Sourdough Crostini Three Ways - Suggestions and Food Photos

in #food7 years ago (edited)

When you have fresh bread, how do you eat it? I certainly wouldn't judge you if you were to just dive in and pull off a hunk, or simply spread it with some fresh butter and jam. One of my favorites for breakfast is french bread topped with brie and apricot jam. But if you're looking for a light summer lunch or dinner, crostini is the way to go.

dJI6A2540.jpg

Crostini is another way to say - putting some yummy stuff on top of slices of toasty bread. Here are three ways I like to do crostini, aside from homemade pesto, which you can find in my previous post. Also if you're looking for the sourdough bread tutorial, you can find it there as well.

dJI6A2529.jpg

Tomato, mozzarella, pesto, and balsamic vinegar
It's important that you have tomatoes that are in season, because out-of-season tomatoes just don't have the right flavor. Dice the tomato and mozzarella, and toss it together with the pesto and vinegar. Add a bit more oil as needed.

dJI6A2536.jpg

Avocado, roasted red peppers, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar
Give the avocado and roasted red peppers a rough chop and combine with the oil and vinegar.

dJI6A2535.jpg

Olive tapenade
For the tapenade, take a variety of briny olives and maybe even pickled cauliflower, green beans, peppers, and chop it all up together with olive oil, red wine vinegar, salt and pepper. If you don't have a variety of olives and other pickled vegetables, just use a single type of olive. That's ok too!

dJI6A2531.jpg

These are just a few suggestions out of a myriad of possibilities. Here are some other delicious ideas for the next time you happen upon a fresh loaf of bread and you want to make the best of it. But again, I won't judge if you just grab a hunk and dig in.

  • Proscuitto and asparagus
  • Smoked salmon, ricotta, caper, red onion, and lime juice
  • Feta cheese, kalamata olive, diced cucumber, olive oil, and lemon juice
  • Smashed white beans and caramelized onions
  • Ricotta, roasted mushrooms, and chives

Be creative with your crostini. This is something the kids could help with too - once all of the toppings are prepared, have them help to 'decorate' their toasted bread! Have fun and enjoy!

dJI6A2541.jpg

dJI6A2542.jpg


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, check out my other food and recipe posts:


All content and photos by @jaymorebeet, taken on 7/6/2017 using a Canon EOS 7D MarkII.

Sort:  

This is another recipe I must add to my list. Thanks for sharing!

Yeahh! So perfect for summer! Thanks for reading :)

WOW! Seriously, these pictures are making my mouth water!
You mentioned something about in-season tomatoes and I have to say...it's been a really long, looooonnngggg time since I've had a juicy delicious tomato! They're all tasteless anymore! I guess I'm going to have to grow my own.
And I'm going grocery shopping tomorrow. I've never had jam on brie before. That sounds amazingly good. Perfect for a hot day in Florida. :)

Seriously in college I think I ate jam+Brie+bread for 5 out of 10 meals. That and wheat thins. I guess that explains a few things, but I digress :). What about a farmers market? Tomatoes should be coming in about now, so possibly perfect timing then! ;) Thanks for stopping by! (And stay cool down there in FL).

Yummy. Olive tapenade is one of my all time favs. I'm with @merej99 - never had brie and jam together before, but will definitely try it.

Oh boy you are in for a treat! French baguette sliced, then add the apricot jam in a medium layer (not too thin) then add a thin slice of Brie. Wooo- if you want to call it a meal just make a little green salad with cherry tomatoes, craisins, and pistachios with a vinaigrette. Ok well now I know what I'm going to get next grocery trip! Thanks! ;)

Now I see why I may be your spirit animal lol. This is my language in ingredients all right here. 😱😱😋😋🙌🏼💯👌🏼

Yesssss!! Love it! You know you made a good crostini/bruschetta topping when you want to drink the juice of it once you're done!! Amirite??

Its almost midnight but these look soo good! I want to go to the kitchen and make these LOL I bookmarked to look over tomorrow and i can actually make it :)

Hhaha I wonder now if you went to whip up some crostini last night! Let me know how it turns out and what toppings you decide on!

No I didnt. I was good. But will take a look at these later this afternoon. Thanks :)

Looks amazing and delicious! I'll try the vegan version ♥ Thank you for this great inspiration :)

Oh it would be incredibly easy to do a vegan version! Yummm!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05