Fruits and Veggies Monday: How to stick to your plant-based diet while travelling?

in #food6 years ago

How can you stick to your plant-based diet when you are away from home?

1cxxka80eq.jpg

I've lived in Playa del Carmen in Mexico for a year, but I felt like it's time to see other places in this beautiful country, too, so I've just started travelling all over Mexico.

Tasting the traditional food is part of my travels, but as a vegan diabetic, it can be tricky sometimes. I follow a Low-Fat, Plant-Based, Wholefood Diet, and I always stick to it, no matter what, otherwise my blood glucose level rises. Although Mexico is well known for it's fatty meat dishes, I can always find something that I can eat. Last week I tasted a lot of different kind of traditional meals prepared in a low-fat, plant-based, wholefood version.

Let me share with you what I ate during the last week that fits into my diet, but is traditional Mexican food at the same time.

Corn tortillas with cactus salad - Corn tortillas are only made of corn and water, so it is wholefood, too.
IMG_20180223_080928_704.jpg

Chilaquiles - Corn nachos topped with green salsa sauce and mashed beans. Totally oil free.
20180223_113248.jpg

I had a very typical Mexican tomato-chili soup with nachos for lunch.
20180223_184425.jpg

I also bought some cactus, called nopal, and grilled it with other veggies.
20180220_102518.jpg

Corn is very typical in Mexico, it is eaten almost every day.
20180220_130614.jpg

Gorditas were my favourites!!! They are made of corn, too, and they look like small pita breads which can be filled with many kind of veggies, like nopal, cooked chickpeas, beans, potatoes, mushrooms, etc.
20180224_093415.jpg

This gordita is filled with potatoes, but I tasted every kind of veggie version :)
20180222_135408.jpg

I had some chickpeas in a bag falvoured with lime and chili as an afternoon snack.
20180220_130803.jpg

Ohh and these roasted chili flavoured haba beans are definitely my favorite snacks.
20180220_101633.jpg

I usually eat fresh fruits for breakfast, and the mangos in Mexico taste incerdibly delicious!!!
20180221_083407.jpg

The combination of mangos and jícama is even better. I've never seen jícama before I got to Mexico, and I love it.
20180221_132156 (1).jpg

I always go for meals which are 100% plant-based, don't contain oil and any kind of processed ingredients (white flour, sugar, etc...). So before buying anything or ordering in a restaurant, I make sure that the food I'd like to have meets all these requirements.

**I hope this article inspires and motivates you to stick to your diet anytime in any situation, and shows you how diverse you can eat as a vegan, even if you are not in your comfortable home, where you can prepare your own meal that surely fits in your diet or plant-based lifestyle. **

This is my entry to #fruitsandveggiesmonday held by the wonderful lady @lenasveganliving.

Sort:  

I find your articles to be extremely informative thank you for sharing I will keep this post.

Hi Miri, thanks you so much for your posts, especially since I'm trying to get inspirations about vegan fet free food in Mexico myself. Is there a way to contact you? I would like to ask you something about your stay in Playa del Carmen.

Hi @antikesdenken, I'm so gkad to hear that I could give you some inspiration and motivation for options of fat-free vegan food here in Mexico 🤗 Sure you can contact me, I'd be happy to help you with anything. Are you on Instagram? If you are, check out my page @joyfulplantbaseddiabetic and write me a message over there. Or you can contact me through FB, too. My page is called Miri's Diabetic Freedom. Which ever is easier for you 😊

I Miri, thank you for your answer. How can i write you in Instagram? In a comment?

When you log in to your Instagram, on the very top of the page, there is "Instagram" in the middle, next to it on the left, there is the icon of a camera, through what you can take pictures and upload them to Instagram, and on the right side of it, there is the icon of an arrow. Click on the arrow , then search for me over there and write a direct message.

Actually, I've just messaged you over there so you should see it if you click on the arrow :)

wow this is so helpful as a fellow vegan traveling for a while in mexico! awesome thanks

I'm so glad to hear that you are gonna be travelling in Mexico! It is such a wonderful country! And their food is amazing, there are many traditional dishes which are originally vegan :)

wow se ve todo muy delicioso, :),

Muchas gracias Pepe :)

nopales! taking me back to my roots. looks awesome

Oh my, what a feast for the eyes (and tastebuds!) How do you eat the cactus, do you take the skin off first?

You just need to get rid of the needles with a knife, but sometimes they already sell it without them. So you don't need to peel off the skin, just get rid of the needles. It's not difficult, by the way :)

I could definitely could get use to lifestyle like this. I absolutely love this market, full of fresh produce that must taste heavenly. And, it really shows how beneficial this lifestyle is for you, because you are glowing and I bet you feel wonderful my Dear. Thank you so much for another wonderful entry @plantbasedmiri 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Thank you so much for your kind words my Dear :)) Yes, I can definitely feel all the benefits of this lifestyle. I love it!!

Always a pleasure Sweetheart 🌸💖🌸

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
1.png

Every week you surprise me more! divine you can see that! and very healthy! I'm already very hungry with all your photos = ( @plantbasedmiri

Thank you so much my Dear, I'M so glad you like my posts :) Have a wonderful day!

All looks so delicious!! And cactus is so good to regulate insulin.
So, you can eat fruit for breakfast? I thought that spikes the insulin?

While I was on a low-carb diet, I ate quite big amount of fat, and fruits spiked my blood glucose level. But since I switched to a low-fat diet, and I eat only 30g of fat per day which comes only from nuts and seeds, I'm able to eat HUUUUGE amount of fruits without blood glucose spikes. Isn't it amazing?? I love this diet, and it actually helps reversing type2 diabetes. Many people with type 2 diabetes got healed with it already. I have type 1 diabetes, but my LAB results become much better since I follow this diet. I'm very obsessed with it. I think I'Ll write a blog post about this diet soon, so people can understand why this diet is much better than the regular low-carb diet.

Fresh Fresh Fruits Foods There are very good peanuts to pamper in a relaxing and spring time with food like this, thanks for sharing your friends, happy for you always.@plantbasetmiri😊

Thank you so much for your kind words my Dear :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64275.79
ETH 3156.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56