Brunch on Chinese New Year’s Eve 農曆新年前夕的早午餐

in #food6 years ago

We are on final approach to Chinese New Year and I am so excited about it (I am terribly sorry that I am not doing a long post today). This is the biggest and important festival to the Chinese community around the world. I still had some grocery shopping to do this noon (buying rice and oil at the supermarket and then filling up the rice pot and oil bottle to the maximum at home. Doing this is in keeping with one important folk meaning that we will have happy lives without worrying too much about livelihoods in the coming year), so I headed down to the supermarket. Before that, I had my brunch at a Taiwanese eatery specalised in Xiao Long Bao, located just 1 street across the supermarket.

我們正在接近農曆新年,我感到非常興奮(非常抱歉今天不能寫太長)。農曆新年是世界各地華人社區裡最重要的節日。今天我中午還有一些去超市購買米和油,然後最大限度地將填滿米罐和油瓶裝滿),這樣做有民間的寓意,我們會過上幸福的生活而不用擔心太多關於來年的生計。在那之前,我在一家位於超市一條街旁的餐廳中吃了台灣式早午餐。
我们正在接近农历新年,我感到非常兴奋(非常抱歉今天不能写太长)。农历新年是世界各地华人社区里最重要的节日。今天我中午还有一些去超市购买米和油,然后最大限度地将填满米罐和油瓶装满),这样做有民间的寓意,我们会过上幸福的生活而不用担心太多关于来年的生计。在那之前,我在一家位于超市一条街旁的餐厅中吃了台湾式早午餐。

I was seated by the window and had a street view. Appetisers were chilled and springy ham jelly; black fugus dressed in vinegar and sesame oil sauce; shredded radish and jellyfish and shredded bean curd, seaweed and bean sprout. Main dishes were xiao Long Bao was wrapped in a thin dough sheet with some broth and minced pork in it and wok-fried rice with pork chop.

我坐在窗邊,可以看到街景。 小吃是冷凍和鬆軟的豬肉果凍丶蘿蔔絲及海蜇絲丶及豆腐絲海藻和豆芽。主菜是小龍包裹裡面放了一些肉湯,豬肉和豬排炒飯。
我坐在窗边,可以看到街景。 小吃是冷冻和松软的猪肉果冻丶萝卜丝及海蜇丝丶及豆腐丝海藻和豆芽。主菜是小龙包裹里面放了一些肉汤,猪肉和猪排炒饭。

Screen Shot 2018-02-15 at 3.59.00 pm.png
Appetisers

Screen Shot 2018-02-15 at 4.00.08 pm.png

Screen Shot 2018-02-15 at 3.58.46 pm.png
Shredded bean curd, seaweed and bean sprout

Screen Shot 2018-02-15 at 4.19.48 pm.png
Black fungus

Screen Shot 2018-02-15 at 3.59.56 pm.png
Ham jelly

Screen Shot 2018-02-15 at 3.59.40 pm.png
Wok-fried rice with pork chop

Screen Shot 2018-02-15 at 3.59.26 pm.png
Xiao long bao

I have to be going now. May I wish everyone a fabulous Chinese New Year!

祝大家有一個美好的農曆新年!
祝大家有一个美好的农历新年!

Photos and content - original.

Sort:  

I actually love Chinese food. When I was living in U.S. I was a regular customer. I bet the authentic one taste even better. Maybe when I visit one day I will give it a try. :)

No worries about a "short" post. We all get busy sometimes. And, it is good to take a break sometimes. :)

Happy Chinese New Year, my friend. Have some amazing time. :)

If you happen to be in Hong Kong, I will take you on a food tour around town, on me. :-)

Happy Chinese New Year to you too.

I am storing this message on my computer. You better have deep pockets because I am 6"7 or 201cm and I can eat a lot. lol jk :)

My plan is to travel the world. So you never know when I might send you a message. "Hey, I am hungry... Remember you promised me a food tour of Hong Kong?" hehe :)

My pleasure to have you visit Hong Kong. no worries, I'll write more on stemmit and hope I'll get enough $ for your visit. If not enough, I still have my credit cards with me.

With your 6"7, you'll be a superstar here where most like people like me around 6".

@prch, 看到你的帖子,真是我的幸运啊!太棒了!

你的到到來是我的榮幸

女友呢?

You just made me hungry and it's 9:47 AM here.
:sadface:

Sorry about this, mind if i make you breakfast? :-)

It's ok i had something right after writing ahah, now am ready for the main dish bring it on! ;)

Care for some Chinese dishes? Sweet and sour pork, bbq pork, shrimp dumplings and spring rolls are easy to start with. :-)

Have a wonderful Chinese New Year.

i hope they're not selling you cats instead tho xD

新年快乐!请接受cn区点赞机器人 @cnbuddy 对你作为cn区一员的感谢。倘若你不喜欢我的留言,请回复“取消”。

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.26
Server time: 09:45:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 173.25/200.00
Total Photos: 28
Total comments: 15
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.31 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Oh wow, this is so different from what i had. Happy chinese new year! 狗年大运!

祝你事事順心如意 出入平安 steemit 掙大錢。

Happy Chinese New Year to you!
Chinese is my all time favorite cuisine! Of course, I'm not sure if I've even had authentic Chinese food. It's either been Indo-Chinese or an American version of Chinese food. But I love it! How is Xiao long bao different from dumplings?

Think of dumplings as burgers, you have beef, fish or vegan burgers.

A dumpling must have some fillings (beef, pork, lamb, fish, shrimps or vegan) that is wrapped in a dough sheet.

Xiao long bao is a specific type of dumpling with minced pork cooked in a steamer but you can also have steamed dumplings with other fillings, say "HAR GOWs" steamed shrimp dumplings or dumplings in soup (minced pork with chopped chives in broth) .

Happy New Year!

Same to you too:-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by prch from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65