THE BREAKFAST OF CHAMPIONS

in #food5 years ago

Eating well for free.


Well, I'm back on the road for work today, but I took a little of the homestead with me. I'd rather eat what I grow than the "foodstuff" that is commonly sold anyway, so I made the wise choice this morning. While I was getting ready to leave for work, I took a wander in the garden to grab a healthy breakfast. With a handful of Chinese Red Noodle Beans and Malabar Spinach, and a pepper just for fun, I'm off to work and eating well for free. We'll see how I fare for lunch, but at least I started the day right. Here's a couple more photos; enjoy!

HOMEGROWN BREAKFAST FOR THE ROAD PHOTOS

Until next time…

Make today special!


Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER A STANDARD COPY OF MY FIRST BOOK EVER

CLICK HERE TO ORDER AN AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF MY BOOK

Sort:  

I wish I had the land to grow food and not just weed in my bedroom

I wish I had the
Land to grow food and not just
Weed in my bedroom

                 - cryptohustlin


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I used to love to go 'grazing' through the garden.
Can't now, I live on the 10th floor of a building.
I hope to change that asap.
Post upvoted #papa-pepper

Yeah, one of the nicest things about our place is all the wild edibles that abound, over and above the stuff we grow ourselves. Nearly every season we have something wild that we can snack on.

As a friend in Florida has repeatedly observed, yard food is the best.

Of course, she's had her home since the early 70s, and has everything from a massive black mulberry to an ice cream banana taller than the house to more fruiting bushes than you can shake a stick at, and all on just under half an acre. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Great to eat where you know the source is ... Your own backyard :-)

Seems like the kind of work you are doing would require a bit more food than that!

It's amazing how a small handful of food direct from one's garden, without chemicals, can sustain and nourish profoundly - in my experience, when growing my own food, I needed a MUCH smaller quantity because the quality and vitality of it was so superior to shop-bought veggies <3 :-)

That is a very good point! I have experienced that myself, but never really thought of it before...thanks for point this out!

Beautiful! Nice to know, @simms50 :-) And yes, it's something that I wouldn't have thought about, if I hadn't experienced it myself so many times... I love living where I do in the Mediterranean, where we have oodles of fresh fruit, veggies and herbs all around in abundance - it's such a grounding, connecting practise to eat what is around us :-D

Nice...I bet the food there is amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36