STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #8 : Ragù

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Here is my entry for the pasta perfetta culinary challenge!! My whole family loves this pasta sauce and I hope you will too!! These sauce taste great also in a lasagne.

Enjoy!!

Suzanah

Ingredients:

  • 500 g of minced meat (I used pork)
  • 400 g of pasta (I used tagliatelle)
  • 1/2 glass of red wine
  • 1 tbs of olive oil
  • 1 onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 500 g tomato passata or 750 g tomato sauce (I used homemade tomato sauce)
  • dry spices: basil, oregano, rosemary (about 1/2 tsp of each), a bit of dried chili pepper 
  • 1/2 tbs of sugar (eases the sour taste of tomato)
  • salt and pepper 
  • Parmesan or Pecorino cheese

Recipe:

1. Cut onion in small pieces, mince garlic cloves and cook them on medium heat with a bit of olive oil till they are glossy but not brown. Then remove everything from the pan and save for later.

2. On the same pan and medium heat, cook minced meat till it is brown. Make sure to break up all of the clumps of meat to small pieces while the meet cooks.

3. When meat is brown mix in onion and garlic, then pour in wine and add spices and chilies. Cook until half of the liquid evaporates.

4. Then add tomato sauce(or passata), sugar, cheese, salt and pepper.

5. Mix well and let everything cook on a low heat for minimum 1 hour.

6. When sauce is nearly ready, cook pasta in a boiling, salty water till it is al dente. Then drain it and mix in with the sauce.

Serve with basil, more cheese and the rest of wine. Enjoy!!

Badges developed by @elyaque

Sort:  

@knittybynature it's the Judge stopping by to have a look!

You've put together a very attractive page with great photos from start to finish! The final dish looks very tasty indeed!

Simplicity: This definitely fits the bill and it's something that I could easily see myself preparing! Well done!

Presentation: So far I and giving you the highest score for presentation as you added the Basel and a few tomatoes on the top! That turns the ordinary into the extraordinary! Bravo!

You are right up there with the top contenders!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thank you so much for the kind words!! I feel honored to hear the Judge himself complementing my dish and its presentation. I will now impatiently await announcement of the results!!

I'm busy tallying everything up!

This is fantastic!! I am going to add the money from that prize to my fund for a new food processor!! Thanks so much!!

@knittybynature don't forget to thank your sponsor - @smooth :)

Oh yes of course!! Thanks @smooth for this fantastic prize!! it totally made my day!!

@knittybynature just hang on - it will be directly wired to you probably thursday or earlier when he sees it

Hi @knittybynature
Your pasta looks very delicious.

Thank you @rynow!! I like yours as well :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66