Sort:  

Bamboo shoots can just be boiled or pickled to make it edible. A salad can be made where after boiling, slice in thin pieces,drain the water,then garlish with vinegar,salt,chopped onions and ginger. It's a Philippine starter or side dish.

Thanks for that extra information, @immarojas! Here in the Pacific Northwest, there is a lot of invasive bamboo, but people make out like there is some complicated process to make it edible. I wonder! Do you have specific types of bamboo that you eat, or is it pretty much any bamboo that is around you? I will do other research, too, but I am interested in your experience and cultural learning. Thanks!

Let me look for some pictures. Sliced bamboo shoots can be bought in the market, raw and boiled. Once boiled, the colour become yellowish.

http://www.jimboo.net/interesting.html

the fat ones? once they've grown a foot or less, they are edible and can be harvested. even if they look edible but once chopped thinly, it will be difficult to do as they've already hardened and become a tree. they're not even called trees lolsss

Thanks! I'll have to see what I can find around where I live. People plant all kinds of bamboo around here. Some thin, and some the fat timber bamboo. I'll have to take a look at see if it has started growing here already, and talk to some of the people growing it. I'd like to try it, for sure!

just tell us how it is..ure not used to it so it might be strange. check the fat ones, fist-size.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68789.22
ETH 3862.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66