - I am curious to hear the opinion of a porridge expert like you 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65556.02
ETH 2660.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91