WOULD YOU DARE TO EAT TAMILOK? (PALAWAN'S MOST BIZARRE AND EXOTIC FOOD) - Puerto Princesa Palawan, Philippines.

in #food7 years ago

tamilok_zpse3f491d0.jpg

Image Source

Hello itinerants all over the world and steemit community!

Before anything else I'd love to extend my gratitude to everyone who are passing by on my posts specially for those who are sincerely giving upvotes and comments. You guys are my inspiration and motivation why I make good quality posts. I am so grateful and blessed to have you!

For today's "eat with me" food blog series, I will be sharing one of the most bizarre food you can try if you happen to visit Puerto Princesa, Palawan. It is called "TAMILOK". Palawan is not just famous having unspoiled and magnificent tourist spots but also for having mouth-watering and outlandish exotic foods. There they say that the word "tamilok" was gotten from a Filipino folklore wherein there were foreign visitors way back then who accidentally saw these woodworms from mangrove trees and the guys said "Tommy, look!" since then it's called as it is.

DSC05073.JPG

DSC05072.JPG

Tamilok is a shipworm and best when served raw with vinegar. It is super slimy and soft. To finally have ordered this, I told my self that there's no turning back because I traveled almost an hour and a half from Cebu to Puerto Princesa to try this. To be honest, it looks really weird and disgusting so I highly suggest if you wanna try this don't look at it any longer eat it right away and soak it with vinegar. I want to commend their vinegar because it really tastes good it overrides the disgusting and slimy texture of tamilok as it goes to your throat and stomach.

21740128_1637110122975617_7228938269018244384_n.jpg

21751932_1637110126308950_4509678570328383052_n.jpg

I was just lucky because when I went to the restaurant the tamiloks were so fresh so it still looked very white and smells fine. If it's stocked for a few minutes or hours based on what I noticed its color, smell and texture change. As a tip, you should go to the restaurant at earliest opening hour in the morning cause they might be serving fresh tamilok.

DSC04814.JPG

DSC04813.JPG

It's not difficult to look for food shoppes where you can try it because most restaurants in Puerto Princesa Palawan serve Tamilok. In my case, since I was looking for native type of restaurant so I went to Kinabuchs Grill and Bar. It is owned by Butch Chase, a former motocross driver tuned to an entrepreneur. Kinabuchs is situated at 369, Rizal Avenue, Puerto Princesa, Palawan. Most of their famous restaurants are located at Rizal st. It's 15-30 minutes travel time from the airport. There are fancy wooden/bamboo tables and chairs outside and inside the bar. I like the nipa huts (The Nipa hut, Kamalig, or Bahay Kubo, is a type of stilt house indigenous to the vast majority of lowland Austronesian cultures of the Philippines.) outside they make the restaurant look native and cozy like you are living the province life at its finest.

DSC04817.JPG

DSC04816.JPG

HOW TO ENJOY TAMILOK?

  1. Only pick a size that you can swallow for you not to feel its slimy texture which makes it disgusting.

  2. Have it dipped with spicy vinegar with lots of onions. The vinegar takes the major part of its taste.

  3. Soak it for few seconds.

  4. Then swallow it, taste it carefully and feel the it as you get it in your mouth.

  5. There you go, bon appetit!

You may wanna read my previous blogs:

DO WHAT YOU LOVE AND SUCCESS WILL FOLLOW!

HAPPENINGS AFTER THE 4TH CEBU STEEMIANS MEETUP! (FT. @fernwehninja @bellatravelph and @purepinay)

PUNGKO - PUNGKO (CROUCH EATING ) - IT'S MORE FUN IN THE PHILIPPINES

STEEMPH.CEBU IS FINALLY ON BOARD! - SUCCESSFUL MEET UP OF THE CEBU CORE LEADERS! MORE EXCITING EVENTS AND ACTIVITIES ARE COMING!

WHERE TO BUY COOL TRADITIONAL AND CULTURAL PASALUBONG (SOUVENIRS) IN PALAWAN? - Puerto Princesa Palawan, Philippines.

THE HAPPIEST PLACE IN THE PHILIPPINES FOR KIDS AND KIDS AT HEART. (ENCHANTED KINGDOM) - Sta. Rosa Laguna, Philippines

MY FAVORITE JAPANESE RESTAURANT (JOED'S LUTONG HAPON) - Cebu City, Philippines

MANGROVE PLANTING IN COLLABORATION WITH CEBU GREEN PROJECT, ASIA PACIFIC UNIVERSITY AND DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES! (FOR BETTER CEBU PHILIPPINES)

Since I love to meet people and learn different culture so I am more than glad to entertain your questions and comments on my posts. My principle in life is just do whatever makes you happy. You only live once why not just make things happen then? I hope to see you guys on the comments so that I'll be aware of the people whom I need thank to. Just keep calm and read my blogs. For inquiries please feel free to email: mickey.diezz@gmail. I'll be more than glad to interact with you.

21984176_1892158087467338_388536072_n.png

1111.jpg

Sort:  

Unsa mana makaona oi?

Tamilok ching worms from mangrove trees hehe,

Lami? Hehe..

okay ra hehe. luod if imo dugayon sa imo baba hehe dapat daghan suka jud.

Looks like notch sis hahahaha

Power kaayo ka Jan oii! hahahahaha ^_^
Nahurot nimu?

Hmmm. Wala hehehe. pero lami sya @shei tungod sa suka :D luod lang if imo tan.awon og dugay :D

hahahah.. mao ba??? ganahan ko muhikap.. pero dili naq carry mukaon.. lol.. xD

Haha... no matter how I want to travel but my PRIORITY is far from that.. X_X

lamia ana oi.. pero wala pa ko katilaw hahahahahahahahaha

try nya next time hehe. sulit ang experience @dante01

Looks Eeeewww but tastes like clams or oysters.
I ate 1 lang when we went to Palawan ages ago.

Mejo kadirs kita kaayo nga naay mata sa imong pics. I dont think I will eat it again.

Hahaha. medyo disgusting pag tinitigan mo pero masarap dahil sa suka. hehe. Pag kinain muna dahil sa slimy texture nya kadiri masyado hahaha

It didnt taste that bad pero looks disgusting hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63313.88
ETH 2629.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76