I got lost going to Target but I made macadamia-cinnamon-chocolate sauce from Heaven

in #food7 years ago (edited)

There's no such thing as a 'quick trip' to Target.

I tucked the kids into bed and left the house for what I promised myself would be the world's first quick trip to Target. I only needed dish soap after all, so I would be in and out faster than green grass through a goose.

dJI6A3360.jpg

Target is less than a mile from my house and I've been there probably a million times but for some reason, this time, I thought I'd be clever and take a "back way" to avoid traffic. Welp, after circling through the neighborhoods I found myself lost. Eventually I made it to a neighborhood street that didn't connect to the parking lot but in the distance I could SEE the Target. I could see my Target.

So I decided, well, it's within sight, I've got 2 legs, I'll just walk over. And that I did.


I only needed dish soap but as I passed the grocery section I had a flash of inspiration: I decided I also needed to make homemade nutella. So logically, I needed hazelnuts. Surely a monster mega store like Target will have hazelnuts.

dJI6A3345.jpg

No dice.

I decided I'll just go ahead and check out and I'd stop at the grocery store on the other side of the parking lot before I went home.

On my way to the checkout I was stopped in my tracks by a really cute shirt. Ah yes, this will fit perfectly. I don't even need to try it on. Into the cart it went.

I walked over to the grocery store to get my hazelnuts. This homemade nutella was happening one way or another.

It's a big name grocery store, and I'm in a major metropolitan area. If it doesn't stock hazelnuts....wait, there are FOUR signs for nuts in this grocery store. Nuts in the produce section, nuts in the baking section, nuts in the snacks section, nuts in the NUT AISLE. I scan the shelves looking for hazelnuts but all I see is wall to wall almonds. There are literally 30 different flavors of almonds, from sriracha to blueberry to salt and vinegar.

When did we let this happen? When did we decide that we needed 30 different shades of almond? Good Lord.

AND NO HAZELNUTS.

dJI6A3357.jpg


It was then when my eyes landed on what can only be described as fate.

Macadamias. Sweet, smooth, fragrant, special-occasion only macadamias would be the prize of my copycat nutella. And I decided that my recipe would be thinner than nutella - easily drizzled on all types of delectable treats, from breakfast through dessert. (In moderation of course...maybe) (no, actually, no moderation).

dJI6A3342.jpg

dJI6A3359.jpg

So I hoofed it back to the car with my dish soap, cute new shirt, and macadamia nuts, and off I went to proclaim my fantastic macadamia-chocolate plan to my hubs. I announced to him that I'd use my favorite kitchen multi-tasker, my refurbished Vitamix, to spin up some coconut oil, add the macadamias and semi-sweet chocolate, and then finish it off with a kick of cinnamon.

I would soon be the maker of a concoction that you would want to do the backstroke in like Augustus Gloop in the Willy Wonka movie.

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory Augustus Gloop
Source

After I proclaimed my chocolaty plan, I moved on to the other goodies I scored on my outing. I set the dish soap next to the sink and then I proudly pulled out the cute shirt so I could do an impromptu fashion show, only to realize that it was not a shirt at all. It was a FREAKING ROMPER disguised as a shirt.

I tried it on but it was squeezing my shoulders down and my butt up and I actually felt my torso getting shorter.


Andy Cohen in a male romper. Image Source

There's no way I'm keeping this too-short-in-all-the-wrong-places garment which SHOULD be a shirt. This hasty accident is going to make me go back. To Freaking. Target.

dJI6A3353.jpg

dJI6A3347.jpg

dJI6A3348.jpg


I suppose all's well that ends well. This macadamia-cinnamon-chocolate sauce is kind of incredible. I've been using it on everything from fruit to peanut butter sandwiches to yogurt. I'll share another way I've used it in a recipe I'll post tomorrow too. Get ready, it's a good one......


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, go ahead and check out my blog.


All content and photos by @jaymorebeet, taken on July 21, 2017 with a Canon EOS 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

Haha, the reason you have to go back is because you miss the target 😊
Nice post @jaymorebeet!!!🎯

You hit the nail on the head!! Arghhh!

I'm mad!!!! Send this to me!

I'll drizzle it over your town from the air in a fly by k? Open wide.

Sounds good to me, I'm excited!

BWHAHAHAHAHA. Not only does your food look delicious and you take great pictures. But your posts are hilarious. I LOL almost every time hahaha.

Hahaha thanks @healthyrecipe. I have to start paying more attention to my surroundings i think!!! :)

OMG...you are too funny. But beside that you can still somehow make a crazy delicious dessert, whilst photographing it and making us laugh.
thank you @jaymorebeet.

Haha thanks @lrich. My romper days are officially over....

YumYum !!!
upvoted and followed. Hope you can do the same for me too @okja :)

Thanks @okja! Sounds good!!

This is hilarious! I love your story. I'm glad you had success with your sauce. I never thought to make homemade nutella but I have made cookie butter. So good! Your pictures are beautiful. Shame you have to go back to Target. I hate it when clothes dont fit and you have to go back.

Ooooh cookie butter- you have my attention! Make a post pretty please (if you haven't already). Yeah maybe the lesson here is that I need to actually try clothes on before I assume they'll fit - or even be the right garment! Thanks @markrab :)

I think anything that suggests 'drizzle' and 'chocolate' in the same sentence spells possible trouble, at least for future-fitting in a 'romper'. Something tasty and homemade you can pour out onto just about anything and everything. YES!
I became quite transfixed on Nutella when traveling about in New Zealand. I can see why making your own would be grand. Thanks for the many chortled, very entertaining post.

HAHAHAHA! So true. More like chocolate-dump it on and you won't fit in your elastic waistband nevermind a romper. Thanks @ddschteinn :)

Congratulations @jaymorebeet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

WoW!!!Beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54