Vegan French Toast - Veganuary Inspiration

in #food7 years ago

Happy weekend, lovely steemians :)
I know, it's been a while, but I just recently started working a new full-time job and that doesn't exactly leave time for much else. But it's Sunday and I found some free time to post at least one more recipe in January 😄 #veganuary

RECIPE INSPO #2

French toast is another breakfast classic and favorite of mine. It’s kinda like a pancake, yet it isn’t – and so very delicious in its own way. I have to admit, though, I’ve never actually tried the “real thing” and only know the vegan version, but I was hooked from the start. It won my breakfast-food-loving heart over in no time and I’ve been having it on a regular basis ever since.

1490544157380.jpg

I prefer to prepare mine in the oven as it doesn’t require me standing next to the stove while waiting for each one to be done. Yep, I’m all about convenience ;-P
But, of course, feel free to cook them on medium heat in a pan if you like ^^

Vegan French Toast

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

  • 4-6 slices of bread
  • 1 cup (240ml) soy milk (other milk alternatives work as well)
  • 1/4 cup (25g) chickpea flour
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 1 tbsp coconut sugar (or sweetener of choice)
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast (optional)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • pinch of salt (I like to use kala namak – for a slight “eggy” flavor)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 200°C (400°F).
Whisk or blend all the ingredients for the batter together.
Soak bread slices in the mixture (both sides) and transfer to a lined baking tray.
Bake for 20 min., flip and bake another 5-10min.
Serve with fresh fruit and maple syrup.

Enjoy!

If you like the recipe, feel free to FOLLOW, UPVOTE & RESTEEM 💚

Sort:  

First off, let me say that you can serve those to me any day of the week! Those look delicious! Now I have never made a vegan french toast, but I'm willing to try.
It's actually been a few years since I've had a french toast breakfast. Way before my decision to go with a plant based diet. The goal this year is to go more vegan. So this post is a sign!! I really would like to come out of 2018 even healthier than I did in 2017. Cooking is one of my many passions and I would love to expand my skills.
I've upvoted and followed! I look forward to more recipes.

Looks appetizing)

I've been looking for a good vegan French toast recipe for a while now and looks like I finally found one! :)

Congratulations @plantyjourney! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @plantyjourney! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63223.35
ETH 2688.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55