Fermentation Adventures: First Batch of Sauerkraut Finished and Successful!

in #food7 years ago

Today I decided to taste and check my first batch of sauerkraut and decided to call it a day on this one, as its FINISHED! I'm not sure if you all share the same excitement but this is a big deal for me, a ferment I've been fermenting about since @erikaharris posted about it on Facebook a LONG time ago. I got two jars today out of, thankfully no mold of salty and complexly flavored sauerkraut.

I first wrote about this the day I started the ferment inspired by the cooling temperatures of the wet season. It worked out great, I'd say.

Salty with a lot more flavor than I expected, this stuff is a whole different beast than the vinegar version jar stuff you buy at the grocery store. Before this, I had never tried truly fermented sauerkraut. It had a slightly nutty aftertaste that reminded me of kombucha. I sealed the jars and refrigerated them. Just a bit ago I tried the kraut cold and it was a lot tastier, let me tell you!

Check out my other post about sauerkraut!
Fermenting Adventures: First Batch Started!

Check out some of my other recent posts!
Bright Purple Wildflowers Garden Photo Shoot
Acapulco Botanical Garden Adventures: @modprobe's View 1

Sort:  

I saw a blog I had to check the sign.
It was from my friend Lily-da -Vine.
I really like to tell you what it's all about
She was fermenting on some sauerkraut
She said the kraut was tasty and fine
That's all in the blog by Lily-da-vine

She said it was salty and flavored much more
So I read on to see what was in store
She made a nutty comment about aftertaste
I started thinking about my stomach and waste
With twelve photos of her sauerkraut
That Lily-da-vine that I'm talking about.

She refrigerated and sealed the jars
Perhaps she'll be selling it to restaurants and bars
Down in Acapulco where its so good to be
The cooling temperature even seam to agree
I hear the kraut is tasty and fine
That all in the blog by Lily-da-Vine

These lyrics can be rapped to music similar to Georgia Satalites Keep you hands to Yourself Hope you enjoyed.

This is both amusing to read and accurate lol.

Soy un gran fan de las conservas, productos fermentados y encurtidos. De hecho suelo hacer pepinillos, relish, y otras cosas que se me atraviesan en el camino. Pero no se me había ocurrido (no se porqué no lo tenía fresco en la mente), el saurkraut. Gracias por postearlo por aquí

uhmmm, I would so much love to taste it. Looks great :-)
Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33