The Best Way to Eat Berries! - About Steemit Culinary Challenge #33: Brilliant Berries! - guest judge commentary

in #food7 years ago

Here's my favorite way to eat berries! I'm one of the judges for this weeks' Steemit Culinary Challenge 33 and I am sponsoring a special "Newbies" award. The theme is berries and it's open to "newbies", anyone who joined Steemit in May, June, or July.

xtsu DSC02445-1 WEB.jpg
Black raspberries - one of the best berries on the planet!


Why I Am Sponsoring an Award for SCC 33

Before I show you the way I like berries best, I want to explain why I am sponsoring one of the awards for the "Newbie Special" of the Steemit Culinary Challenge. When I first signed up for Steemit, I wasn't sure about what sorts of posts people would like to see. In cruising Steemit posts, I came across the Food Challenge and the theme was 15-minute meals. I wrote a post called Salads from Weeds, Tree Leaves, Flowers, and Seeds for the challenge. People saw my post -and commented and upvoted it! What a rush! And more importantly, that post led to some nice friendships here on Steemit.

Today, the Culinary Challenge provides that same focus for people new to Steemit. An interest in food is one thing almost all of us on Steemit have in common. We all eat - some of us, several times a day! ; ) And sharing a recipe in the SCC gives us a chance to share more about who we are, where we come from, or where we are headed.


Why I Picked Berries for the Culinary Challenge Theme

Blackberries, blueberries, gooseberries, dewberries. Raspberries - red, gold, or black. Strawberries, cranberries, elderberries, mulberries. And that's just a start of all the berries out there!

It's easy to find berries of one kind or another for sale in markets around the world - fresh, frozen, dried, or canned. They are easy to grow in gardens, too. Small fruits like berries can provide big yields for very little effort, for years. And many berries even grow wild and can be foraged for free! Those of you who know me, know I am big on foraging wild food! So whether you buy your berries, grow them, or find them wild and free, I hope you will enter the Steemit Culinary Challenge!


The Best Way to Eat Berries

In my judging for the SCC, I want you to enjoy making and eating your berry creation! So you make whatever you want, as long as berries are featured in it. But there is one recipe that I won't put in first place. Why? Because it is my absolute favorite way to eat almost any berries. So I want to rule it out and stretch my appreciation of berries, through your entries.

What do I think is the best way to eat berries? Pick them fresh - and pick them fully ripe! Every kind of berry has its own look when it's really ripe. I showed how to identify really ripe mulberries when I foraged a Free Hotel Salad - Wild Style! Here's another example - for blackberries.

x DSC01929 WEB.jpg
Not all black blackberries are ready to eat. When they are fully ripe, the berries swell up and become less shiny. They don't need to be pulled off - they fall off when touched. The ones marked by the yellow arrows are just right.


So pick fresh, ripe berries. Pick two big handfuls.

x Snapshot (42) WEB.jpg

And then.... do this:

Eat all of them at once. All of them. It's an explosion of berry goodness!

xtsu DSC03058 WEB.jpg
Sure, it's messy. But it's glorious!


Thanks, @woman-onthe-wing, for the opportunity to be on the other side of the culinary challenge for once! I look forward to all the entries to the Steemit Culinary Challenge 33!


** Haphazard Homestead **

Flag Gif.gif

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

I'm sure that you'll do a great job as judge!

Thanks for the vote of confidence, @kus-knee. People make such great entries for every one of the Culinary Challenges. It's going to be hard, but fun to look at all of them!

We collect a large amount of these berries, eat blackberry fresh and make stock in winter, cooking jam or juice with it. Blackberry jam delicious, blackberry wine too!

I'm glad you enjoy berries in so many ways! I think that's the longest comment I've ever gotten from you. You must really like berries! ;D

Indeed it is the best way to eat berries ! i personally stop by under the tree and eating them one by one , next season ill give a try to your technique ! :)

I have never been able to eat them one by one, lol. Eating them like this is a taste explosion from every berry having a little different flavor. I hope you do give it a try!

Berries pie, berries tea, berries cookies, berries lemonade, berries juice, berries.... i love berries!

I'll take all of those ways! They are so good! Do they grow well in Puerto Rico?

Some of them grows here. Specially the bitter berries hehe

There's plenty of bitter berries out there, too! And some that aren't good for anybody to eat. We better keep them straight! ; )

Here's me and my kidling picking salmon berries and huckleberries.
https://steemit.com/food/@openparadigm/foraging-in-the-city-vancouver-bc

Thanks for putting your link in here, @openparadigm! I'll have to curate that over on the @foraging-trail. Wild berries are the best! Gear up for blackberry season, too! :D

IMG_blackberry flowers.jpg Keeping an eye on them, Next little while it will be huckleberries I'm very happy to have found a Blue huckleberry patch( mountain blueberry) last year.

That's great you have huckleberries nearby! And you will be getting some blackberries, too, from the looks of that bush! :D

Just amazing those pics @haphazard-hstead ! I really feel jealous sometimes because we don't have these berries in my country! I do some foraging too, and we have only a little of wild and completely different berries in Mauritius!

Thanks, @progressivechef! I'd like to see what kind of berries you have on Mauritius. I've never met a berry I didn't like!

Hahaha This is definitely the best way to eat all kinds of berries :D

Absolutely! Messy, but worth it! :D

Gonna try your method next time, looks fun!

I can't eat berries from the bushes one by one, lol. Every handful is an explosion of flavors. I'm fortunate I have so many berries that grow in my yard, that's for sure. Enjoy all the berries you find -- by the double-handful! :D

Nice post! You are very kind in sponsoring a special "Newbies" award! I am a big fan of berries! Yummy!

Thanks, @tangmo! What are your local berries there in Thailand?

You're welcome! Yes, it's similar to yours and yummy!! ;)

Maybe they will show up in one of your posts sometime! :D

Yes! Maybe! ;)

Hahaha ! never ate them like that ! but I will next time and will have a joyous thought for you @haphazard-hstead ! ^_^
okay.png

haha -- I have never been able to eat just one berry at a time, lol. Every one tastes a little different and together, you get all the flavors, all at once!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01