Vegan Frozen Pizzas from LIDL - Yay or Nay? 🍕

in #food6 years ago

inCollage_20180324_160628564.jpg

A while back two new vegan pizzas were launched onto the market in Finland. I think these pizzas are a part of LIDL's selection in each country they have stores, yet, the name may vary. Since they were very affordable (1.89 € each) in comparison to other vegan pizzas, I thought I'd wake up the critic in me, and give them a taste test. 🍴

Verdura

IMG_20180323_171233.jpg

The Verdura one had more toppings, and to me, appeared more appetizing. Even though at first sight it may seem like all you'll taste is spinach, I found the ratio just right, the amount of spinach was quite on point. However, since there were a lot of vegetables, the middle part of the base was a bit soggy. Another downside with the Verdura pizza was the lack of seasoning, apart from the mild garlicky taste. Don't get me wrong, this was a really nice frozen pizza, but towards the end I felt like the there could've been slightly more taste to it. Nevertheless, I think at some point I'll buy this one again.

Bruschetta

IMG_20180302_170858.jpg

Unlike the Verdura pizza, this Bruschetta one had quite a bit more flavor to it. However, there was an overpowering onion taste to it. So, if you don't want your breath to stink for the rest of the day, don't go with this one. The amount of toppings was relatively good, but in the end I'd say it was OK. Nothing special, a standard frozen pizza. I probably won't buy this again.

inCollage_20180324_162211472.jpg
Here are the macros for the pizzas side by side for those who are interested. On the left is Verdura, and on the right Bruschetta. Not as calorie-dense as regular pizza, that's for sure. However, neither one of them completely took my hunger away.

To sum up, in my opinion, go for the Verdura pizza. It's a bit different to what you'd typically find from the frozen section. Quite nice taste, affordable, and it actually looks pretty much the same as the package lets assume.

Have you tasted (and liked) these if you have LIDL in your country? Or do you perhaps have something even better? I'm curious to know. 🤔

-Jasmin ❤

Sort:  

When I'm Lazy/tired of cooking I do buy them Lidl, since they are pretty cheap and good in taste. Looks yummy xD

I know that feeling when you're tired of cooking, that's one of the reasons why I bought these too :D

Interesting! So, thanks for sharing your experience with these both. Have you ever tried a pizza with a cauliflower bottom?

your @mynaturebody 🌱

I have, but only once. It tasted horrible. I don't know if the recipe was bad, or if it was just me... 😅 Anyway, I've heard many people saying that it tastes very nice, so I think I have to give it another try! Do you have a good recipe for it?

dear lovely @jasmink,

thanks for your question!

What I have found & would recommend are these recipes:

https://steemit.com/photography/@therusticvegan/20180202t052709665z-post

https://steemit.com/food/@isshappy/healthy-and-delicious-cauliflower-pizza-vegan-recipe-veganpizzaparty

You also said you already tried it, so maybe you prefer a sweet potatoe bottom:

https://steemit.com/food/@instagoodfood/vegan-pizza-with-sweet-potato-crust

I wish you a great decision & that it will inspires you to try your own individual one. 😉

Thank you for sharing these, I'll definitely give at least one of them a try! I've never before heard of a sweet potato bottom, but it sounds and looks really delicious! 😊

I agree with you @jasmink 😊

~ So often we have these moments, when we get known about new things. So one thing could be very easy for someone you known it for a long time, than someone, who just started with it. May especially this person with less knowledge about it gives you somthing else back you might be very happy to known, right? ~

...means, we all have something to share from our own experience of live!

Go your way, honey!

Vähän on kyllä heikkoa (vielä) hyvien ja varsinkin kohtuuhintasten vegaanisten pakastepitsojen tarjonta Suomessa... 😞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43