#1 Steemit loves Vietnamese street food ! How to make perfect fresh vietnamese summer rolls (also Vegan)

in #food8 years ago (edited)

 
Hello Steemers!

If you´re not familiar with these popular vietnamese delicacies, which is also known as summer rolls (Gỏi cuốn), then you really missed out on something. It is one of the most popular vegan food in the world and pretty easy to make. I think you would love the taste of fresh flavors, aromatic leaves, a lot of crunchy raw vegetables, some noodles - all stuffed in thin and light rice paper. If you know the basics for making summer rolls, you can put anything you want inside! Whether it is noodles with full of vegetables, eggs, prawns or even pork. I also don't state the exact amount for each ingredient, as we mostly estimate how much we eat as a whole family. 1 Person usually eats up to 6 summer rolls for lunch.  So it´s 100% up to you how much you would like to prepare. Let´s begin! 



 What you need for the summer roll:

  • pork belly (optional)
  • large raw, peeled prawns (optional)
  • picked mint leaves
  • cucumber, cut into thin sticks 
  • soft lettuce, shredded
  • sprigs of perilla leaves (optional) 
  • Chinese chives (optional)  
  • coreander
  • blocks of rice vermicelli 
  • rice-paper wrappers



-> PORK BELLY

Start putting the pork belly into the pot with already boiling water and cover it with the lid (for 5 minutes on highest level), leave it for more 15-20 min on lowest level, until it cooked through. Let it cool down and slice thinly.

-> PEELED PRAWNS

Simply add the prawns into a pot and cook it for about 10 min (don´t forget to turn it equally), until it´s pink. Add some salt to the prawns if necessary. Cut the prawns in half.

-> NOODLES

Put 1 tbsp of vinegar into a pot with boiling water (highest level), add the noodles (turn down the level) and leave it for 5 min. Rinse the noodles well in cold water so they don´t stick together. 

-> VEGETABLES

Clean all vegetables and prepare/cut it so it fits nicely into the rice paper. 


 What you need for the dipping Sauce: 

  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 chilli, finely sliced
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • still water

-> DIPPING SAUCE

Stir the lime juice with the sugar, then add the remaining ingredients. Always put the triple of water in addition to the ingredients. So because we have 1 tbsp of each ingredient, add 3 tbsp of water. Adjust the taste if necessary.



-> RICE PAPER

Fill a bowl with warm water and submering the rice paper for 2-3 seconds. Allow the rice paper to soak up water, so it become soft and pliable before you start to roll. (About 1 min)



-> HOW TO ROLL

First layer your ingredients on the edge of the wrapper closest to you. Pull away the edge of wrapper from work surface and roll over the filling. Roll away from you, tuck in your filling and keep the roll tight. And voilà it´s done!


As you probably can tell there are no rules for what to put inside the rice paper. I love making summer rolls, because it often reminds me of my trip to Vietnam, where I literally ate it everyday. So be creative!

Btw. I´m German and of Chinese-Vietnamese origin. If you want to know more about me as a person, check out  @steem-girls in introduceyourself




Until then, Chúc ăn ngon (Enjoy your meal)


Lisa


--------------------------------------------------


Follow me on Instagram:

@lisahoa



Sort:  

God, this made me so hungry. Where is the nearest Vietnamese restaurant next to me now ;-) ... I love the instructional animated GIFs. And those little SteemIt flags. I can see a chain of SteemIt restaurants opening ...

Now I'm hungry too @vesbond ;-)

I never even heard of rice paper before, I'm not sure my local shops sell it.

@lisadang what does the vinegar do to the noodles ?

I don't think you will taste the vinegar at all like you are probably thinking!
It will just help the noodles along !

It's only for the 'look', cause it keeps the noodles white :)

You will definitely find a vietnamese next to you !

I'm a fan of Vietnamese food. Now that I moved from NYC it's not so easy to find a good Vietnamese restaurant around my area. Your recipe is easy to follow. I'm grateful :P. I started following you to see what other great recipe you'll post next.

Thank you for your comment! Yes it is ineed easy and fast to prepare! Glad you like it

Hi Lisa, Thanks for the recipe. I've made the rolls before. We call them salad rolls here in Canada. I'm moving next week from a city of a million people with probably more than 50 Vietnamese restaurants to a city of 40,000 people and 0 Vietnamese restaurants. On the weekend, I went to my favourite place for one last bowl of coconut-curry chicken soup. This weekend, I'll go to my other favourite place for a bowl of Satay Beef soup. From then on, I'll have to cook my own. So I've followed you and hope that you share more recipes. Thanks again.

It's rare to find a vietnamese restaurant in a small town :| I hope you enjoyed your last asian dishes in Canada ! It's time to do it on your own. Let me know how it went out. Glad you like this recipe!

You should try it out!

Looks delicious! You make it look really easy, too.

It truly is easy to make ! :D

I love Vietnamese!

You made me crave Vietnamese, so I'll go buy some rolls (don't have the time to cook, right now :D)

Awesome, Do it!

Oh! The plastic plate!! That is exactly what I was missing. It was crazy to handle paper rice without it. I'll get one and try again. Thanks for this!

I dont know why this post got so many votes but only $1.32buck, i dont eat the pork belly fat, take out please.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62996.86
ETH 3452.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49