CONTINUED: My Way of Staying Healthy and Feeling Good - Chia seeds!

in #food8 years ago (edited)

I know we're all thinking of growing our Steempower... But let's not forget where the real Power is!


image credit

I guess you know what I mean - it's our mental and physical strength!

With no other means than your own energy, motivation and feeling good can you achieve your goals, whatever they may be.

That's why I believe staying healthy is the best gift we can give to ourselves! And I try to share the tips of what helped me taking better care of my body and feeling better as a result.


image credit

As I always remind that these are by no means medical or nutrition advice, but rather some tips that worked for me and hopefully can be useful for someone else too.

In this post I would like to share with you another superfood that I'm taking regularly and some hints on how to make it work for you!

Let's welcome...

Chia seeds


image credit

The little but very powerful chia seeds are getting very popular in today's grocery shopping - you can see them in protein bars, smoothies, desserts, yogurts and even pasta!

Let me give you some more details on what chia seeds are and how (and why!) to take it.


image credit

  • Chia seeds are rich in omega fatty acids that promote brain health and otherwise are mainly found in fatty sorts of fish (like salmon)

  • These little seeds have more calcium than dairy products, and we need it in our daily life to keep our bones strong!

  • It's a great source of protein, and it also has amino acids that helps to transfer the protein into energy

And I totally love how these little seeds crunch in the cookies and energy bars!:)


image credit

So how to take them at home and not spend a fortune on chia-containing-something in a grocery store?

Again, the best thing is to buy it raw and add it to your favorite foods. As usual, I prefer my favorite brand Organic Burst. Though with chia it's not that critical to follow the particular sourcing, as it does not have any taste or flavor, so just look for any organic brand.

I am simply adding it to the granola, smoothies and even to salads! It's also pretty easy to cook with it as chia seeds absorb water up to 10 times their volume and can be used to create puddings and many other desserts!

The simpliest way - the smoothie:

This one has:

  • almond milk
  • banana
  • frozen blueberries
  • almond butter
  • açai powder
  • chia

Here I used the overnight soaked chia, but you can add it raw and it will nicely crunch in the smoothie.

Another way to consume it is to bake with chia - it absorbs so much liquid that you can replace eggs with soaked chia in your pastries!

Like these almond chia bites that I cooked the other day with the following ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 banana
  • 3-4 tbsp shredded coconut
  • 1 cup soaked chia
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp coconut oil

You might wonder why it looks green inside... It's because it also has spirulina, my another favorite superfood!

I will tell more about it in my next posts :-)

I am not a big fan of cooking, so for more sophisticated recipes I suggest reading the blog Choc&Juice

It's not difficult and definitely not time consuming to eat better and feel better as a result!

In my previous posts you can read more about nutritional drinks, wheatgrass and açai berry.

Stay healthy and happy!

Sort:  

As Russians sayL "Experience couldn' t be drunk away!" Great for you!!

😂 thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60832.04
ETH 2902.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55