STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #6 : Winter Barbecue - Easy recipesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

Hi Steemians!! Here's my entry for the STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #6 Hot Off The Grill.
As you can see in my location I'm in Belgium and it's winter here lucky me there's no snow outside but it's cold.
Special thanks to the judges who let me add this new entry for the challenge.
So, let's grill!!

What you need:

  • Bacon
  • Cucumber
  • Croquettes "Duchesse"
  • olive oil
  • Salt of Guerande
  • Black pepper

  • Wash the cucumber and cut it in thin slices (1/2 cm)
  • Put them in a plate add the oil, the salt and the pepper wait 30 minutes minimum

  • Brave the cold

  • -2.5C° / 28.4 F°

  • Light the fire!!

  • Beautiful

  • I use paper and wood and after I put on the coal

  • Let the grill heat before adding the meat
  • During this time preheat the oven and place the croquettes

  • First add the bacon and 5 minutes after put the cucumber

  • When the cucumbers are grilled and soft and the bacon is crunchy, remove them from the grill

  • Go back home add the croquettes

Enjoy!

As @papa-pepper want in the "To do list" I'll try to describe the sensation. It is very strange to find the taste of barbecue in winter. The hot cucumber is a surprising sensation, it melts in the mouth and it's very amazing it's the first time I try this. You have the crunchy taste with the bacon and the sweetness of the croquettes.

Thanks for watching! Bon appétit!

Sort:  

Excellent, we will see what the judge thinks.

thank you soooo much! it's a good news :)

Interesting...I live in Arkansas USA and in Summer it's too hot to grill outside so winter is when we do it mostly. We like to use a smoker and slow cook ribs, brisket etc. I make my own BBQ sauce (I'm a retired chef). If you want some smoker recipes let me know

Ah ah ok you can send me the recipes but I only do this for the culinary challenge I won't do bbq before next summer. Now it's too cold and it's night at 17h. I do this one "savagely" in my backyard ;)

Savagely here in Arkansas is about 50F! I'll figure up a BBQ sauce recipe and send it...I don't measure anything so I'll have to do some figuring...When I cook I use the "that looks about right" method!

I like to use this method too. I taste and if it's good to me it's good for everyone :p Also with spicies I have a recipe for something and when it's time to cook I don't measure I do like we say here "au feeling".
We have 50F here in autumn in the middle of winter it can down to 5F and max for summer is 86F but at this moment it is heatwave for us generaly it's 76F.

I tried to post a recipe for sweet potato pie and when it came to the measurement for the spices I was like 3 shakes of this 4 of that...lol!

This is the best way!!

The judge this week is also in Arkansas!

I'm in Ft Smith...do you know where?

Yep, I'm about 3 hours from there, Lead Hill, but I know where that it at!

That's by Harrison isn't it?

About a half hour away!

Your photos are fantastic! Everything looks delicious.

And it was! ;) thanks for your reply @rebeccaryan!

@pickoum respect!
It's very cold here and so must be in Belgium how on earth did you grill?
with a winter coat?
Stay warm and I hope your nose isn't running!!
Good luck!

Thanks @englishtchrivy I put a Big coat one scarf and a hood. It was warm near the fire and I have to move the harder is to go out the first time.
My nose still at is place ;-) thank you!

@pickoum - okay I saw, I went out tonight so I can't imagine - anyway, okay your nose is not running :D
that's good :D Good luck again!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.63 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 04 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Simply barbecue. Simply yummy.

As you say, simply but yummy! this is why it's easy recipe :p

Thank you for posting @pickoum. Amazing....sounds scrumptous. As you said never have tried cucumbers this way....will give it a go.
Good to 'see' @pickoum online....such an addition to Steemit.
Bonjour to @lajulius. A bientot.

Thank you for these words it really makes me happy @bleujay. Yes if the weather permits you must try grilled cucumbers. Good to "see" you on my post again my friend. Hello from @lajulius ;)
A bientôt

Fantastic entry!! good luck in the competition! So glad I am not a judge.

thank you @gringalicious it's not a big deal. Fast and easy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51