Travelling around Mexico as a Plant-Based Diabetic

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I often recieve the question: what the hell can you eat in Mexico as a plant-based diabetic?

Well, my answer is simple: look at these pictures!

image

image

image

Mexicans are well known for eating a lot of meat, which is 100% true, but despite of that, this is the place where I went vegan. So nothing is impossible. In fact, I can't imagine a better place to be as a vegan. Especially during winter time, because in Hungary, we have very limited types of fruits and veggies in winter, and you also crave for heavier, cooked meals in cold weather. But here in Mexico, the weather is nice and warm, plus there are so many wonderful, juicy topical fruits which make me really happy.

When I go to the local's market, I feel like being in Heaven. I've just realized, that fruits and veggies markets make me much more excited lately, than any fashion stores 😅

image

image

I've lived in Playa del Carmen in Mexico for a year and I've just started travelling all over Mexico. As a vegan diabetic, it truly can be hard to find restaurants where I can eat something that fits in my Low-Fat, Plant-Based, Wholefood Diet, so guess what is the first thing for me to do when I arrive to a new place? I go to the local's market immediately. I stock up on fruits and veggies and I'm all set. This way, I definitely won't ruin my diet, plus those are my favourite attractions anyways 😄

Have you ever seen chickpeas in their original form?
image

Cactus is one of my favourite veggies in Mexico
image

*And cactus fruit is one of my favourite fruits :)
image

When I'm craving for snacks, I go for some roasted habas (kind of beans) or chickpeas flavoured with chili and lime, instead of chips
image

Look at these breakfast plates. Aren't they mouth watering?
Mango and banana
image

Mango and jícama
image

I had a BBQ dinner with friends the other day. I bought some veggies and grilled them. Do I look sad being a vegan?

Cactus, onion, carrot, tomato, broccoli, zucchini
image

image

And you can always reproduce the traditional Mexican dishes in a healthy, plant-based version.
Corn tortillas with beans and homemade garlic-tomato sauce.
image

Oil-free black bean dip with veggie sticks instead of refried beans with meat.
image

Following a Low-Fat, Plant-Based, Wholefood diet is the best thing that has ever happened to me. I feel healthier than ever, I have more energy than ever before, I achieved my ideal weight I've always dreamed of, and last but not least, I don't harm any animals with it.

This is my entry to #veganwednesday contest held by @heart-to-heart.

Sort:  

Amazing entry for #veganwednesday @plantbasedmiri :) It's so funny, I am the same way! I go straight to the farmer's market as well! But it's no secret that food is my life so it's very often that I'm buying fruits and veggies like this! I love seeing the Mexican selection! I used to live in Belize and Mexico was so close I was there A LOT haha I love their huge assortment! So happy you get to have such a wide variety to make your tummy super happy! XO

Thank you very much my Dear :) I haven't been to Belize yet, but I definitely wanna go there sometime.

You are so close! Take the overnight bus and go for a bit! It's gorgeous :)

You are so right @plantbasedmiri it looks like a heaven and I am sure the prices are way lower then here in Canada too, lol. Although we get most of our produce from Mexico during the wintertime, the prices are for sure much higher. And I never saw pile of strawberries like that here, oh my gosh!!!

Anyway, I really enjoyed reading about your experience and I am very happy for you my Dear 🍓❤🍓

Thank you so much for your kind words Lena :) Ohh yes, the prices are unbelievable... Especially here, in San Miguel and Guanajuato, where there are mostly only locals, no expats and tourists, everything is soo cheap. This is real Heaven :D

fresh fruit and many vitamins, thanks for sharing the fruit of friends, you always give a very useful look. @Plantbasedmiri

Oau, such a good article. Yes, thank you for a very interesting post. Keep up the good work. :)

Thank you very much, I'm glad you liked it :)

That's fantastic! What colours the fruit & veg have at the markets. This is inspiring me to do better with my diet. Thanks for sharing :-)

You are very welcome, I'm glad you got some inspiration towards a healthier diet :)

Are you type 1 or 2 ? And these were great pictures I with I had that kind of veriety where I live in my food desert in America LOL :)

I'm type 1 diabetic. Haha yes, I know how it is in the U.S....

Sorry to hear :( has going vegan affected it at all? I have heard many use less insulin.

Hello friend, I love those markets because of the variety and the beauties that have everything is very fresh, but in my city there is not one similar, I am glad that you can enjoy them I love the photos everything looks beautiful.

Oh I would love to join you there in Mexiko! Sounds and looks like a dream to me! All that fresh fruit!! And these strawberries are a piece of art;) Thanks for sharing sweetheart!

Thank you so much for your kind words my Dear :) Well, if you ever happen to come to Mexico, let me know, you have a space here ;)

My God, how beautiful those fruits and vegetables look, they look really beautiful, they show the freshness, besides they are of very good quality, it is noticeable when cut, the strawberries that caught my attention are big and beautiful and I love those colors

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76