Dining Out - Sushi07

in #food7 years ago

Sushi07

Sushi07 - Train Overview.jpg
I was kind of near the 'start' of the conveyor belt in my seat, with about 2 or 3 seats to my right before the kitchen wall

Regardless of what you call them, Sushi-go-round, Sushi Train, Conveyor Sushi, Kaiten Sushi, or any other name you and your friends have for it, it's a fun way of experiencing sushi, with often a much wider range than you could afford from a take away sushi joint, and cheaper than a Japanese restaurant that you can order similar plates in.

It also provides you with a great visual as the ready to eat plates glide past you, tempting you to try them.

Sushi07 - Plates going by.jpg
Left is an inside out roll with temura prawn in it. Right is another inside out roll (Teriyaki Beef maybe?), and all just an arms reach away...

This place isn't as cheap as the place I go to in the city (Sushi Rio, link in the past posts), but that's because I'm there when they have a special. Like many places, this has the prices clearly displayed on the wall by hanging an example of the coloured plate with the price stuck onto it.

Sushi07 - Plate cost display.jpg
Can easily have 3 or 4 plates for about $10-$15, but could also spend quite a bit...

Because I was there to burn some time before my doctors appointment, I ordered off their menu as well, getting a plate of Chicken Kaarage, which they cook up fresh for you. (along with any other of their hot dishes found in their menu - there may be more options that that menu shows, but they lack their own website. When they brought it out, they asked if I wanted some mayonnaise to go with it, and brought over a little dish (like the soy sauce dishes) with a sizeable pile of kewpie mayo in it. I wish I'd ordered this first!

Sushi07 - Kaarage Chicken.jpg
The pieces were large, but quite tasty. The crust wasn't as crunchy as I think it should be

Before that, I'd had 3 plates of various sushi, mostly my ongoing favourites thanks to my issues with avocado preventing me from being too wild in my choices. So many things just have 'oh and we'll put a bit of avocado in there too...'. I could order them to make it up without, but that kind of breaks the reason for being at a train, so I tend not to. Salmon Nigiri, Mini Tuna Rolls, and another plate were all good choices that I failed at taking photos of.

I did manage to take a photo of my regular final plate. The wonderfully filling Inari. This time around, just a plain one, but some places will have them with some flavouring in the top of the fold over section.

Sushi07 - Inari.jpg
One of the simplest sushi items. Rice inside deep fried tofu pockets. I like dipping it into soy sauce

One of the good things I also enjoy when I'm at a sushi-go-round is watching the chef. Because of the usual structure of the train, they are often located in the middle, with everyone facing them allowing a clear view (depending on your seat position) of them preparing various types of sushi. While I was there this time I got to watch preparation of a few different types of nigiri style sushi, as well as a few different rolls.

Sushi07 - Chef preping Salmon.jpg

Previous Dining Out Posts

Longrain
Gang Thai, Bar Ume
Little Momo, Two Tales Cafe, The Pie Tin
Bay Italia, One Tea Grill, King of Kebabs
The Hatter & The Hare
Eurobay, Arisun, Big John's, Bondi Pizza
Last Bus, Chat Thai, Rocksia Hotel, Ichiban Boshi
Alphabet St, 360 Italian, Mary's, Sushi Rio
Olive Tree Kafe & Bar

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png

Sort:  

Sushi is definitely a guilty pleasure of mine. Haven't had some in over a year and need to correct this ASAP. Hope the food was as good as it looks.

Wow. A year? You must feel way more guilty about having this delicious and not too bad for you food than I do. I can't last a month without at least some!

I really want to take the sprogs to one of these but with how much they eat and how much they love sushi it seems like a really dangerous idea XD

goatsig

In Perth there are at least a couple of all you can eat ones. Jaws in the city used to, not sure if it still does. and there's one at Morley that I know still does

Great post. I like sushi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60252.67
ETH 2426.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44