The delights of Cab Sav... my second post

in #food8 years ago

Kat here again :)

So deciding what to write about after my first foray into the world of Steemit was not too hard. Since the premise of my involvement is to add value and good original content while writing about myself, I thought that I'd share with you my new discovery and passion. Cabernet Sauvignon, or as we Aussies prefer to say Cab Sav (with an emphasis on the "A" as in "rabbit"), is a delightful red wine with the grape variety grown in and around the highways and byways of the Australian wine regions.

As a matter of fact, I'm drinking a wee drop now... specifically a luscious Cab Sav from the Coonawarra region, which is an area in South Australia, about 100km from the coast, right next to the Victorian border. The vineyards are found along a narrow strip situated on the main highway, between the town of Penola at the southern end and Naracoorte to the north. The soil that the grapes are grown in are really what produces such a magnificent drop. Its called the "Terra Rossa" which is this beautiful rich top-soil that is only about 20cm deep and around a maximum of 40cm in parts. Something to point out is that the whole region was once an inland sea back when all the continents were joined together, and that is why this region is also known as "The Limestone Coast". Also, another fascinating point is that in the town of Naracoorte, there are some caves, which are host to one of the largest extinct mammal fossil sites in the world, and in fact is a world heritage listed area.

Anyway, back to the luscious Cab Sav... I haven't always liked it and until recent times, my palate just couldn't handle it. I've sipped Cab Sav from other wine regions around Australia, for instance Margaret River, a wine region in Western Australia that is also very well known for its Cab Sav, but it just didn't make an impact. Recently though, on a road trip through the Coonawarra and stopping off here and there, I gave it another go. Well the angels definitely started singing and I had a direct revelation from a greater spiritual power... let it be known to the Steemit community: I just don't like Cab Sav... I love it!

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Congratulations @memyselfi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72