FILLING THE VOID OF LEAVING MY GARDEN BY VISITING A FARMER’S MARKET

in #food7 years ago

It is no lie, I even miss the garden!


Let’s face it, being away from home is hard. There are so many things to miss, and my crazy jungle garden is on the list. Yes, I know that my garden is not all that great this year, but it still keeps me fed and is a great place to snack and forage.

Thankfully, there was a farmer’s market nearby yesterday, so we got there right away when it opened. There is something about real fresh produce and the people who take the time to grow it that I find attractive. Soon, we were shopping like crazy!

THE VARIETY!

As many of you know, @papa-pepper likes variety. There are more garden plants in existence than just red tomatoes and green bell peppers. I am pleased to see that many at this farmer’s market already knew this.

Even with the “staples” like tomatoes, I love to see a wide spectrum of colors, shapes and sizes. This farmer’s market did not disappoint.

Since I like variety, a place like this is also a great place to find some seeds. Now, no one here was selling any garden seeds, but a lot of the produce already contained some!

When you find produce, especially ripe, organic, and heirloom produce, then you have a great chance to get your hands on some quality seeds. The best part is that you can still eat the food! We just enjoyed one of the melons above, and I am saving the seeds to grow next year!

A few of the varieties that I picked up were mostly for the seeds that they contain!

This was an interesting thing to see too. I have picked and eaten Pumpkin blossoms before and know many other people who have as well. This was the first time that I had ever seen some for sale though. If you have never tried eating these, it can be as simple as dipping them in pancake batter and frying them in a pan. We really enjoy eating them that way.

CONNECTIONS AND SUPPORT

Perhaps @papa-pepper is just too generous sometimes, but often I round up for these growers. If one tells me my total is $11.75 USD, I may say, “How about we just round that up to $13 USD even?”

I think of it as a way to put my money into what I believe in. Technically, I view it as an investment. By supporting these local growers I am supporting a way of living life that I believe in. From the actual interaction with creation in the planting and harvesting of food to the entrepreneurial spirit that drives a local market, this is the stuff that I like to see.

There is also something rewarding about having a connection to your food source. Of course growing your own produce cuts out the middle man, but when you can place your money into the hand and shake the hand that dug that potatoes or pulled the carrots this morning that you are buying, there is still a connection.

BEST IN SHOW

Since this is something that @mama-pepper and I are considering doing in the future, we look at farmer’s markets from a little different viewpoint than you average customer.

This time, one specific grower really caught my eye. Presentation plays a big role in making things inviting, and I think that these guys aced it.

Of course the produce itself looked incredible, and the baskets and cartons were great too, but it was their signs that caught my eye. By putting some chalkboard paint on small pieces of wood, they could use chalk to write the names and prices of their produce on them. Honestly, I fell in love with the idea. I thought that it was genius!

SOME OF OUR PURCHASES

Yes, it felt strange purchasing things like Ground Cherries when I know that I have a garden full of them at home, but I'd rather be able to purchase some to enjoy that to go without. Also, foods like this are the best types of "fruit snacks" in my opinion.

It is so rewarding to see the @little-peppers excited about real food and eating healthy too. These children usually have no issue with "eating their vegetables" and sometimes even ask for them by name. Now, they understand the effort and labor that goes into producing crops like this, so I think that they have a greater appreciation for the food too.

Some of the Kohlrabi, Melons, Garlic, and Tomatoes that we picked up are some amazing varieties that we have not grown ourselves yet, so it is nice to be able to try them, especially when they are fresh.

One of the best things that we picked up was a loaf of cheese bread. It was Italian seasoned, and tasted incredible. No matter how much food we grow of our own, farmer's markets will always be a great place to enjoy the produce of others and interact with some great people. We were so blessed that there was one yesterday at the park next door.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-farmer's-market



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Mmmm, kohlrabi. I ate that for the first time many years ago, visiting @improv's parents in Wisconsin.

Yeah, I heard they live in Wisconsin! My mom really likes it too!

@papa-pepper it is good to see you and @papa-pepper in the market benchmarking for future food market business. It will surely be a big hit

Looks like a real great farmers market with such a variety of goods

I have never heard of eating Pumpkin blossoms and never seen them being sold

now I am intrigued to try them sometime

Thanks seems a fairly easy recipe
Will have to try this sometime

If one tells me my total is $11.75 USD, I may say, “How about we just round that up to $13 USD even?”

You are really amazing @papa-pepper! When most of us would seek for less prices or discounts even. But as you say you consider them as your investment and you perfectly explained why too.

Those fruits and veggies really look wonderful. I can smell the fresh aroma just by looking at the pictures!

Thank you for encouraging me in the way I see things.

I wish you would have shopped at my market! Lol
Seriously, i would always add a little extra for my customers, maybe something that we had ripening that week, made for plenty of return customers!

You'd be surprised at how many freebies I get at markets sometimes. Perhaps it is the 5 @little-peppers, but perhaps not.

What beautiful variety at that market! I wanted to also say thank you for your upvote on my recent post! I really appreciate it! Keep up the great work!

You are welcome.

I got the go ahead to start planting some vegetables in planter boxes at the preschool yesterday. So on Monday we are going to plant some Cosmic Purple Carrots. The area I was given is to small to plant a garden in. Actually it is outside our classroom door going to the playground. Never the less my 4 and 5 year olds are going to rock planting and growing what we can where we can.

Most excellent news, and purple carrots are a great start!

Thank you, I am really excited to getting to do this the kids.

hey Papa pepper
this is not for myself but I came across this couple that were homesteading like yourself and thought you might appreciate the link and give them a bit of your expertise...
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@greenshiner/starting-our-farmstead-the-long-and-winding-road-pt-1#@felander/re-greenshiner-starting-our-farmstead-the-long-and-winding-road-pt-1-20170823t132759080z

i do not really have anything to do with these people but since we are a steemit community I guess we should support eachoter

Supporting local farmers and growers is great. Love weekends foraging around the markets to find things I haven't been able to grow/keep alive in my own garden :)
The produce looks amazing. Thanks for sharing

Yeah, I like that local farmer's markets can supplement what we are able to successfully grow by providing fresh produce of kinds that we could not grow ourselves.

Farmers' markets that sell a lot of garden produce. @Papa-pepper seems to buy everything on the market :-) .. great post papa

Yeah, I kind of buy a lot, but we eat it all.

Tasty and healthy eating fresh vegetables @ papa-pepper. Enjoy the family with papa. Wish you happiness :-)

As a farmer I applaude you!

Keep up the good works and keep feeding your family well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56