Kombucha Adventures: Flavor Day

in #food7 years ago

It's been awhile since I've posted an update on my kombucha ferments, and truth be told they're going well. I'm not having the best luck in terms of consistency using the small jars to brew so I've decided to turn most of those into other ferments, starting with the apple cider vinegar I started today. I'll just keep the kombucha in the big jar save for when I'm testing things like new teas.

As I keep brewing I change and refine my methods. I've stopped taking shortcuts yielding me better tasting brew. Instead of a continuous brew setup, where I wouldn't really remove my scoby from the vessel at all, I've opted for batch brewing for better taste. This basically just means I clean my vessels after every brew to keep my yeast levels in check.

I've been experimenting with flavors, different combinations and different sources of flavor. I've found I'm not really a fan of kombucha flavored with juice, fresh fruit and spices are best. I've been experimenting with dried pineapple instead of fresh and I find that it yields a much milder flavor, making it hard to even tell that it's pineapple. These are things we learn as we go based on our tastes.

Check out some of my other recent posts!
Fermentation Adventures: Apple Cider Vinegar Using the Mother
Off Grid Updates: Batteries for Days
Off Grid Updates: 1000w Charge Controller

Sort:  

Saw the apples a moment ago- excited to see how they turn out! I've been thinking about making kombucha for awhile now- what an amazing feel good drink! I love how many options there are, and its cool to see your work in progress! I'm wondering with your love of apple cider vinegar, have you ever made fire cider? Ill be starting mine this week to fight off winter colds/ flus!

I haven't tried fire cider, it sounds like fun though. I'm currently researching mead as my next brew, honey wine sounds tasty!

Your post caught my eye. I enjoy elderflower Kombucha probably the most.
Upvote and a follow from me.

Very informative post. Thank you for sharing your knowledge.
Keep it up upvoted and Followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56036.67
ETH 2503.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26