Our very first venture cooking dinner with canned venison: "Deer stroganoff"

in #food6 years ago

deer24.jpg

A few nights ago, we tried out making dinner with canned venison for the first time! In the past, my husband has always ground and frozen the deer he harvested; he canned two of them this year. He asked his brother for his venison stroganoff recipe, and we set to work experimenting with making it more "homemade" :)

deer6.jpg
Star of the show!

deer1.jpg
My brother in law's recipe, verbatim

The division of labor, we decided, was that I would make the sauce and rice, and he would saute the mushrooms and prep the meat. (It's been ages since we cooked a meal together like that, so that part was fun!)

First, the sauce. My Betty Crocker and Southern Living cookbooks have slightly different versions of basic brown sauce, so I mishmashed them together and quadrupled it. I melted a stick of butter on low heat and added some onion slices, then let them simmer away. Betty said the onion would turn brown and Southern Living said the butter would turn brown….hmmm….well, I figured, I'd just cook it until something browned :)

deer3.jpg
Can you go wrong with any recipe starting with onions in butter?

I use my Keurig to get hot water to make beef broth with bouillon. (Always double check that somebody hasn't left a coffee pod in it!) I was originally going to make 4 cups of beef broth, but changed my mind and made 2 cups, added extra beef bouillon and filled up the rest of the measuring cup with milk, so the sauce would be creamy.

deer4.jpg
deer17.jpg

While the onions simmered (which took forever, by the way) I got the rice ready, and my husband chopped up more onion. (If I had known he was going to do that, I wouldn't have bothered with that step on the sauce!) Then he chopped up 1-1.5 cups of fresh mushrooms. (Have I mentioned he never measures anything?) He heated a skillet with olive oil, sauteed the mushrooms and onion with salt and pepper, decided to throw in some minced garlic….opened a bottle of wine for us to drink, and decided to pour some of that into the skillet too….

deer9.jpg
Fresh goodness

deer7.jpg
Can't skip this step

deer12.jpg
Hey, why not?

deer16.jpg
Cooked until the wine was reduced/absorbed

Well, this was looking interesting. Especially since the only wine we had was sweet red, not dry. He's definitely the type to wing it while cooking.

Meanwhile the dang sauce skillet was finally starting to brown (Southern Living was right, it was the butter). I took the onions out and added them to my husband's saute skillet (why waste delicious butter-soaked onions after all?) Then I added half a cup of flour and whisked it until it was smooth and bubbly.

deer13.jpg
Brown butter at last!

deer14.jpg
Add the flour

deer15.jpg
Whisk till smooth and bubbly

Took the pan off the heat, and added the milky broth. Now to return it to the heat and whisk the sauce (gravy?) until it thickened and boiled.

deer18.jpg
My husband helpfully whisked it while I gradually poured in the liquid

deer20.jpg
Good thing rice is low maintenance, since I pretty much ignored it other than making sure it didn't dry up.

While I cooked the gravy, my husband took the metal lid off the quart jar of venison, microwaved it for a minute and poured off the juice. Then we added the mushroom mixture to the thickened gravy, then the venison, and let it simmer for 15 minutes. It smelled so wonderful!!

deer21.jpg
Adding the mushroom mixture

deer22.jpg
mmm, venison!

deer23.jpg
Simmering to blend all those flavors

I wish I had a prettier picture (than the one at the top of this article) of the final product with a garnish, but rest assured it was amazingly delicious COMFORT FOOD! We will definitely make this again.

deer25.jpg
Just for fun, a chef selfie

Lessons learned?
Well, next time I'll skip the whole simmering-onion part of making brown sauce, and just make creamy beef gravy starting with a basic roux, since sauteeing onions with the mushrooms worked out fine. I also think I'd make 3 cups of gravy instead of 4. Finally, I want to use dry wine next time, and see how the taste changes. It turned out fine with sweet wine, but I think dry would be even better.

ENJOY! Thank you for reading, and have a great day!

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 15:08:52
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 10.15/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That looks delicious. I love venison. My grandma used to can it all the time. We will have to try your recipie.

this sounds so good! i have some deer meat, as a trade from a friend .... it's frozen, but i can totally use this same basic plan.

cheers to not measuring except when it comes to flour! LOL

My husband is all about the free spirited cooking, measuring-implement-free! haha. I tend to at least use a recipe as a basis ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56