You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Review 2018: Eating vegan in Mexico (Series on Mexio part IV) ๐Ÿดโœˆ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿค—๐ŸŒ…

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

I absolutely love this very informative entry and I am bookmarking it for a future, when I go to Mexico. All the food looks really delicious and since I love Mexican food, I would be very satisfy there. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us Dear @antikesdenken ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‡

Sort: ย 

Thank you so much. I wanted to inspire vegans to visit Mexico although meat plays a big role in the Mexican's cuisine. And I am so glad I was able to reach out to you. If you're interested in more information, you should definitely read this post by @plantbasedmiri. She lives (or lived) in Playa del Carmen too and wants to move to somewhere else in Mexico as far as I remember.

It's my pleasure @antikesdenken and yes, I know @plantbasedmiri lives in Mexico. I read many of her posts including this one. She won 1st PRIZE last week and she is the GUEST JUDGE this week. I am glad you know her ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‡

Oh sorry, I wasn't sure, if you knew her :) I guess I forgot how big her account is. Anyway, she was very inspiring for my post aswell, though I tried not to copy her. She showed me right before my travel, that it would be possible to live vegan even in Mexico, where meat is rather cheap compared to Europe.

By the way I talked with a REALLY nice local women (she was Mexican and fortunately spoke English) about this topic and she said, that Mexicans compare eating meat with being wealthy. On the one hand I can understand this comparison, since like 100 years ago only the really rich could effort eating meat. But for me pesonally, eating meat and being rich have nothing to do with each other. This is mostly because I discovered, that my stomach has problems handling meat. When I ate meat at barbecues I was stuffed after a really small amount but still somewhat hungry at the same time. It was strange. Now I listen to the signals my body is giving me and stick to a plant-based diet. But it has nothing to do with money. I guess I spent much less money now, on a plant-based diet than before. But I'm not actually counting :)

Well, many developing countries are like that and I understand why. However, it is just a huge misconception that is killing us, the planet and billions of Innocent beings. And yes @plantbasedmiri is amazing we all love her ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

ALSO, CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU ! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59