RAW GOAT MILK YOGURT

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Another step in the right direction!


Around here, it seems that we are always learning new skills and attempting things that we've never done before. Thankfully, both @mama-pepper and myself are down for the task!

HOMEMADE YOGURT

We got Daisy to be a milk goat with great hopes for the future. Now, the future is here and those hopes are becoming reality. Pinkie-Pepper is our goat-milking master right now, and every day we've got fresh milk to enjoy.

@Mama-pepper and I seem to always be hard at work late into the evening. It is not uncommon for her to be making kombucha, trying out a new recipe, or researching more options after midnight these days. Her most recent accomplishment was making this delicious raw goat milk yogurt. We joke about getting her a vest to cover with accomplishment badges. While the vest may only exist in her head, she just got a new badge anyway!

Have you ever made your own yogurt? What is your favorite thing to do with goat milk? Soon we hope to try soap making!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-homemade-goat-milk-yogurt

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

You guys are special.
Adaptation is key.
I like the fact everybody is doing something regardless
of age. Cause everybody eats.
Keep on postin'

@papa-pepper and @mama-pepper you guys are really creative
Thanks for this eye opener I should try a goat milk yoghurt too
Who knows it might have more nutritional value than cow's milk yoghurt

How do you make it @papa-pepper? But it is really good I bet because of its low fat than cow's udder product.

Not sure, but @mama-pepper just learned. She did say it was actually pretty easy.

I don't have access to goat milk, but I do have access to excellent raw milk. I've been making my own yogurt for a few years now, and my own kefir cheese for over 10 years.

Kefir cheese too? Very cool! We love raw milk, kefir, and lots of other things!

It's been a while. Stumbling into a new creative move by@papa-pepper is quite intriguing but more enlightening. A goat milk yoghurt? Gosh!!! Got to try this as well.

That is so awesome! Goat cheese next? :)

That sounds great! I'll ask mama!

Awesome! Yeah my cousin who lives in North Carolina has goats and she makes goat cheese. It is pretty awesome. We made roasted goat cheese peaches drizzled with honey, and they were oh so amazing!

Wonderful, good job! Dump in some fresh picked berries, and you have a Feast!

A Lady I posted a few months ago on fermenting, recommended something for yogurt that I filed away as a great Idea. Since yogurt is all about the cultures inside it, she recommended that I use probiotics from the health food store, as an inoculant. Yogurt from the store only has a couple of strains, by from probiotics there are dozens of strains. Might be worth a try.... :)

She gave you excellent advice @smithlabs. As a goat mad maker of all things goat milk-ish I have tried and tested (and failed). Here in SA I can get the heirloom culture which is chock full of good probiotic strains

It seemed smart at the time. I will try it when I can! The live milk is 35 miles away, but it is about time I raided there, LOL. :)

If you look after it, keep it fed, then it should last you for ages. Mine sadly dies over winter as my girls are all pregnant and we only have a small amount of goats milk frozen

We are not out on the new land yet, so I have to drive to a raw milk dairy!

What beautiful things are you teaching your children dear friend @ papa-peppe
more and nothing less than loving and living what nature provides congratulations
A warm love for all your loved ones

You guys are amazing and quite a team! I have made yoghurt, ice cream and cheese with goats milk. I think any recipe that calls for milk you could substitute goats milk. The kids drink a lot of it, so I am lucky if there is any left for me to try out a new recipe! I am not complaining. I love it when I see them drinking lots of milk. When they came to live here they only drank Big Cola which is a very awful imitation of Coca-Cola. So, I am happy that they are eating a better diet here!

Nice! Soda can't be a good idea these day, so I'm glad to hear that they like the milk!

Great achievement @papa-pepper and your sweet family! Well done! What culture did you use? I have found that with raw goats milk you need an heirloom culture or the yoghurt doesn't stay thick and yoghurty (make sense?)

Goats milk soap is surprisingly easy. Only trick. Make sure you use partially frozen goats milk or you are in for a very sticky curdled mess! And work slowly when mixing in the lye. Have fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38