Oreo Cookies and Cream Cake

in #food6 years ago

IMG_7161.jpg

Easter is this weekend and my favorite treat that I buy yearly are the Cadbury chocolate eggs. They are tiny egg shaped chocolates that have a thin crisp candy coating covering the most smooth and creamy milk chocolate. I decided to make a cake and incorporate these eggs as part of the decoration. I decided to make Oreos cookies and cream cake with an Oreo cream filling. Oreos are the most iconic American chocolate sandwiched cookies with a vanilla filling. This cake is a basic white cake with pieces of Oreos folded into the batter. The filling is a mixture of mascarpone and whipped cream with more crushed Oreos folded into the cream. Covering the cake is silky vanilla buttercream. The cake is buttery, the cream is rich with Oreo cookie accents throughout and the buttercream ties the cake together.
IMG_7084.jpg

Oreo Cake

adapted from Preppy Kitchen

  • 2 cups All purpose flour
  • 1 3/4 cups granulated sugar divided
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 1 cup chopped Oreos

Grease the cake pans with butter and lightly coat the pans with some flour. This will prevent the cake from sticking to the pans. Cream the butter with 1 1/2 cups of sugar. Add the sour cream and milk. Mix in flour and fold in chopped Oreos. In a separate bowl, whip the egg whites with the remaining 1/4 cup sugar until stiff peaks and add 1/3 of the whipped whites into the cake batter and mix to incorporate. Fold in the remaining egg whites into the batter and stir in the oreos. Divide the batter evenly between the cake pans and place in a preheated 350 degree F oven and bake for 30-40 minutes or until the toothpick inserted into the center of the cake pan comes out clean. Let the cakes cool completely.

IMG_7090.jpg IMG_7091.jpg

The cakes can be made ahead of time and frozen.
IMG_7136.jpg

Mascarpone Whipped Cream

  • 2 ounces mascarpone cheese
  • 2 tbsp powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup chopped Oreos
    Place the mascarpone into a mixing bowl. Slowly mix in the heavy cream. This prevents lumps. Add in the powdered sugar and vanilla extract. Mix until barley firm peaks. If you over mix mascarpone and whip cream the cream will turn grainy. Fold in the crushed cookies. Since the cake, cookies and buttercream are all sweet elements, I like to lightly sweeten the cream to balance out the cake.

Swiss Meringue Vanilla Buttercream

  • 4 large egg whites
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 tsp Vanilla extract
    Place the sugar in a bowl with egg whites and place over a pot with simmering water, making sure the bowl does not touch the water. Whisk the egg whites and sugar until frothy. When the sugar is dissolved and the whites are slightly warm to touch remove from the heat and whisk until firm peaks. Slowly add in the butter. Keep whisking until the butter and egg whites become a smooth and homogenous frosting. Mix in the vanilla extract. I like to use Swiss meringue method of buttercream because I find it is less sweet than American buttercream which is made with confectioner's sugar. I also prefer the texture of a Swiss buttercream. You can use any of your favorite buttercream recipes.

Assembling the Cake

Trim the tops off of the cake to make an even surface. Place one cake on a piece of parchment or cake board. Fill a pastry bag with buttercream and pipe a ring of buttercream around the edge of the cake. This will make a wall so the filling of the cake will not seep out of the cake. Fill the inside of the buttercream ring with Oreo cream filling. Place another cake layer on top and repeat the same steps with buttercream and Oreo cream.

IMG_7141.jpg IMG_7142.jpg

For the last layer, I always invert the cake so the bottom of the cake is on top. This helps with leveling the top of the cake.
IMG_7143.jpg

Fill the bag with remaining buttercream and roughly pipe around the entire cake to cover it. If you want to make a color pattern on the bottom of the cake, take some buttercream and tint it with food coloring and pipe a color border first before piping the remaining buttercream. Using a spatula, smooth the buttercream around the cake and over the top.
IMG_7144.jpg IMG_7148.jpg

To get a really smooth finish, I usually use a slightly heated bench scraper and hold it to the edge of the cake and drag it around the cake to get the buttercream super smooth. What also helps is using a cake decorating table. Bench scrappers are easily found at a local hardware store.

IMG_7149.jpg

You can finish the cake with any decorations or leave it plain. I had some fondant which is like edible sugared play dough where people use it to cover cakes or make decorations. I made some flowers but you can easily purchase some sugared flowers or you can also use fresh flowers.
IMG_7150.jpg

I hope this post will offer some basic tips to help with some techniques for frosting and decorating a cake. Thank you for visiting my page and Have a Happy Easter!
IMG_7153.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, this looks so beautiful. Almost too nice to eat. Though I am no fan of milk cholate (dark cholate is more my thing) those candied eggs sound amazing!

I wonder if they make a dark version of those eggs, that would be so good too! Thank you @amy-goodrich.

In Belgium they have them in all diffrent flavors. I grew up in cholate country hehe! Easter was always such a big feast.

I love Easter in Europe. I can just imagine all the incredible chocolates they have there. My favorite are the speculoos cookies. How is Chivas?

Ohh now you made me crave speculoos. Love that so much. Chivas has good days and bad days. Last week was really good. She is fighting back. Hope she can stay with us for a little longer. thanks for asking and caring about her health ღ ღ ღ

Aww, sooo beautiful lovely cake! I want to try it myself, just like to watching it! ;)

I can totally see you making a really beautiful Thai flavored cake!

That looks delicious. I really like a nice buttercream.

Thank you @spartacuswienham. What is your favorite arcade game?

That's a good question. I think my favorite arcade game is the original Mario Bros. How about you?

I will I have to say Donkey Kong. Those barrels...they always get me.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 01:02:57
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 36.35/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow, this looks so yummy! Can't look at it too much cause I am trying to cut down on carbs, though. :(

Carbs make everything taste so good! Thank you@earworm. How are the Mandarin lessons coming along?

My Chinese teacher is arriving from China to Bangkok today, so hopefully will see some progress soon. :)

So beautiful! I got goosebumps reading the first part as I, too, love those Cadbury eggs. It’s a favorite of mine so I try to get a bag around Easter. I didn’t even know about them until maybe 4 years ago but I’m told they’ve been around forever!

Lovely cake, beautiful decor and so delicious-looking!

Those eggs are addictive! Thank you!

Congratulations @loveself! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Wow! That is a work of art and I love the theme of Easter and Spring :) Thank you for sharing the recipe and your technique. I appreciate that you tagged the post with #dailyfoodphotography. I'm the new curator of the weekly contest and I'll be following your blog looking for more wonderful food related posts. Happy Spring!

I really appreciate your kind words and what a cause you are doing supporting the World Bicycle Relief. Thank you.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as a winner in the #dailyfoodphotography tag weekly contest! View the announcement blog featuring your photograph and check your wallet for your prize. Thank you for participating! I will continue to look for more of your food photographs each week.

A big thank you for choosing me as a winner! I am touched.

This is such a piece of art! I am jealous of your skills☺️
I love this creation!

I really liked your post on the wafer dessert. I have a package of those wafers and I have been waiting to make something with them. Reading your post reminded me I have to experiment. Thank you.

My pleasure. Thank you for your comment!

The recipe I used is super easy. Four ingredients are needed - sour cream, sugar, butter and jello. I will make another post on those with a different flavor. In English this time. It was a big hit:)

I am sure it was a big hit! The color was so pretty and I love anything with jello, haha. Looking forward to your reading your posts and I haven't forgotten about the sauerkraut. It's on my must make list! Thank you!

Oh the “must do,” “must make” lists... I will not have enough lifetime! I have so much on that list;)
Sushi is one of the things that has been on my mind recently:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63