HOW TO MAKE DEHYDRATED DILL PICKLE CHIPS FROM CUCUMBERS

in #food6 years ago

We're taking things to the next level with our garden produce preservation!


After trying our dehydrated cucumbers out, we thought, "Why not try to make dehydrated Dill Pickle Chips?" Always up for some crazy experiments, we gave it a go!

THE HOW TO VIDEO

CRAZY IDEAS THAT WORK!

We've been enjoying dehydrating food lately anyway, and it is a great way to preserve our garden harvest without canning it. Getting creative and doing experiments is always fun anyways, so we're having some fun in the kitchen.

Some of this is an attempt to eat healthier and get away from eating junk food, like potato chips. Salt & Vinegar potato chips and Dill Pickle potato chips are some of my favorites, and since vinegar and salt are ingredients people use when making dill pickles (along with dill and cucumbers) I thought this would be perfect!

We've already made over fifty quarts of pickles this year, so finding another use for the cucumbers just seems like a good idea. Plus, it's simple and easy to try this method.

After soaking the cucumber slices in some vinegar and salt, I placed them on the dehydrator and sprinkled them with dill. Everything seemed to look pretty good, so we let them dehydrate overnight.

In the morning they were crispy, and had an almost potato chip crunch to them. We enjoyed them and started gobbling them up, but I think next time we will marinate them in the vinegar and salt longer, and even add a little lemon juice. We're preparing for our second batch already, and we're glad that this worked! What do you think? Would you ever try something like this?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-dill-pickle-chip

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

After reading your post, I think I'm going to have to get myself a dehydrator. Enjoy your homemade chips!

Go for it! They work great!

How much does a dehydrator like that cost? If you don't mind me asking.

$40 USD at Wal-Mart here.

Perhaps a bit of chilli as well could be good, cheers mike

sounds like a great idea!
will try them!
and will try 'em spicy hot, too!!
thanks for sharing!
I kimchied most of the cucumbers
but I still have a lot - overload this time so thanks for the idea!

Hi papa-pepper. Would try them but like you enjoy my salt and vinegar chips.

This really appeals as dill pickles are a big favourite of mine. Trying to decide on a dehydrator to buy - how many hours does this take to make these snacks? thanks @papa-pepper

I leave them in overnight, so usually 10 -12 hours by the time I get around to taking them out. Usually do two batches each day.

I have never thought Of Eating this Vegetable in sach a way! This Is Something I have never seen before! I wish I could try it someday :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome! This is something I want to try as well! I also like that there's very little heat used, so I imagine that most of the chlorophyll and the good nutrients are still in tact! Have you tried using actual pickles? I'd be curious to try.

No, hadn't actually tried pickles.

Looks tasty. I love cucumbers lime and salt gonna have to add this to my snack ideas

Posted using Partiko Android

GREAT recipe! I had never thought of this! Much healthier snack than I can think of. I bet the littlepeppers love 'em.

I have the same dehydrator.. need to add more trays.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44