Gluten Free Blueberry Banana Bread Recipe

in #food7 years ago

 While I love to bake, I’ll admit I don’t love baking gluten free. Its got a learning curve and it’s hard to get the taste and texture right.  What I do like about it is that I do feel slightly better after consuming gluten free baked goods, so it’s encouraging me to try more.  My last attempt at something gluten free was a disaster in my opinion, but what I made last night turned out well enough that even John commented on it. “This is really good, even for a gluten free thing!” was his exact response.  If that’s not a success with him, I don’t know what is! 


 So what did I make? It started with a gluten free banana bread and ended up involving blueberries and nuts as well, more in a bar form than a bread form.  It was a tasty attempt and is probably much better for you than most things you’ll eat of this nature. It’s also simple and easy enough for people new to gluten free to try with good results.   
 

So what do you need? 


 3 large overripe bananas 

½ tsp vanilla 

1 egg 

3 T oil 

½ cup brown sugar

 ½ cup white sugar 

3 T honey   

3.5 T baking powder 

3.4 tsp salt 

½ t ground cinnamon 

¾ c almond milk 

1.25 c all purpose gluten free blend 

1.25 c quinoa flour 

1.25 c quinoa flakes 

1 cup frozen blueberries pecans, optional 


 1)Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and oil a pan, I used a nonstick 9x13 for this.  How deep the pan is will determine how long you cook for, as a heads up.   

2) Combine the bananas, sugars, egg, oil, and milk in a large bowl. 3) add the baking powder, salt, cinnamon, gluten free blend, flakes and quinoa flour.  Stir to combine.

 4) Add frozen blueberries and mix until combined, pour this into the pan and spread out evenly. I chopped some pecans and spread them on top, just before baking.   

5) Bake for between a half hour to an hour depending on the thickness of pan.  Mine took about 40 minutes until the center was fully set and the edges were nicely browned. 

6) Allow to cool for an hour before cutting to reduce chances of a crumbly bread, the bane of gluten free baking.
 Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time! 


Sort:  

I love to bake, love the smell of the house when baking.

That's partially why I like maca root powder so much...it kind of has that smell quality to it.

I might indeed, sadly I cannot go to the United States to know for sure! Thanks for the share though!

well when you come lets go to urban plates..lol

I cannot, crossing that border will probably get me sent to prison!

yeah silly tough rules.. well I am following you .. hopefully one day.

Thanks for the follow, consider finding your way to Acapulco. Much cheaper and WAAAY more freedom here!

Guru post, mama Cat is gonna make some when she gets home, too!

It was tasty, so much so John was like "Oh you're writing about that? Where is that? I'm hungry"

very nice your photography amazing work

The bread looks pretty moist and soft being gluten free. It's good that you like to bake and you have someone who likes to eat. I'd wager John has the tougher job since he's taste testing all your new recipes.

I would agree. Not all of my food is tasty, (especially not my food 5 years ago, where most of it wasn't edible by my standards) but he trudges too. I know he wishes I spent more time cooking though and less time baking.

jag älskar att baka

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $20.58 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 30 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43