These Energizing Pancakes Will Put a "Pep" in Your Step: Coffee (Mocha) Chocolat-Ahhh! Pancakes (Gluten-free, Vegan)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello hungry world! How about we mix that wake-me-up coffee into your breaky and add in some chocolate to boot?

Voila delicious, easy breakfast to feed the weekday warrior, here to save the morning!


final pancakes mocha.jpg


Sound like a party to you? Me too! Let's get wild!


What You Need:


  • 1/2 cup gluten-free flour of choice (I used organic rice flour)
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour (separate from first flour- don't use the whole flour mixture coconut flour or else it won't stick!)
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon organic coffee (I used coffee grinds)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon clove
  • 1 regular banana or 2 small bananas
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons chia + 6 tablespoons water (mix together to make 'chia eggs')
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup coconut meat
  • 1 handful of pecans

IMG_9543 (2).JPG


What To Do:


The Mixin's:

Easy peasy!

  • Throw everything into a food processor
  • Press pulse
  • Let it mix together into a dough
  • You are ready to rock!

IMG_9545 (2).JPG


These are going to be more "patty" than your usual pancakes, if you want them more runny, you can add more almond milk however, I like that they have almost a donut-esque feature to them being thick like this. Extra delicious!


Let's play pat-a-cake!

I had messy fingers that my camera wasn't too fond of so no pictures of this step but don't worry it's easy!


  • Take a ball at a time and roll it in your hand, into a small ball
  • Smash the ball in between your hands (this is also a stress release/meditation exercise ;) let it all out! Whoo-sa!)
  • Pat your ball into a fairly thin (depending on preference) cake (get it, pat-a-cake- you're patting a cake :P!)
  • Put some coconut oil in a fry pan
  • Gently place your pancake into the oil and carry on like normal!
  • Flip after a couple of minutes (check the other side to see what level of toasted you'd like- I like mine kind of crispy so I leave them longer!)

Now, put them on a plate, load them up with your fixin's and get them on the table to enjoy!


I had some caramel sauce in the fridge from a recipe I made a couple of days ago (I made a horrible error and did not document any of it! I'll have to recreate it for you soon so you can taste the deliciousness as well!)

You can top yours with whatever you'd like... I would love me some maple syrup but sadly, living overseas, I do not have any... I think that's my greatest complaint in life! ;)

🍁If someone from Canada would bring me some maple syrup next time they are visiting, I would be devoted to them for all of eternity🍁


These pancakes are not too sweet, you can add the sweet in with your fixin's however, they do come with some extra energy so have fun with that pep in your step!

I know I was pleasantly surprised by the effect of even a small amount! If you're a big coffee drinker, you can add more to this recipe, I am extremely sensitive to it so this amount was perfect for me!

IMG_9570 (2).JPG


The (almost) final product (before I poured some yummy coconut nectar all over it- YUM!)


Sending you love through (plant-based/vegan) food, as always! If you are new here, it's great to have you here!

I am a food fanatic as you'll surely see, and I am a strong believer in the power it has within it, and the ability it has to heal us! I aim to inspire through my recipes and posts and hope to connect with you here, through your heart. Some say the way to the heart is through the stomach, I might just agree with that theory ;)

If you'd like to see more, you can check me out here


I am also running #veganwednesday challenge every week! See here for more details on how to participate (and win by sharing some love!)

Until next time,
XO,
🍊🍉🍈🍇🍋🍌🍍🍎
HeartToTable Logo2-2.jpg
hearttoheart signature.png

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @heart-to-heart for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Wow awesome! Thanks so much AJ! <3 I hope you like the pancakes! I had the leftover batter today- so yummy!

That's thoughtful of you, your post did deserve the top spot. Keep the FOOD community as steeming as ever. @heart-to-heart, you are indeed a good heart.

Oh wow, so kind of you to say! I love food so much, I should warn you, my newest post of a chocolate double cream pie is just as (if not more) tempting ;) I put my heart into every dish and I am so thankful to be able to share it with you! Hope you have a great weekend, those pancakes should start the morning off just right 😍

I love food too. The food world is all I have. I have to celebrate its inhabitants.

Haha that's what I love to hear! =D Thanks again! I'm happy to celebrate through food with you!

My lovely chef is back again with another awesome recipe! Very well done my friend! Your food is always so tempting! And keep up with the unique funny style of presenting your recipe, it's just great!
@progressivechef

Aww thanks my dear <3 I have been cooking the same as normal but just haven't been able to get the posts out! Most times I don't even bring my camera in there with me ;) It's distracting! You should know I just finished my recipe for your challenge <3

These look gooooooood. I would like to include this post in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter which is a series posted every Sunday that aims to help collect awesome articles and resources like this one! This article will be linked and your username featured if you accept - please let me know if it is alright to include your article as soon as possible! Thank you and have a great day!

Hi @kiaraantonoviche =D Absolutely, no problem! I'd love it to be shared <3 That's what I am here for! I'm happy you enjoyed it!These were delicious! Hope you get the chance to give them a try! XO

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

Time to get an assistant to take pictures when your fingers are messy. 😉

You're right, maybe I can find someone and lure them in with SBD or upvotes... shall I put out a casting call? <3

Just make some more and feed your assistant.

I'm gonna rate this 150%

Hey, didn't you pass math class! You can't go past 100% silly goose! <3

Yeah i know but some times we break boundaries

Oooh! I love adding things to pancakes to make them contain nutrition and the caffeine doesn't hurt on a sluggish day! I totally want to see these as donuts with some coconut frosting!

I don't drink coffee but I sprinkle it in my recipes sometimes ;) It's reserved for special, very tired days haha

The caramel sauce in the little dish that I had made from something else was super good, it made it more donut like! I make donuts decently regularly... they're a little bit outside of what I like to eat every day haha but they're as healthy as I think you can get <3 I'll remember to make some and post them soon! (I'm still waiting for my cake!)

Ahh riiiight. the cake. well um...you see, there um....was an accident and... um.....I ATE IT ALL!!

Haha not surprising, that happens to me often ;)

This looks very good :) I must try it :) is it easy to make ? :)

Well, I think so! The instructions are here in pictures so I guess it's for you to decide =D It's just a matter of putting everything into a food processor! Good luck, hope you enjoy!

OK :)) I go and try :)

Mmmmmmmmm beautiful, delicious and nutritious!

A very nice post indeed. I can feel the love you live!

Nice to see your posts are being so well supported! You are a quick success here! Guess people can feel your heart powers =)>

∞§∞Blessings∞§∞

Aww thanks so much Quinn <3 I really appreciate your love and support!

I am happy the love flows through, I really do intentionally strive to share it through and through! I feel it coming back double from you so I must be doing something right! <3

I feel filled with gratitude to have the eyes and hearts on my posts, I just hope I can continue to inspire as I really feel it's my calling!

Sending you love my friend, if my time zone calculation is correct- have a beautiful afternoon! =D

Yes it is now almost afternoon, just saw 11:11 actually ;-)>

Grateful to be right here with you NOW wherever it is we are hehe

∞§∞Love∞§∞

NO way! That is lucky I say <3 Have a wonderful day, I bet you're still in dreamland now... I hope this message finds you happily there!

Enjoying my day very much so far it is particularly beautiful!

Blessings to you∞§∞

Interesting recipe! Will have to try these.. Thanks for sharing :)

I know right! I made them again today with the left over batter (this made quite a bit of pancakes, about 12) and they're really good! I was experimenting here, sometimes I find pancakes too heavy but these are nice, not too rich, not too sweet. I think you'll like them on account of them not being drenched in sweetness! Let me know if you try them <3

Thanks for your comment! I will at some point give them a go. Have added this recipe to my to-do-list. Will let you know how I get on. All the best and keep up the good work :)

I love it so much, thank you very much my friend for the recipe of the easier and tasty breakfast, i have to try it one day.

<3 always here to share with you my dear friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58400.82
ETH 2567.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38