VERY INTERESTING CUCUMBERS LATELY...

in #food6 years ago

These were a great find!


Honestly, I've been meaning to grow some of these varieties, but just haven't got around to it yet. While in town on some errands, I ran into some folks pushing around a cart full of produce. Just check out these baby watermelons!

Okay, actually they are a type of little cucumber. I've seen them before, but never had the pleasure of growing them yet. While heading to a gathering with steemians like @dwells, @theleadingbrand, @beardo, @essentialoilmom, and @jeejee, I figured I'd try a three cucumber salad and see what people thought.

INTERESTING CUCUMBERS

The one cucumber probably looks the most familiar to you. It's that long green one. However, the round yellow one and the little ones that look like baby watermelons are also different kinds of cucumbers.

It's interesting once you move away from the mass-produced super market varieties of produce and shift into the wild array of other options found on various homesteads and at local farmers markets. While I like the "regular" things too, I love variety and just being amazed at the different kinds of foods available.

Combined together, these cucumbers made for a wild variation of a traditional salad, and it was certainly a hit. Of course we love eating fresh, raw foods, but everyone else enjoyed it too! I like introducing people to wholesome new things, and this was another opportunity.

So, have you ever encountered this variety of cucumber before? If not, would you like to? If so, how did you enjoy it? Has anyone ever grown these?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-interesting-cucumbers



Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Hey how’s it going man I just wanted to tell you that I found crypto exactly related to steemit right now that’s pretty interesting. Also I will shoutout your YouTube channel and try to help you earn more subscribers.

How adorable! Do they taste like regular cukes?

No, these are a bit more tart, but still similar.

It's amazing the difference between produce, meat, eggs, from a super market vs from a small farm or homestead.

It's also amazing all the varieties of fruits and veggies we never see. I used to spend a lot of time down in Jamaica and they used to have a lot of stuff I've never seen back here in the states. One particluarly interesting fruit was "Jamaican Apples"

Variety the spice of life. Quite a bowl of spice you have there. :-)

Only seen them in pictures, this year I grew the dragon egg cucumber! What kind of yield do you get? A lot from just one plant? If so sign me up as I have limited space!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64196.23
ETH 2757.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71