Vegan Rice Paper Spring Rolls Recipe and Photo Shoot

in #food7 years ago

If there's one Asian food I crave it's spring rolls, egg rolls, whatever you want to call them. I've seen these rice wrappers at Walmart for 30 pesos for awhile now and finally decided to give them a try. I made just simple vegan spring rolls today, but these got me excited for future possibilities.

It all started with onions and garlic in a hot pan with some avocado oil.

Fry them until they start to turn gold...

Add 2 peeled and shredded carrots and allow to fry for a second.

Chop some cabbage, I used a quarter head of red.

Add it to the pan and fry, stirring often.

Until it looks like this. Remove from heat.

These are the rice papers I was talking about.

They felt like a sheet of plastic. The directions said to soak them in filtered water for a few seconds to soften them and it did. They became slimy and later sticky, but it wasn't too hard to get them filled and rolled. Keeping them from sticking together while cooking was an interesting matter.

I served them with some sweet and sour sauce, so that's the red square you see on the plate. They were good but could use some improving that'll come naturally from experience. A good first try though, I think!

Check out some of my other recent posts!
Acapulco Sunsets: Beautiful Colors and Clouds From Today
Kombucha Adventures: Flavor Day
Fermentation Adventures: Apple Cider Vinegar Using the Mother

Sort:  

The view is incredible, it must be so nice to eat looking out at the mountains. Thanks for sharing!😉

Marry me.

i love vegan

i`d like to taste it;) Beatiful, @lily-da-vine!

looks so delecious

Seems delicious! I would like to try a diet version of this for my youtube channel, any advices? Great posts lily 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28