What I made/ate for Canadian Thanksgiving

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Today is Thanksgiving in Canada and most people spend the whole weekend eating. I had my Thanksgiving dinner yesterday with my boyfriend. Even though it's just the two of us, we made a full Thanksgiving meal together so we could spend today being lazy and eating leftovers. :) Here's what we made!

pies.jpg

I made these two pies in advance since they keep well. There's a pumpkin pie and also a maple pecan pie. To maintain a pretty pattern on top, I learned that the trick is to lay out the nuts in the pie shell in your desired design and then pour the pie filling very, very slowly into the shell and the nuts will stay in place and float on top.

brussel sprouts.jpg

Brussel sprouts with bacon! I used this recipe from The Food Lab by Kenji Lopez. It turned our SO well, highly recommend it!

sweet potato.jpg

We roasted sweet potato with olive oil, brown sugar and maple syrup. They came out soft and fluffy and sweet but not too sweet. I cut my veggies and stored them in tupperware a day or two in advance so there's less to do on the actual cooking day. There's two types of sweet potatoes here, the regular orange one and also a yellow fleshed Korean one that has a maroon/brownish skin. I just had both on hand so I figured, why not.

stuffing.jpg

My favourite part of a thanksgiving meal is always the stuffing/dressing. I opted for dressing so I didn't have to deal with stuffing our bird. Just a simple version with fresh sage, rosemary and thyme along with chicken stock, butter and onions. I was supposed to put garlic but forgot and honestly, it tasted so good as is it didn't really need it.

feast.jpg

Here's a shot of a few of the things all together! There was more chicken than this, but I didn't originally plan on making a steemit post so I didn't take a pic. We roasted a whole chicken and also two supremes so we can have meals for the week. I like to butterfly my whole chicken for roasting as its the fastest method and gets the crispiest skin. It might look a little pale, but it was very crispy. There's also a big pot of mashed potatoes here as well (with butter and cream).

plate.jpg

Ta da! Here's the full plate. I also made cranberry sauce in advance (it's probably the easiest dish to make for Thanksgiving!). There's also gravy of course! My most favourite thing ever. Haha.

I hope my fellow Canadians are having a nice Thanksgiving weekend! And for those of you that aren't from here, I thought you might like to see a glimpse of what are some pretty typical Thanksgiving foods. What does your family eat on Thanksgiving? Thanks for reading!

For more posts on food and travel with original photos, please follow me at @jellyfishdonut.

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 5.3% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @fabulousfungi
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jellyfishdonut to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Happy Thanksgivings!!
Do you have room for one more at your table? That meal looks amazing!!

Haha!! Thank you!! :D

This looks delicious @jellyfishdonut. 😌

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jellyfishdonut from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Happy Thanksgiving!!

Thanks! Happy Thanksgiving! :)

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Sounds like you had a great meal!!!

Thank you!! I just ate some leftovers! :D

leftovers are the best!!!

This post received a 20% vote by @msp-canada courtesy of @buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Haven't seen you post for a while, glad to see another one from you with great photos and story.

We had Thanksgiving minding our grand-daughters just outside the city while their parents went away! Cooked most everything in advance and took it down with us. Except for the turkey. And that brings up an interesting point - chicken?

PS - I made the pumpkin pie!

Take care.

I was a bit busy for a while and indecisive about what to post. Haha.

That sounds like a nice family weekend! This is actually only the second time I've made both those types of pies. I think I'm more of a cook than a baker.

Haha, on the chicken comment. My bf and I both like chicken more and I figured it would just be a lot easier to do chicken instead of figuring out how to cook a turkey. I don't think I even have a large roasting pan at the moment!

Turkeys are actually easy - but get yourself a large roaster! And then check with me for Xmas - I'll tell you brightonbonnie's secrets!

Oh why not now - start with a fresh turkey; you can pay a lot at specialty shops or just get a brand one like Butterball at the grocery. Make your own stuffing. Cover the skin lightly with oil (olive oil or whatever you prefer). Initially cover the bird with tinfoil so it doesn't burn; take the foil off for about the last hour to brown the skin.

I think that's it, but she's the cook so...

Thank for the tips!! Maybe I will give it a go for Christmas or next year! I think this Christmas my boyfriend and I might try to cook what his Spanish family usually eats around Christmas which is basically a seafood feast! :)

Where will this be, and when should I arrive? I'll be on my own as brightonbonnie is not a seafood fan!

Haha!! Not a fan of seafood?! :O
That's too bad, seafood is so delicious to me!

What I really enjoy about traveling is trying new food and especially seafood (and beer and wine too!). For example in Tahiti 'whitefish from the lagoon' - no-one in a very high-end restaurant knew its real name! And in Port Macquarrie, Australia, a Balmain Bug, sort of a lobster - crab in-between! I've shown or described some of these dishes in my Tahiti, Australia and New Zealand posts, like this one which shows the Bug: https://steemit.com/travel/@brightongreg/australia-15-gerroa-karuah-and-nambucca-heads-new-south-wales .

Nice post! The whitefish and the bug sound delicious! Masterchef Australia is my favourite food show and I think they've used those bugs before. I love lobster and crab so I bet I would love that! I hope to visit Australia and NZ one day, wish the flight wasn't SO long though.

Btw, I just did a relatively seafoody post: https://steemit.com/food/@jellyfishdonut/have-you-ever-had-a-kamayan-feast

It's about a Filipino restaurant called Tinuno in Toronto where you eat with your hands. I would say that the seafood isn't all cook to perfection but it's a really fun new eating experience to try that won't break the bank.

Your pies look so perfect! really nice. The whole meal looks great. Personally, I only like to eat the mashed potatoes, stuffing and gravy! I forgot that Canadian Thanksgiving is in October and I used to live there!

Thank you!! Haha, the mash, stuffing and gravy are my favourite parts too!! I was telling my boyfriend that next time we should eat those three thing for a regular dinner sometime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39