You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today's Sustainable Feast in the Garden of Eden

in #food7 years ago

"The key to a good french fry is high quality oil at VERY high temperatures.

And double-frying - after the first couple of minutes in the oil take them out & shake them dry (you have a frying basket?), let air get at them for 20-30 seconds, then dump them back in to finish. The added oxygen on the outside of the fries will make them turn golden-brown and crunchy outside.

The bowl contents remind me of plain hummus, a favourite of mine & very easy to make. Can dip anything in it, and use it as a spread on whatever you like, such as veggie burgers.

Thanks for sharing, this looks delicious and relaxing. I've been fortunate enough to have similar living experiences, albeit briefly, and too long ago.

Sort:  

Oh yes, hummus is a favorite around here too!

Now your talking my language. I am a hummus freak!..

Very soon im posting my very best hummus recipe.. although maybe you've figured that out!
in the meantime id love to share my falafel recipe with you, which trust me is very special and my own original version..

https://steemit.com/food/@eco-alex/best-ever-home-made-falafel-recipe-vegan-ecotrain

enjoy!

Mmmmm, falafel!!

Never tried that before. Don't have a frying basket but do have colliders. Make do with what is available!

Thanks for the comment!

I never imagined that I could get two secret recipes of cooking good french fries. Is there any special way you would like to recommend to make oil hotter in normal kitchen? I use common gas stoves.

Turn the knob higher. You don't need like 1000 degrees or anything insane, just something around 350 degrees F.

Vegetable oils have a lower flash point than olive oils, canola/rapeseed are much better and healthier than partially hydrogenated oils such as soybean, cottonseed or corn. Canola oil is also an unsaturated fat that’s high in omega-3 fatty acids. There are claims that when canola oil is heated above 120°F some of the fatty acids turn to trans fats.

Just watch that lower flash point, it'll smoke and catch fire more easily than other oils at high temperatures.

And spend more time in the gardenofeden for exposure to simple ways to enjoy life, simply.

I didn't know about double frying, thanks for the tip!

Beep beep. Hi @natureofbeing!
You have used tip! in your comment - that`s my magic word for sending tips ;)
Click here if you wish to learn more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33