TASTY TUESDAY: Simple Seitan Pepper "Steak" (vegan, and with extra gluten)

in #food7 years ago

If you read my post yesterday, you know that I'm trying to do themed days with my blog now. Monday is MEANING OF LIFE MONDAY, and the theme is that I simply share 42 of something. Yesterday, it was quotes about weed. Yes, 42 of them. Yes, it was a really long post and probably TLDR; for nearly everyone, but I wrote it and posted it anyway.

What's Tuesday, then? Look no further:


TACO (AND OTHER LESS IMPORTANT FOODS) Tuesday!


I'll share a recipe. To the chagrin of some, they'll all be vegan, but if you're a stoner who suffers from the munchies a lot, doesn't care that much about eating healthy, but also happens to be vegan, you will almost certainly find something you enjoy here.





Simple Seitan Pepper Steak


This is a veganized version of my mother’s pepper steak recipe. I actually had this recipe on a really old blog of mine called Vegan in America's Dairyland. I also uploaded it to VegWeb years ago.


pepper-steak-013.jpg


Ingredients:

  • ¾ to 1 lb seitan, cut into strips
  • ½ to 1 teaspoon salt (or to taste)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 cup vegan “beef” broth
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce (or tamari or bragg’s)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 green bell peppers, cut into 1-inch pieces (could also use red)
  • 2 tablespoons corn starch
  • ¼ cup cold water
  • 2 tomatoes, peeled and cut into eights (or a can of diced tomatoes, drained)
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 3 to 4 cups hot cooked rice

Preparation:

  1. Cook the rice before you do anything, because the recipe doesn’t take terribly long to cook.

  2. Heat the oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Sauté the onions and seitan, until the seitan starts to brown and the onions are tender and translucent.

  3. Stir in broth, soy sauce and garlic; cover and simmer for 10 minutes.

  4. Add green bell peppers; cover and simmer 5 minutes, or until peppers are tender.

  5. Blend corn starch and water, stir gradually into mixture. Cook stirring constantly until mixture thickens and boil; boil for 1 minute.

  6. Add tomatoes and heat through.

  7. Serve over rice.

Notes: I use low-sodium vegan “beef” broth, so I add a decent amount of salt. If you use a “beef” broth with the normal amount of sodium, you may want to adjust accordingly.


Thank you for reading this far, if you did! If you liked this post, would you please consider giving it an upvote or sharing it with your followers? I would truly appreciate it. Thanks!


What can SteemEngine do for you?

  • Earn votes by voting for others!
  • Earn followers by following others!
  • Referral system. Earn more SBD for your referrals votes.
  • Less spam, better content through report system.
  • SteemEngine users receives 5x more votes than the average Steem user.

TRY FOR YOURSELF

Sort:  

Just for those of you that didn't know! :) Seitan is actually wheat gluten that is made by washing wheat flour dough with water until all the starch granules have been removed, leaving the sticky insoluble gluten as an elastic mass which is full of good plant based protein! Happy munching!

I suppose I should've included the recipe I used to make the seitan. :) If someone was unable to make their own or didn't want to, some sort of mock meat would work. You could even probably cut up portabellas and use that as "steak" strips.

Hey fellow vegan :D Thank you for sharing that recipe. I always look for new inspiration to prepare meals.

No problem! I've actually shared it before, but it's been so long now that I thought I'd introduce it to Steemians. The first time I posted this recipe was in 2009, about a year after becoming vegan. It's been a go-to of mine for all of these years.

This Looks super tasty!!!!!

Thank you so much!

Looks amazing! Will definitely give it a try! :)

This post has received a 19.92% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @marksheppard. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

I have no idea where to buy the wheat gluten but I am so excited to find out and try this recipe 😱 I am very into Asian foods now like Thai curries and the like and this would go down a treat 🌱

Thank you for sharing this awesome recipe! 🔥

Unfortunately, I'm not sure I could be much help with where to find it in South Africa, but my first thought would be any sort of natural food stores or health food stores. Co-ops if you've got them... places where you buy beans and grains in bulk will sometimes have vital wheat gluten.

Also, funny you should say you're into Thai curries, because that's what I'm making tonight!

Absolutely awesome recipe, gotta try it very soon! :-)

Not sure if i can prepare this. But i believe it's a nice delicacy. Wish i can just have a taste.

If I could send you a taste over the internet, I would! :)

Thanks! I don't think you'll be disappointed. It's so easy to make and so satisfying.

You got a 7.21% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @marksheppard!

Thank you marksheppard for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 11.36% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Great recipe! I also posted one today (see link below), with a lot of pictures on how to do it. So glad to be part of the community of FOOD LOVERS! Thumbs up for you!
33.png
https://steemit.com/eatphotography/@meonline/6bhnk-full-hd-cooking-a-fresh-vegetable-quiche

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13