Supercharged Foods With Mineral Rich Soil

in #food8 years ago

Food is a hard habit to break and aside from the occasions when I’ve done some thirty day fasts, I like to eat daily as most people do.
IMG_20150829_090654858.jpg
What most people also do is turn over all the responsibility of producing the food they eat to someone else. Some stranger they don’t know, have never met and who often only has profit in mind, not nutrition or health. That is where I’m different than most people.

I love to eat good food just like you do but today’s food is pretty to look at but low on nutrition. I believe the only way to get nutrient dense food that is safe to eat is to know a farmer you trust or do it yourself.

I have grown many crops before but have been away from growing for a while living in Mexico. Had a good job. Made good money. Gave it all up to start growing again. Some would say I’m crazy for doing so but I don’t think so. I think they’re crazy putting things in their mouths that they don’t know where they’ve been just because it looks like food.

I believe that growing grade-A, nutrient dense food is the most important endeavor one can undertake at this time in history. That’s a bold statement for sure and I’m hopeful this blog will help support my case with ongoing examples of changing the world one seed at a time.

Seeds take time to sprout and grow and as we continue on this journey together I’m excited to share the harvest with you, but first I want to share with you my realization.

While analyzing the return on investment for various businesses I compared some of the businesses with the best returns to the ROI of seeds, both annuals and perinials. The results were starting to me.

In every case, seeds outperformed the businesses at least 10 to 1. In some cases 100 to 1 or more!

Wall street would drool over returns like that.

Of course that’s assuming you had a market to sell what you’re growing.

So why is it that people think of farming as something poor people do? If everybody eats why are farmers struggling and biotech companies thriving? Don’t get me started, that’s a story for another post.

But someone is growing all that food to feed all those mouths. How could that possibly be a business for poor people?

As it turns out, the food business is huge and is being gobbled up by fewer and fewer big corporations that could care less about your nutritional needs and only care about how to turn seventy cents of corn into five dollars of cereal.

There has to be money in it and more importantly, there is real value in real food that expresses its fullest health potential. I thought if we can create that level of quality and vitality in food, appreciation would find its way to our door and drag their friends with them and that’s exactly what happened.

Long story short, I put my ideas to the test and began growing soil. Yes, soil, but not just any soil. Soil with all 155 minerals needed by the human body. Plant and human available nutrients, densely packed into vibrant, alive soil-food web. (Also a story for another post)

I figured the most important thing was growing really good food. We ate well but could not eat it all. We gave some away.
IMG_20150902_160058321.jpg
Chefs created “Tonights Special” plates around what we delivered. Chefs wrestled each other for the remains. I’m not kidding.

Bakers would fight each other for my eggs too. They said it made their pastries melt in your mouth. I solved the problem by raising more hens.

But here’s the part that interested me. I never set out to sell food to make money, I set out to grow food so good for you, a rarity that could not be found anywhere else except from soil as healthy as mine, which most growers don’t focus on or invest much into.
IMG_20160722_170939.jpg
I gave some of the eggs to the baker for free as a gift and they called back wanting double what I could produce.

When I told them my supply limits they offered to pay more. I started to explain and they offered more again. You see, chefs and some customers understand the value of a superior food item and are willing to pay a premium to access that kind of food. It’s rare to find food that good and most people don’t understand the difference. Those people are not my customers. That’s OK. I grow good food because, well. I want good food. It’s good for you. That seems obvious to all but do you really care about good food? Or is good enough good enough for you?

If you’ve never eaten a real tomato and your only experience of tomatoes come from a grocery chain store bought tomato, then you don’t know what a real tomato is. It’s not your fault. You’ve been led to believe that tomato like substance on the produce shelf is a real tomato. It is not.

Did you know that most of the nutrition that a tomato can produce happens while it ripens on the vine. Most store bought varieties are bred for shelf life and shippability, not nutrition, and are picked green before they can develop what little nutrition they have. Green tomatoes are easier to ship internationally and using a gas to ripen them before they get to the store makes them look red for the customer. But its still an unripe tomato, not the best a tomato can be by any means. That is just one of many examples of of how food corporations have misled us.
IMG_20150805_113727873.jpg
Those huge food companies put their profits over my health in so many decisions they make that I decided to fire them. I’ll grow my own food and share it with my world thank you very much.

Local, real food – It’s what’s for dinner.

I guess some people care a lot more about what they’re putting into their mouth and bodies. If that’s you, like me, you’re going to find this blog interesting.

I guess we should start with what we are growing now. It’s going to take longer to explain WHY we grow which is why I started this blog. So here’s a list of the food growing now:

Artichokes
Basil
Tomatoes
Potatoes
Onions
Dill
Leeks
Chives
Corn
Beans
Apples
Pears
Kale
Parsely
Cilantro
Chard
Arugula
Cabbage
The flavors of these crops are intoxicating, but in a good way. Wait until you see the meals we make. Yum!

If you like this sort of thing, check back for more fun stories and thanks for reading.

Sort:  

nice article @luzcypher - have followed you so i dont miss out on your farm experience

Cool, are you growing too? I'm always learning myself.

no not at the moment - on work experience in Egypt at the moment so dont have my own garden :( but I do have access to very fresh fruit and veg from the open markets and some organic farms here, so its not all bad. A good poster is @gardenofeden they grow and produce some amazing food and create the most amazing recipes to share

the soil has become so deficient over the years..

This was an excellent post and I couldn't agree more. I've struggled with getting people to understand what "good food" really is. Most people like crappy food because it tastes good to them - but as you said, it's only because they've never had better. I try not to judge because I used to be one of them. Luckily, someone awoken me and I saw the light. I'm also a big traveler so that introduced me to a lot of high quality, local, delicious foods. Especially in foreign countries where factory farming doesn't exist.

I've followed you and look forward to hearing more about your business and your story. It's nice to hear that you're living your dream and doing something you're passionate about.

Im glad you've awakened to the taste of good food and thanks for the follow.

@luzcypher, great article. I have always been captivated by farming and cooking (I'm a foodie at heart). One of my absolute favorite things is hitting the local farmers market during season- not only because of the season, but also to see many of the growers who have become my source of good food and great friendship over the years. It's good to have a source of food whose quality and growing methods you can trust. Love the adventure you have started. Upvoted

Much appreciated. Its an adventure alright. Just got goats so I'll be making cheese soon.

Out of curiosity, what was the drive to leave the cushy job for the life of farming?

Good question. That is the subject of another post for sure. It deserves to to be answered more thoroughly be for now let's just say the desire to produce instead of consume. I promise I will make a future post answering your question better, its just simmering.

Seeds outperforming business at least 10 to 1.
I'm hoping one day just to grow and propagate, as my business!

Yes, especially when propagating perennials that spread by seed or division.
Growing and propagating is a good business.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59