Baklava, not balaclava, silly!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Today we're going to get knee deep in baklava, because, for the first time in the history of my life, I. MADE. BAKLAVA. But before we get too carried away, let's first clear a few things up.

To understand the true wonder that is baklava, we really have to get past a few common misconceptions about what this delicious dessert IS and what it most certainly is NOT.


dJI6A3435.jpg


Baklava IS....

Baklava is a delectable confection common in central Europe, made of layers upon layers of paper-thin phyllo dough, filled with chopped nuts and drizzled, no doused, with honey syrup. After a nice night's rest, the baklava soaks up that sweet sweet honey syrup and the result is a dessert so good you'll think there's no way little old you could possibly make it yourself in your own kitchen. A dessert so good it will have you google searching for "is it normal to cry while eating".

dJI6A3469.jpg

Now that we know a bit about what is baklava in all of its greatness, we need to clarify what it certainly is NOT. Now don't go feeling sorry for yourself if you're guilty of believing one or more of these tragic untruths. Just dust yourself off and don't make the same mistake ever again.

dJI6A3427.jpg

Here we go.

To begin, baklava is NOT...a balaclava.

No, friends, it is not. While it's tempting to thing they are interchangeable, baklava and balaclavas are not, in fact, one and the same. Baklava is one of the most decadent diamonds of desserty goodness, while a balaclava is something you wear when you rob a bank, and would probably (definitely) slow down your BMs for a few days.

However, at least one clever jokester has daringly exploited a loophole in the distinction.

balaclavabaklava.jpg
Source


dJI6A3494.jpg


Baklava is NOT...black lava

Again, as much as we might beg to disagree, these two are not twins. Baklava is sweet with honey and filled with pistachios, but taking just one nibble of black lava will definitely score you a trip to the dentist.


dJI6A3496.jpg


Baklava is NOT Bach lava

Once more, though they sound the same to the untrained ear, a subtle difference exists between the two. Baklava is crispy and flaky, while Bach Lava wears a curly white wig and will definitely burn your tongue. Observe the danger and consider yourself warned.

bachlava.jpg
Imgur


If I can make baklava, so can you, dear one!

Moving on to my adventures in baklava craftsmanship...

For my first attempt making baklava, I decided to take a chocolate twist on the original. I had some amazing macadamia-cinnamon-chocolate sauce on hand, so macadamia-cinnamon-chocolate baklava is where the wind blew me.

I started with a base of 5 layers of phyllo dough, each brushed with melted butter. (Did I mention you must first sprint around your house 5 times before you can move on to the eating part?)

Then the filling was a combination of chopped pistachios, macadamia nuts, walnuts, and cinnamon.

dJI6A3409.jpg

After the filling and inbetween some of the layers went a drizzle of the macadamia-cinnamon-chocolate sauce, followed by few more layers of phyllo, and then I repeated the whole process again to build up the baklava.

Using the knife that has given me many a battle scar, I cut the uncooked baklava into the classic diamond shapes after a brief chill in the fridge. Then a quick 40 minutes at 350°F and the hot tray of baklava was ready for a shower of cinnamon-steeped honey simple syrup.

dJI6A3430.jpg

dJI6A3438.jpg

A solo sleepover party on the counter, and this baby was ready to be devoured.

dJI6A3435.jpg



And just in case you were wondering, finally, baklava is definitely NOT a balalaika.

You see, these two also might trip you up, but, dear one, you'd be wrong. Baklava is the lasagna of desserts, while a balalaika will give you calluses on your fingies and would definitely hurt on the way down.

balalaika.png
Source


And just in case you were itching to see it, here's the whole shebang:

wholeshebang.jpg
Reddit

Anywho, go on and get some baklava as soon as possible. If you're a go-getter, then make your own, and throw some nutella or macadamia-cinnamon-chocolate sauce in the mix! There's currently not a shortage of baklava, but you never know what's in store for tomorrow and you'd definitely perish without it.

Safety first, kids.

dJI6A3470.jpg


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, go ahead and check out my blog.


All content and photos by @jaymorebeet, taken on July 21 and 22, 2017 with a Canon EOS 7D Mark II, unless source is listed.

Sort:  

Wow ,, it's a very good meal, it makes me starve when I see it, if I were there, I would ask for it. This food is very delicious if we enjoy it with friends and family.,,:-) @jaymorebeet

Hahaha, good one! I love backlava and thanks so much for the recipe. That backlava-bank robber is pretty scary! It kind of looks like an ancient mummy where the face has turned into dry flaky layers!

Right!?! I've said it before and I'll say it again: So many baklava jokes, so little time. What's a lady to do!??

Oh I think you definitely did the right thing!!

This recipe reminds me of a lasagne recipe, just sweeter :))

I've never really tried a good baklava before..it was always too sweet for even my sweet tooth..I guess by making your own, you can control the sugar! Am really happy for your recipe then, cos now I have the option of doing so :))

P.S. Really amusing read about all the things baklava is NOT...Never knew about balalaika and bach lava* before ;) Must admit I called it balaclava once or twice in my life :O

Exactly!! You could totally tone down the sweetness in this recipe!! This will be perfect for you! I agree sometimes others make it to sweet. Really glad you enjoyed my post :)

hehe you're welcome dear! Thanks for sharing it <3

Yummy food! If you like food you can see some on my posts. Enjoy. @jaymorebeet

Oh that looks wonderful! You take great food pictures. I've never made this myself but we have a local pizza place, a buffet, that has baklava. I always load up on the desserts as an excuse to get my moneys worth and enjoy the baklava when it is fresh.

Oh yeah! I'd be stuffing my pockets if I were you!!

You are too funny :D Now you're making me crave baklava!

I forgot how good it is- and if you can make a lasagne you can make baklava!

Nom nom - I 'heart' baklava. Sometimes, I pair it with mint tea. They go quite well together. BTW, I'm new to Steemit and am excited to find your blog as I love to eat!!

Haha eaters unite!! Welcome to steemit! Thanks for your sweet comment :) - do you like to eat food or do you like to cook it too?

I love both @jaymorebeet. Will definitely try this recipe and will write back to let you know. Cheers!

Yeahhh! I can't wait to see your creations and noms too!! :)

seen it many times but never tried..yet!

No time like the present, ey?

I'm amazed at two things: 1. you found all those alt-baklava images, especially that last one from reddit, lol. 1. you made baklava! A really outstanding baklava! I think that stuff is too dangerous to have around. Look how much there is! I would be in a baklava coma so fast -- it's dangerous goodness! It looks so good!

Hahaha I couldn't believe the results from googling Baklava joke! Thanks @haphazard-homestead. I have been pawning baklava off on my neighbors and husband because I would be rolling out of my house if I eat any more ;) Thanks!!!

I wish I could taste this.......looks so scrumptious @jaymorebeet!!

Thanks girl! I still have a few pieces left and I'm trying to control myself. I shoved it way in the back of the fridge...we'll see about that. :)

hahaha......guessing,.... not for long?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54