My personal best street foods in my country...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Hello my dear Steemit friends!

It's a real pleasure for me to have you guys reading these words today! Surely many of you have already read my blogs several times before and maybe some of you for the first time! I just would like to say thank you a lot for being here and giving me so much support!

The whole day today, I have been thinking about a specific food subject... STREET FOODS!
Personally for me Street Foods Experience is a must if I am visiting any country of the world! I may cook and plate star michelin quality food in my professional career but the biggest pleasure I get in foods are infact in street foods!

S1.jpg

I have always been a street food lover and most of my culinary inspirations come from there! The experience is unique each time I decide to let myself go!

You guessed it right, today I am going to share with you some of the street foods of my country and especially my favorite ones!

Actually Mauritian Street Food is well known
and is ranked in the cnn top 23 best cities street food in the world!

S3.jpg

Dholl Puri

If Mauritius had a national dish , Dholl Puri would certainly be the one! They are like small stuffed pharatas with dholl and filled with curried butter beans, tomato sauce and pickles! Add some chili for a better taste!

S17.jpg

This is a Dholl Puri vendor preparing the filling!

S2.jpg

Di Pain Frire

This one is stale bread cut in thin slice, dipped in a beignet paste and deep fried! Simple and very delicious when you eat it with a hot chutney! I still remember buying this when I was still very young, wow beautiful memories!

S13.jpg

Pistache Bouillie

You certainly recognize this one! These are peanuts which are boiled in a salty water and eaten on the spot while still warm! The pleasure is not only the taste but also when you peel them!

S14.jpg

Chicken Kebab

Most of you will know this worlwide known street food but Mauritians have also their version of kebabs or shawarma if you wish! The chicken is marinated usually in a special tandoori and mint marinade then grilled live infront of you!
Thin slices are cut and mixed with various salads and pineapple before being stuffed in a crispy baguette!
Add some mayo, ketchup and chili on top, you have an unforgettable taste!

S6.jpg

Gateau Piment

This is one of the most famous snacks in Mauritius! Named gateau piment in our local language, it is also known as Chili bites! It is not as spicy as the name may let you guess, made with crushed soaked dholl, herbs and chili, these fritters are super crispy on the outside and soft inside!

S18.jpg

A street vendor frying Chili Bites and another snack on the road

S11.jpg

Boulettes

Originated from the chinese culture present in Mauritius, these are dumplings of different flavors which are cooked in a steamer! I prefer the vegetarian one with the smoking hot broth and chives! On a cold afternoon, this is my perfect street food!

S9.jpg

Halim

One of the most famous soup on the island, Halim is composed of various dholls and lentils! You can have the veg option or the lamb and beef options too! The spice mix used is just so delicious! Usually eaten with bread slice!

S12.jpg

A nice selection of Mauritian Street Food

S19.jpg

Glaçon Raper

How can we enjoy street foods without something sweet! Well this is our traditional crushed ice with different syrup! Sweet, simple and so enjoyable! The magic is in the syrup actually, you can have flavors of mango, strawberry, tamarind or almond!

S20.jpg

Glaçon Raper vendor in his artistic move

S15.jpg

Alouda

This is a very refreshing sweet drink made with milk, condensed milk, chia seeds, jelly and strawberry or almond syrup! Many people actually name it our national drink! It is indeed very tasty!

S16.jpg

The most famous Alouda seller in Mauritius

S7.jpg

Fruits Confit

Ending up my list of best street food is an item loved by all Mauritians! In Mauritius, we normally love adding salt and chili on our fruits! The fruits are preserved in a vinegar based liquid and most of the time it is not yet ripened fruits that are used! The most famous fruits confit are pineapple , mangoes and cucumber too!

S4.jpg

Fruits confit seller in Mauritius

So here we are guys, my personal best street foods in my country! I hope you really enjoyed the journey along with me!

How you find the Mauritian Street Foods?

By following me you will discover more of such amazing dishes!

Please do comment below about your views!

Should you like the post, kindly upvote and resteem!

Till the next one!

@progressivechef

Image Credit : #1 #2 #3 #4 #5 #6 #7 #8 #9 #10 #11 #12 #13 #14 #15 #16 #17

Sort:  

So interesting, I've never heard of many of these dishes before. I'd love to visit mauritius and try them!
Have you heard that mauritius will soon become "Ethereum island", a new hub for crypto firms?
exciting times!

Hello @sirwinchester! I've made quite some research on it and effectively the project is ON actually! I made a post on it, you can check it out for more info! Looking very exciting indeed!
Thanks for letting me know abt it!
https://steemit.com/blockchain/@progressivechef/first-ethereum-island-in-the-world-mauritius-may-soon-be-one

Thanks for checking my post and appreciating @sirwinchester! It is really so nice to have you here!
Yes I did found a post on this, but really I did not dig too much into it! If you have some more infos to share that would be great!
I know Mauritius is actually gearing towards being a hub of excellence in the region in the near future and i think cryptos will form part of this too!
Looking forward to read from you sir!
Cheers
@progressivechef

I love love LOVE street foods too!! You get some of the yummiest bites and stew in the local culture for a modest $$ amount :))

It seems like Mauritius uses a fair bit of legumes in their local cuisine..those aren't necessarily my favourite, but I'm willing to try simply because they are street food and they look so yummy...I especially would like to try gateau piment! oolala :)

You are absolutely right @foodie.warrior about the price!
No we do have a lot of meat dishes too, but the one listed are actually my personal favorite ones!
Gateau piment in a bread with melted butter and cheese is just magical!

hehe you seem to enjoy a lot of beans and grains then :) That sounds awesome..lots of my favourite ingredients...butter, cheese, bread, and some chilli :) yumm

That looks great. I'd like some chicken kebab and an Alouda drink please.

Hahaha! You'll be served shortly @bodyinbeta!
Thanks for the compliment!
Cheers
@progressivechef

This post has received a 2.61 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @progressivechef.

Delicious - appreciate the opportunity to check out your local food scene!

Thanks for stopping by and appreciating @steemit-foodie!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by progressivechef from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Hello @progressivechef

You have succeeded In raising my appetite this morning, Street food is very popular in my area, they have their special taste.

Nice One. Followed You.

@ogochukwu

What a pleasure to read such a compliment @ogochukwu! I would really like to see some of your country best ones!
Followed you too!
Thank you again!
@progressivechef

You must stop haha Street foods are some of the simplest most delightful foods one can find anywhere. While traveling if we want to get to know the culture better, see which stand has the most people around it :)
Enjoyable post as always!

Exactly @artedellavita! The real experience of a country is found in it's street food!
Glad that you like it!
Thanks for the visit!
@progressivechef

Nice post man! I love street food, it is a form of art :) cheers from #M2W

Thanks a lot man! Street food are just amazing! I'm sure you are a great lover too!
Cheers
@progressivechef #M2W

My favourite is the Chicken Kebab.

Oh yes chicken kebab is just so delicious, but it's a fact that in each country I went, they all ahve different version of it! But all very good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61