7-11 Day in the USA, Free Slurpees and $1 Big Bite Hot Dogs, I hope in other countries as well, since they exist there too

in #food6 years ago

Free Slurpee Day_1499702429063_10075246_ver1.0_1280_720.jpg
Image credit to 7-11's web site, simply to help clarify the brand.

This a fun promotion to do with kids. Today is the anniversary of 7-11 opening its doors 91 years ago today. In honor of their anniversary, at least for the past many, many years, they give away one small Slurpee for each customer. They also sell their "big bite" hot dogs for $1.

Since each location is a franchise and independently owned, they all don't operate exactly alike though. Some of the locations get mobbed with greedy people who are coming in there for nothing but the free slurpee. I imagine the marketing folks aren't too pleased with that or the store operators, since they are hoping for someone to actually also buy something while they are there too. Nonetheless, it still puts an intangible value on the property and some people will remember that the store exists, especially if they went "Slurpee hopping" like some people do on this day. They drive to 4 o 5 or more different 7-11's just to get their freebie for them and their kids.

Some operators don't even let you fill the cup yourself. They have someone standing there and doing it for you because of the messes that get made from overfilling and spilling. It also keeps the line moving, so I don't really mind this myself. Others seem to conveniently "run out" of Slurpee mix way too early. I've seen this before too. This basically tells me they didn't want to participate, because they knew this day was coming and don't feel like giving away free product, but still want to appear in compliance with their franchise agreement.

If I were a franchise operator on this day, I would think I'd be pleased with the sheer amount of foot traffic that I could get into the store and try to put out things that are good impulse buy items that are in the path to the Slurpee machine. Customers don't even need to go to the cash register to have them ring up a $0 transaction. People can just walk in and walk out with their free item. I would think if they made people go through the register, just for tracking purposes, that they might end up buying something since they have to wait in line anyway.

I do think that if I were the franchise owner, I'd be frustrated with the quick entrance and exit strategy that many use. Anyway, this is only from 11am to 7pm local time in your area, if you have a 7-11 near you. Get yours before they "run out" today. Go store hopping if that is your thing too. I did it myself last year. I went to 3 stores in a row before I had my fill.
0cf24faa-c2ca-47f0-9e6d-1d557d41080b-slurpee.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @inspire1! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks! Almost forgot this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48